We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Reef Lodge Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Reef Lodge Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Reef Lodge Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at Reef Lodge for two nights this week, and I had a great stay! Upon check-in, the owner was very friendly and helpful and gave me a map, brochures of things to do around the area as well as coupons for the movies/pubs (it's always nice to save money as a backpacker!). The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Julie and its always a pleasure to hear from people such as your self and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope the rest of holiday goes well. Glad we could help out with the money saving, map and coupons. All the best Dean...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Just got back from Townsville a few weeks ago, having had to visit Townsville for personal matters (my father was in hospital) Not being a tourist and once being from Townsville - I wasn't expecting it to be that great. I unintentionally booked a room simply due to it being cheap (and the 1400 DVD's the place has) But I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin T
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

WOW! This would have to rank with one of the best all time great reviews in the last 12 years. Not sure where to start. Hope every thing is now OK with your Dad and thank you so much for the nice things you have said. All the best Dean Reef Lodge Townsville

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

This place is fantastic. Stayed 4 nights over a weekend and this place is close to everything you could need. The facilities are more than could be asked for and the hammocks in the back watching a movie is great. Thanks dean and staff for making my unexpected townsville visit so pleasant. Will recommend to anyone 100%

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emil S
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Emil and it great to hear you enjoyed your unexpected stay in Townsville. Thanks for the nice review and I hope the rest of your trip goes well. All the best Dean Reef lodge Backpackers Townsville

Melbourne
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I stayed at Reef Lodge many years ago and was fortunate enough to stay there again in June with a group. It's affordable and clean and easy to manage the students we had with us. Can't see what the other reviewers were complaining about. I didn't see any of those things occurring here. Kitchen was clean, heaps of room in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank UrbanDrifter
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you GoGirl for the nice things you have said, sadly as you have stated some people say stupid things. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feed back about the Reef Lodge Backpackers and hope the rest of trip goes well. all the best Dean Reef Lodge backpackers Townsville

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Recently stayed here ..Was surprised once inside how clean and resort style this establishment is.Kitchen is spotless,heaps of fridge space.This place has the lot.Very quiet and relaxing considering location. Situated just next the main nightclub strip and the Strand.Cracker Irish Bar next door,very friendly with great deals for guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Steve and great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Townsville and @ the Reef Lodge Backpackers. Thank you for leaving your feedback and have a great holiday in Australia. all the best Dean Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville

Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after a long time travelling.. The owner was really friendly and helpful in showing us where we could go around Townsville as we didn't really have a clue! The hostel itself had everything you could need and was a welcoming quiet environment where we could relax for some much needed chill out time! Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lea_fox87
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Lea and thank you for taking the time to leave some feed back about the place. We are always happy to hear when we get things to your liking. Hope you have great stay in Oz. All the best an you trip Dean Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I've been staying at the Reef Lodge for nearly 3 months as I am working in Townsville and the hostel is the cheapest option with the closest location to the city where I work. The owners, Dean and Simone, are very hardworking people and they keep the hostel in tip top shape at all times. I saw someone else's review...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn O
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Bronwyn and thank you for the nice things you have said about the hostel. Don't think I could have made a review sound any more enticing than this one. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Townsville and thank you again. It nice to hear we do get things right some times. all the best Dean

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

A below average hostel in facilities. Poor kitchen, uncomfortable beds and the few showers that are available only produce cold water. However, these issues are insignificant compared to the unbelievably low standard of customer service. When booking by phone my card details were taken and I was then informed that I had 5 minutes to arrive from the bus station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Joe, Jercan and Alex for taking the time to leave your feedback as I was expecting. Always amazes me how quickly bad reviews are posted. Firstly, you did not give credit card details to hold your booking and you said you would be at the hostel within 5 minutes, I said I would hold it for that amount...

Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I recently spent 4 nights at the Reef Lodge Backpackers, Townsville and could not be happier. Being an older traveller, I greatly appreciated the fact that the hosts, Simon and Dean, kept all unruly behaviour under control; ie, did not tolerate it at all. They were friendly, most helpful and approachable. The premises were clean and eclectic. I spent hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riptoad
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I should pay you to do all my advertising. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Townsville and liked staying at the Reef Lodge Backpackers. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. all the best Dean

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Allright hostel, clean rooms and bathrooms. Bit boring tho. And the guy in the office isnt very friendly or helpfull. He didnt give me the feeling I was very welcome. When I checked in I thought maybe he had not his day. But the next morning it was the same haha. So change your attitude a bit and the experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Firstly thank you for going out of your way to leave a review and some feedback. Yes that was a bad weekend as I was dealing with a number of issues from a break-in and theft issue on the Sunday morning @ 2-45 am and the aftermath and police on the Monday morning. Maybe a simple smile and...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
303 reviews
0.8 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.4 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
353 reviews
0.9 km away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reef lodge Backpackers and budget accommodation in Townsville caters to travelers looking for a quiet place to relax and chill out. "LONLEY PLANET" The cruisy atmosphere at Townsvilles best hostel extends from Buddhist sculptures and hammocks strewn through the gardens to an outdoor cinema with swinging lounges and more than 1200 DVD's. There is a games room with bench presses free weights and a retro video game machine (space invaders Frogger Paceman ... Very cool) The large kitchen, Dorms and private rooms are all spotless. WE are are in the center of Townsville city, with a short 500m walk to the Greyhound, Premier bus terminal, Magnetic Island ferry terminal, beach, city center and the "Reef HQ" "Museum" "Cultural Center" are straight over the road. We have a "no alcohol policy" after 10-30pm and we ask the people to be respectful of the other guests who are staying at the Reef Lodge. We have a large communal kitchen with all the utilities you require to cook. There are many communal area where people can sit around including hammocks, recreational room with a small gym, pool table and retro video game machine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Lodge Backpackers

Address: 4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: ₹ 1,011 - ₹ 2,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Reef Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Reef Lodge Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check their own website for special deals!”
 of 5 bubbles kynar2015, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Always choose the backpackers special sometimes you are lucky and get a 4 six bed dorm for the same money as an 8 bed dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles Alicejeannine, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The rooms that face towards the Strand are quieter as they don't face th Irish Pub and Nighclubs”
 of 5 bubbles karabash78, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Whether your alone or in a couple, get a double room - $65 bucks or so!! Are you kidding? TV,Air con, fridge, bedding, good storage space.”
 of 5 bubbles 67benjamint, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Most rooms are fine, from 1 person to dorm style for many people. I had Rm24 which was a Motel styled room.”
 of 5 bubbles Riptoad, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay