We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Backpack OZ

Hostelworld.comUS$ 36*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 54*
US$ 36*
Great Deal
US$ 54*
US$ 54*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Backpack OZ
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Backpack OZ
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked this property as most of Adelaide was sold out during the Australia day weekend. I had gone out for a conference and before I left this rude woman with a German accent on the front desk just threw the room keys at me. Furthermore she advised I would have to punch in some code to get into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vermilion777
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a private room in The Guesthouse, which is a separate building across the street. The kitchen had all the essentials and was clean whenever we were using it. Breakfast basics (toast, cereal, tea and coffee) were a welcome inclusion. Plenty of space in the kitchen and in the fridge to store food. Bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRenae
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This place was amazing. Everything I needed exactly when I need it. Staff were absolutely incredible, very helpful and friendly. The energy in the hostel is energetic, fun, and friendly. Great place to meet people. I think there was a free breakfast offered each morning but I never woke up early enough for that. They also had a free BBQ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieFromCanadia
Brisbane
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I lost my swipe card the first night, when I couldn't find where I has parked my car. My first night in an unfamiliar town, I was overtirred and searched for hours. I had one beer at the Fringe, then walked up and down city streets for hours searching for my car (mix-up because it had an interstate numberplate, though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank col-de-fol
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for five days in Adelaide. On the whole we really enjoyed our stay here. The hostel was functional, in a well located place; just five minutes walk to the main high streets of Adelaide. The kitchen was well maintained and well stocked, if a little small. Breakfast was good too and Is free. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieLWinstanley
BackpackOz, Manager at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. We understand your concerns about the bathrooms. Yes they are cleaned to an inch of their life each and every single day, but they are slightly dated and we are looking at some renovations in the not too distant future. Worst you've seen...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Nice backpackers. Very clean and affordable. I enjoyed my stay. The only issue I had was with other some of the backpackers who were intoxicated and the extremely rude staff members. Not all of the staff were rude but some were. In the real world of hospitality you would never behave the way Sam the manager did. I felt bullied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MK-5487313
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We are sorry you had a negative experience with Sam the manager. Please email us directly so we can discuss what situaution you had. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Reviewed 20 September 2016

So, I booked 3 nights at this hostel after reading the mostly positive reviews. While the hostel is clean and has decent facilities, the deal breaker for me was the loud music that kept pounding away till midnight. Having just landed in Adelaide, all I wanted to do was sleep at a reasonable hour. While I don't mind some amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjana100
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Sounds like you experienced hostel life on a Saturday night. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Dublin
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Nice place very clean. Staff nice and friendly. Place is really easy going vibe which is always nice when travelling. Free breakfast of toast and cereal. Tea and coffee available throughout the day. There is a little bar which is nice and free pool table. Movies free to rent and watch in the hang out area. We arrived maybe 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bananajen
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Backpack Oz is an easy walk from the bus station, and a good location for exploring the sites of the city. Shared toilet/showers are kept well cleaned and are usually available when needed. My room was quiet (a rarity in hostels), although a bit chilly. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the common room is a comfortable place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetreatForward
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

The atmosphere of the hostel was very welcoming and friendly. The staff were happy to book tours and go through a map with me so I could take in some of the highlights of the quaint city during my short stay. Important Note: There is a AU$20 deposit for the room key, which is given back on return of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandervos
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Other (33)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,053 reviews
0.6 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.8 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
924 reviews
0.9 km away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be smart and don't just got for a hostel with the lowest rate - you get what you pay for! Are you looking for a hostel where you feel welcome to relax and just hang out if you want a break? Where there are activities so you can meet people and make new friends? Where you don't feel as though you are putting your hand in your pocket every 5 minutes? Where the staff are happy to give you free advice about what to do in Adelaide (not just sell you an expensive tour)? Backpack Oz is a family owned and operated business that enjoys a great reputation - and not just because of the free Tuesday night BBQ dinner and daily Happy Hour ($3.50 beers)! All rooms and common areas have A/C, and kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned daily (and we mean really clean - check the ratings)! We have a fantastic city location - walk to cafe/pub districts, Central Market and CBD! Our free WiFi is super fast and we have a light & bright dining & common room with big screen TV. Free pick ups and drop offs to bus and train stations are available (not airport and conditions apply). Our staff are super well trained and really want you to enjoy your stay and make the most of Adelaide! We hope you choose to stay with us and leave with fond memories of both Adelaide and Backpack Oz. Cheers! Sam, Penny & Tom Twelftree *Reception is open from 6.00am till 10.00pm. You must check in prior to 10.00pm or we can not accept your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpack OZ

Address: 144 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: ₹ 1,166 - ₹ 3,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpack OZ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpack OZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backpack OZ staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Backpack OZ staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“whatever you do, don't lose your swipe card and bring spare sheets”
col-de-fol, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for rooms away from the main road”
Sanjana100, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“High floors!!”
lucianoferro61, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Every room is nice, and has its own cooler (Aircon)”
Wizo2014, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“most rooms are overlooking the road as it is situated on a corner”
ianvillaboy, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 36* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 54
Orbitz.comUS$ 54
Booking.comUS$ 42
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates