We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Brendale
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Quick trip to Townsville Stayed here many yrs ago when I was working with virgin blue Will stay here again for sure as staff were friendly, rooms clean, good price value for the great location. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 328reedp
Glen Iris
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room rate was excellent with full buffet breakfast included. No hesitation recommending the hotel. Room decor a bit dated. Air conditioning could be more powerful . toiletries were good quality for a 4 star hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilingn
Nundah
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decent accommodation in Townsville, friendly staff, food was great. The lighting in the bathroom was terrible but otherwise fine. The reception area was freezing but most people probably like that. Nice cafés nearby and a short stroll to lots of restaurants etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 924amyy
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear 924amyy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you found our team friendly and enjoyed the food. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to the lighting in the bathroom. We have passed your comments onto our...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the location and our room on level 11 had a good view over a large part of Townsville. The room was Ok but needed some TLC in the bathroom and carpets were a bit old. Bedding standard was great. Staff were very helpful and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Stefan B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to your room standard. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our Hotel...

North Manly
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location and price. Roof top pool is nice but the pool lounges were very uncomfortable. Our room was adequate but we had a few issues with TV and internet connection. Friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Alex B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to our televisions and internet. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our...

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful place to stay at, if you want relaxation and closeness to shops and tourists sites. Dinner and buffet breakfast was wonderful! The best location within Townsville and a hotel to check out! XX

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellafab01
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear bellafab01, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the dinner and buffet breakfast, something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is iconic and always a pleasure to stay at for location. Hotel has changed names many times and sadly has changed its decor little, looks and feels tired. With many guests the foyer could be a lively place for a coffee even a TV screen. But only adds the sense of a lack of feeling in the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adriel553
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear adriel553, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. It appears that overall your stay was enjoyable. I am disappointed to hear that we were disappointed with the decor. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will take your feedback into consideration. We...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised that it has been renovated but everything has to do with value. The bill was different to the quoted price; communication at checkin and check out was strange and awkward; the car parking is a nightmare; charged extra for wi-fi with no notice about extras (was removed from bill when I complained) but I would try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EggChen
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear , Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to the communication you received on arrival and departure. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed...

Charters Towers, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good for everything except the length of time the room took to cool down. Staff were excellent. Buffet breakfast was also very good. One of the down lights was out in the hallway and the is we were told would have been attended to straight away if we had reported the night before.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen7028
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear , Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to the Air Conditioning during your stay. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to...

Warragul, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Long referred to as 'The Sugar Shaker' for its physical resemblance to the classic utensil this Townsville icon has some of the most beautiful views of the city and across to Magnetic Island. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival as were the bar staff once we were settled. Although compact the room has been upgraded over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Clive H, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the views and our friendly team, something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.4 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
297 reviews
1.3 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
0.5 km away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
274 reviews
0.2 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville is located in the heart of the CBD and shopping district and just a short walk from Townsville's major tourist attractions, including Reef HQ Aquarium and The Strand. Enjoy panoramic views of Magnetic Island, Castle Hill and the city from a variety of contemporary room types. Facilities include restaurant, bar, rooftop pool, gym and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Address: 334 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Townsville)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: ₹ 4,616 - ₹ 6,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Townsville Hotel Townsville
Townsville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#8 Business Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
24 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have great views and seem quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 580StefanB, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 1505 it had a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 870annw870, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on higher floors with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 371gerryf, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No parking on-site.”
 of 5 bubbles themets2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“lower floors not good views due to masses of construction going on pick something like the strand closer to water!”
 of 5 bubbles 110rustyw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay