We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Reef View Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reef View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,967: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2015

The Hotel is located a few meters walking distances to the beach. The Hotel and another one is I believe the only high rise hotel on the island. The beach has got noticeable low and high tide, basically good a few hours a day for swimming, the remaining time perhaps for snorkelling further out. Plenty of sting rays in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 853berlin23
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 853berlin23 Thank you for taking the time to write to us. While I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, I am disappointed to learn that the levels or quality of service you met with did not meet your expectations. I am always happy to receive feedback as it allows me to spending time with certain teams...

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

situated within a 100 yards of the beach, it is a bit surprising that planning permission was given for a tower block hotel, but having said that we were on the 15th floor and the view was amazing. Very spacious room and bathroom, and an excellent breakfast - although there is often a queue to get into breakfast it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidfyffe
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2015

A bit disappointed we booked a high rise hotel on Hamilton Island due to late travel (Jan 2015), but I couldn't have been more delighted. Airport to hotel easy 5 min drive. First impression, hotel lovely, relatively quick check-in and thankfully room ready (as requested) 3hrs before check-in. Room, on lv 12, large with spacious bathroom, spectacular view from room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen G
Hamilton Island, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We stayed at the reef view two years ago and couldn't fault it as it was excellent that's why we stayed again but next time we will try apartments we have had never ending problems from ordering coffee with breakfast and them forgetting the order to listening to running and thumping all day every day above or room (we assume...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle-wilks02
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle-wilks02 Thank you so much for not only staying with us but also for taking the time to give me such a detailed review of your stay. Naturally I am quite concerned with the issues you’ve explained and I shall personally be chasing up the issues with communication and why our room service team seemed to have quite clearly...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Although the room was nice, staff friendly, our overall impression of Hamilton Island was that it was over priced for what it was. We hired a Charter boat and had an amazing time sailing around the islands,but i wouldn't bother going back to Hamilton Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sher H
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sher H Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to send through your review. Whilst I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my team were able to make your holiday memorable I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the greater parts of Hamilton Island. If there is anything...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We had a January 2015 family holiday, staying at the Reef View Hotel. It's such a good location, so close to the local Catseye Beach, 4 different swimming pools, 3-4 easy to walk to restaurants and the 'green' 15 minute shuttle bus picks up and drops off at the door. You can have breakfast at 3 different restaurants and in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David K
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David K A pleasure having you here with us and even more so a great pleasure reading that you had such an incredible time. It sounds like you were able to enjoy just about all of the best parts of Hamilton Island and I’m incredibly proud to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Certainly hope we can welcome...

London
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

Two great nights staying in room 1401 - having a corner room was great as we had side mountain and front sea/Islands view from our balcony! Spacious, clean room and bathroom. We just wish we could have stayed longer! Reception staff helpful and efficient - same for girl on tour desk. My only comment would be to have someone else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonTravelita
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

The views from the rooms are spectacular! Definitely pay the extra cost for a sea view. The actual hotel is a bit tired. Rooms are actually 3 star standard - main bedroom is fine but bathroom and balcony need a refresh. Breakfast has plenty of choice however the restaurant at the actual hotel feels a bit canteen like and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misha S
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Misha S Really was a pleasure having you stay with us and I thank you for taking the time to send me your feedback. As always I am proud to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that my team were able to make an impact on your holiday. We hope to welcome you again soon, if there is...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Just came back from my fourth stay at the Reef View hotel. Ive stayed in levels 3, 7,10 & 17 on different occasions over the past two years. They are mostly the same in respect to size differing only in layout. I have yet to encounter any problems with service, room, or amenities. Overall, the rooms are clean but dated.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BG_1980
Sydney
Reviewed 16 January 2015

The staff are amazing. The reef suite is awesome with a fantastic view. The suite was great for my family of four (with two small children). The beds are comfortable. Being split over two levels makes it nice in the evening when the children are in bed. Hamilton Island caters so well for children . With the kids eat free...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 29yofemale

1,635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1394)
Viewed
View from Room (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (207)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (201)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (101)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (547)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Reef Coral Sea View (36)
Viewed
Reef View Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.9 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.3 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
488 reviews
11.3 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
54 reviews
27.6 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
366 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Price Range: ₹ 17,184 - ₹ 33,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef View Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Reef View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms have a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles MillHouseCSB, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor for the view”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyc170, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a palm bungalow if you want peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 252stewartg, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have the best views of the whitsundays. Always book as a package deal.”
 of 5 bubbles Just-Us_17, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best location, amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles vanessas205, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay