We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Save
Share
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bed dorm”(23 reviews)
“free wifi”(49 reviews)
“air con”(35 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
217
95
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
217
95
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree wifiair confree coffee and teaferry terminalfree pickmagnetic islandshuttle servicea private double roomthe east coastbig kitchenceiling fanshared kitchencastle hillminute walkmini fridgea nice place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a private double room with a private bathroom. While the rooms and facilities are old, it was still a comfortable stay. The room had a ceiling fan, an aircon and a mini fridge. The backpackers has a huge shared outdoor area and...More

Thank Maeganfw
Reviewed 13 July 2018

I stayed at Civic Guest House with a group. We took over some entire dorm rooms, which were really nice with their own bathrooms and fridge, as well as a private room. The kitchen is large and well stocked with cooking equipment, and there are...More

Thank Carolyn K
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This hostel was so welcoming and comfortable it felt like a hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were comfortable and clean, the WiFi actually works. The atmosphere around this hostel is the best thing, great vibes making us feel safe and comfortable. Fantastic value...More

Thank _jamesellis0296
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here as part of a tour round the world making our way up the east coast. It is 100% in our top 3 hostels we have stayed in on our travels. The staff were all really friendly and accomodating, everything...More

Thank Robyn W
Response from CathyKowner, Owner at Civic Guest House Backpackers HostelResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you Robyn. We love to hear that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us! Safe travels.

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

The hostel is the cheapest around, and for a good reason : the kitchen is dirty, the pool table is broken, the toilets are cleaned once a week if not less, the public areas are really small with no light, you cannot use your own...More

Thank AlexNkv
Response from CathyKowner, Owner at Civic Guest House Backpackers HostelResponded 22 June 2018

Geez Alex! Considering you were asking to be on our work for accommodation and know we clean EVERYTHING daily, I am guessing your untruthful review is because we had to ask you leave. Unfortunately we have zero tolerance to substance at our Hostel.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$ 13 - US$ 44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 13 - US$ 44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Teng-Lum
19 April 2015|
Answer
Response from CathyKowner | Property representative |
Dear Teng, apologies for the delay in my reply. The Deluxe twin double room have two separate beds. You are welcome to send me an email if you still need a booking with us you are welcome to go to the Civic Guesthouse... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"i like the eight mix bedroom, big, clean, and cool air conditioner."
Read review
"Don't use email to communicate with staff."
Read review
"All rooms are perfect because they are all big enough and each has a frige"
Read review
"Ask for an ensuite...."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing