We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 595: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Check in was not less than efficient and quick, service with smile and very polite. The room is very clean, had the king bed, very comfortable and spacious. Room service very good. A good bedroom is crucial for road trip around Hobart. Waken up fresh for another exploration.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank akuswara
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear akuswara, I'm very pleased to learn that we were a good base for your trips around Hobart and surrounds. Come back soon. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business. The room was very average for the price and did not have working a/c which you wouldn't think was an issue in Tasmania, however it was a heat wave! There were also renovations going close by on the floor I was on which caused some noise. The breakfast was sensational however!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TechTravel22
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear TchTravel22, I am really sorry to hear you had air-con problems. We have just installed new units into every room as part of our extensive refurbishment program so this should certainly not occur. Glad you liked our popular breakfast though. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal on our stay at the BW in Hobart. We had a great room on the fourth floor, and the bed was really comfy. The front desk staff were superb. This hotel is four blocks up the hill from the marina.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocki166
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Rocki166, I'm glad you had such a good time. I agree with you; we are very lucky being so close to Salamanca and Constitution Dock. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We booked 5 nights a this hotel from an internet mystery hotel offering. Having been to Hobart three times previously I was aware of our location, once revealed. At first blush I felt uncertain about our accommodation. I must say that upon check in Luke the duty manager went out of his way to make us feel very welcome. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank claude c
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Claude C, I am very pleased you liked the refurbishments to your rooms and also the live music on Friday nights in the bar & restaurant. We will investigate that key card issue right away. Hoping to see you again in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while touring with the family. Paid over $200 a night plus $10 per night for parking. The deatils on the booking were that the room had 60+ squares of room,i suggest someone measure it because it would have not even been half of that. Nice coffee cup stain on the doona cover.Then on the 3rd day,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris C
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Hi, Chris C, Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very sorry you encountered those problems. Since taking over this hotel last year Best Western has made huge improvements to the quality of the facilities offered but we do know that the enhancements are not finished yet. We are planning to put some pot plants on the flat roof...

Launceston Tas
Reviewed 20 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms are clean and tidy. Extremely noisy from traffic outside. Bed very comfy. Tiny rooms. Car parking should be free not $10 a night! Okay for the 125 a night I paid. Security hold amount was beyond stupid, price of the room plus 50!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2,11,01,984
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear 21101984, Thank you for those comments. As with most hotels there is a small pre-authorisation to cover any extras but this is always processed/cancelled at check out if there is nothing to pay. I hope we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of August 2014 for two nights before going to the footy. The room was modern, comfortable and clean. The staff were always smiling and happy to be there for you. We had a couple of beers and pizza from the gorgeous pizza oven downstairs at Embers. A few creative pizza choices, we tried three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danabanana74
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear danabanana74, Glad to hear we will be seeing you again and that you are one of the many guests who like our refurbished restaurant and those yummy pizzas. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

I have stayed at the Best Western before for work so I had high expectations of the place again based on my previous stays. The rooms have been nicely renovated with update furniture which was nice to see. The new rooms have a really nice feel to them and the pillows and bed are both super comfortable. I chose an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Emily G, Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you liked our refurbished amenities. I will be checking out your comments about the executive upgrades as I want to make sure we get it right each and every time. I hope we’ll see you again next time you are in Hobart. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Stayed here for two night on business what I found was the hotel was super clean, nice rooms and comfy beds, real close to the the city centre for shopping and restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful and the gym was just what I was looking for while away. The restaurant was reasonably priced with good sized meals that were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mel W, It is very good to hear we provided you with a good base for your work trip; come back soon. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We found this Hotel to be very convenient with location. Room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.The only thing I can complain about was that when I ordered the Vegetable Tart for dinner their was hardly any vegetables in the tart it was mostly potato, but apart from that everything else was good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Nancy F, Thank you for those kind words. Our housekeeping team does a great job and I am glad this is being recognised by our guests. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.0 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.4 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 45 in Hobart
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Hobart
1,154 reviews
0.8 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 45 in Hobart
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: ₹ 7,195 - ₹ 14,595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Du Quoin, Illinois
GRANDE CACHE
over a year ago
4 months ago
Hastings, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not want excessive road noise ask for a room not facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Trudi0, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor facing bathurst street has good view”
 of 5 bubbles joshbay84, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The 5th floor was very quiet.”
  • Hobart during the day.
 of 5 bubbles mkskupch, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't think you get much choice with rooms,”
 of 5 bubbles 19annie51, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor (executive)very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbD3550EM, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay