We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Southbank Townsville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Southbank Townsville
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rydges Southbank Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Well located close to some museums and a short walk to the Strand. Room was comfortable, good wifi (free) in room, good TV reception and quality. Room was a decent size. Bathroom ok, despite age: clean and everything worked. Staff exceptionally nice and helpful. Very slow lifts were rather irritating. Breakfast buffet was ok, although irritating to pay extra for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kissane
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our hotel - very much appreciate your comments pertaining to our rooms and free wifi does make a difference! I have passed on your comments regarding our staff service - its always good to hear positive comments on the work that they do and i know they appreciate it as well. Unfortunately our lifts...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

The rooms (ours and our friends') were pretty dirty, like mouldy showers, thick dust on chairs and in the air vents, dirty floors under the desk. Beds were big and comfortable. the breakfast was amazing. Huge selection. The pool was ok although we didn't spend much time there because it was in the shade much of the day and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte and m... P
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte - thank you for your feedback pertaining to your stay with us...we appreciate all feedback as it assists us to ensure any areas of our hotel that are not up to our guests satifaction can be rectified. I have spoken to our housekeeping team about your comments and ensure that their level of cleanliness is not normally like...

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel was terrible. Being Rydges I wasn't expecting 5 star luxury but I was expecting at the very least a clean and comfortable room. How wrong was I! This hotel may have been nice in 1991 but it is in urgent need of a decent refurbishment. Paint was peeling, the bathroom was disgusting. Quite frankly, it has put me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Dean - Thank you for your honest comments and overview of our hotel. It is extremely unfortunate that your room was well below the level you expected from our Rydges brand. The hotel did have a minor upgrade a few years back and we are now looking at the items you mentioned throughout the hotel to upgrade as well....

Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Clean, great facilities, strong wifi, off street parking, friendly staff, bit aged but close to lots of great eating places. The hotel is situated close enough that you can walk into the city - about a 10 min walk to the Perc Tucker Regional Gallery. Great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluedog908
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know kow your stay was with us....our hotel sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precint on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD, glad that you enjoyed it!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015

My room was a good size, clean and well appointed, on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and palm trees. The hotel offers online check-in the day before your arrival, which doesn't save all that much time, but they text you to tell you what time your room will be ready, which is a useful touch. Free parking and free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobgeddes
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments & feedback from your recent stay with us! It is great to hear that you took advantage of our checkmate system however I am sorry you didn't feel that it was quicker. We look forward to seeing you agian soon. Regards, Trish- RDM

Bingil Bay, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Not a super flash place (at least not my room) but at this price it's a bargain. The hotel's in a great location right in the middle of Palmer St very close to all the bars and restaurants. The bathroom looks very tired and could certainly do with some TLC but my bed was very comfy and the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location on Palmer Street! The bathrooms are dated however they are clean. The Rydges Dreambeds are great to have a restful nights sleep on and I can definitely understand the need for fast wi-fi these days! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Trish- RDM

Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Although the room was old and used, the bed was comfy enough. The bathroom was hideous, it looked like a bomb had hit it. There was patch up work everywhere and it wasn't pretty. This place needs a lot of work done to it. Great for an overnighter, I wouldn't stay any longer than that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

HI Chris V, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, as stated in numerous reviews, the bathrooms are very dated however clean. Hopefully this will be rectified in the near furture. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Rydges Dreambeds, they are just like sleeping on a cloud. Regards, Trish- RDM

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We have stayed here a few times over the years,both hotel and unit accommodation. Handy location to city and restaurants Getting a bit long in the tooth now and needs a major refurbishment and updated decor. rooms are clean but tired and dreary as is restaurant. quiet dark room, bed OK, as usual everywhere pillows terrible, good clean shower but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Peter C, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Rydges Southbank Townsville. The building isn't the newest however we ensure that it is clean and presented well. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location on Palmer Street. Regards, Trish- RDM

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2015

there were 4 of us staying in a two bedroom apartment, was very nice but older, no Radio or speakers of any type and the TV was rather small for the room, for the money spent I would expect a little more, another bad thing was running out of hot water every night because we showered at the same time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jme109
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback regarding you recent stay with us at the Townsville Southbank Apartments. The apartments are starting to date however they are clean. I will certainly bring up the idea of speakers or a bigger TV for the living areas. This is the first time that we have had an issue with the hot water service in...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2015

The room I was allocated was on Level 1, it had new carpets and some fittings, but the bathroom had old well worn tap wear and the basin and shower tray really showed their age with wear through the coatings. The bedroom furniture being still wicker and glass (so very 90's) did clash with the ultra modern carpets (Black and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karabash78
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderfully constructive review! It is great to hear feedback regarding many of the facilities that we have here at Rydges Southbank Townsville (excluding door locks integrated with Apple watches as we don't have these). I have passed your kind words to our staff, expecially the breakfast chef, Schrelle. She is amazing! We do actually have 2...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
345 reviews
0.2 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#11 of 42 in Townsville
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#12 of 42 in Townsville
74 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
426 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: ₹ 5,229 - ₹ 9,804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Qld
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room the better the view!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles holidaytime2222, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view”
 of 5 bubbles 725terryl, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool are usually good.”
 of 5 bubbles jennytalbot, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The top floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Roninall , 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the Palmer Street side. Great views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 45robk, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5