We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,454: English reviews
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Easy to find with ok parking. Rooms were fantastic (only complaint was the bar fridge was really loud and no microwave) Would recommend others to stay here especially if you can get the rooms cheap enough. Walking distance to other great food venues, attractions and Salamanca.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belinda S, Thanks for your wonderful 5 star review! We do call our location convenient with ease of access from the CBD, the airport and if coming from the North, great to hear you had no trouble finding us and enjoyed the free parking. Sounds like you were in a hotel room with standard mini bar, tea/ coffee and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Recently spent 4 nights here as part of a conference group. My experience was mixed: Pros - large room! With desk. - extremely comfortable bed! - quiet and good sleep - friendly and professional service - provided toiletries (shampoo etc) were very nice! - Hotel buffet breakfast was great, but expensive. Nice variations on the traditional Cons -Wifi was terrible,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darren W
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Darren, Thanks for choosing to stay with us during the conference you attended and we appreciate your honest feedback. Great to read you were impressed with the spacious rooms as well as the lovely bathroom amenities, they are very popular! Thanks for your comments on the breakfast, we feel the offering provides value for guests with the hot and...

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We were in a studio apartment which was not only big and comfortable but also well-equipped with a hotplate, microwave oven, toaster, as well as a washing machine and dryer. The location is ideal, very near Salamanca Place. The best part is the free parking! The front desk people are very efficient and pleasant. I would particularly like to mention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalpana2012
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The Old Woolstore Appartment Hotel is located on the edge of Hobart CBD. It is a street away from the well known Constitution Dock. The room was very spacious and had an "old time" feel as the building has a long history in Hobart. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The car park was full as was their overflow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve D, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and lovely to hear from you after a repeat stay. Thanks for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass your comments onto our team. As you mention we offer free parking both onsite and just a short walk away. Parking can become busy at times...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We recently spent five nights at the Old Woolstore hotel in Hobart and came away very impressed. The location made it an easy walk from all sorts of Hobart attractions, especially the waterside dock areas with all their history and restaurants. Also close to museums and cbd shopping area too. With its modern elegant fit out, we found this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Sydney
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Our stay at the Old Woolstore was perfectly OK, comfortable and clean and overall a good experience. Many rooms have no views. Only had breakfast at the Old Woolstore once and it was OK - nothing special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanoSydney
Shepparton, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2015

stayed in two different apartments and found both to be comfortable, clean and roomy. Special mention to Daniel on reception and Johnny for looking after us so well during our stay. Buffet breakfast needs reviewing; some of the food choices were either undercooked or cold. Excellent location, short walk to Salamanca market, restaurants and so forth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleyr710
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shirleyr710, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thanks for the kind words of our reception staff. Lovely to read they were able to accommodate you during your stay and assisted with a room move to allow you to extend your stay. We take all comments seriously regarding our offerings and please note management are reviewing our...

Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Excellent location to visit the waterfront. The apartments are large with plenty of room with a full kitchen and laundry. Service was very good. We had dinner in Stockmans one evening and breakfast one morning. Close to many other places to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluesuz
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

My self my wife and our two children stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights and had the time of our lives. This was the perfect spot to position ourselves and the amenities were excellent. The rooms are plentiful, the kitchen is fitted with everything required for the best gourmet chef and all located in close proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy H
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy H, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and great to hear your family had a pleasant stay with us on your 5 night visit to Hobart. Sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all facilities at our hotel, the two bedroom apartments are spacious and offer great comforts for families when travelling! Hope you had...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

When I arrived I was told my room wasn't ready. They have a waiting area. I was told it would be about 45min and someone would call me when the room was ready. No one called. I waited two hours. When I went to reception I didn't complain but said someone was going to call and asked if my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkipP72
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SkipP72, Firstly it is incredibly disappointing to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay and please note the service you were greeted with is not our usual standards at all. With the reception team being the first people that our guests greet during their stay we always strive to deliver on all guest expectations. Hotel check-in time...

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (179)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Hotel Room (24)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (35)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,178 reviews
0.9 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
471 reviews
0.5 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Stockmans Restaurant
Stockmans Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: ₹ 8,439 - ₹ 17,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Tea Gardens, New South Wales, Australia
over a year ago
Fullerton

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of hotel away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles rickalexwestoby, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms look out to a courtyard with no views and none have city views so request on with plenty of light”
 of 5 bubbles johnandrobbie, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Has both apartment style and hotel rooms - check when booking!”
 of 5 bubbles morepoke, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher the room, the better the views”
 of 5 bubbles petercI9665MF, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A view to the harbour side to catch glimpses of he cruise ships”
 of 5 bubbles triptrio2011, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5