We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Swan Hill, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The park would have to rate up there as one of the cleanest and neatest parks. Yes it is a bit noisy bring on the Bruce highway but that is all it has against it. We had a lovely stay and i would recommend this park to everyone. It was very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy R
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "Trudy R" Thanks for your kind words and lovely review. We are so pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you recommend us - this is some of the best feedback we can receive so thank you. Kind regards Danella

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2016

This Big 4 is one of the best appointed I've seen around Australia. We stayed in an Eco Villa, which looks like it's insulated panel and stays cool throughout the heat. Just to make sure, though, it has two reverse-cycle airconditioners and ceiling fans, so they're really comfortable. The villa was fitted out with name-brand appliances, stone bench kitchen, real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdav0366
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Dear "rdav0366" Wow - thanks for your awesome review - we love knowing you've enjoyed your stay with us recently, especially that you thought the Eco Villa was so well appointed and the park had everything you needed.. We will be sure to share your kind words with our entire team as they work tirelessly to ensure all our guests...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Check in was painless, the gate to enter the camp was very easy to operate with a key fob. The Pool was clean, each site was well maintained. Laundry and kitchen facilities were very good, the camp kitchen has an outdoor TV, microwave, toaster, kettle cooker as well as BBQ and clean and well maintained table and chairs. The best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Stephen K Thanks for staying with us recently and for your review. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us, and also that you found it convenient to everything in Townsville. Apologies if the site in which we booked you on was not suitable.. After reading your review we are assuming that you have stayed...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The location is not good. Bruce Highway is at the front and in the night, the trucks and noisy speeding cars and bikes are loud. The facilities are average with poor practice such as a bucket upside down (no antiseptic or water) with a mop asking you to mop the shower cubicles. WiFi was hopelessly slow and resets which makes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter F
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Peter F Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us recently. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay, and I am wondering if you brought any of your concerns to us during your stay so we could have tried to rectify these while you were staying with us. We are located just off...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We stayed 3 nights and had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in one of the Eco Cabins. The 2 bedroom cabin was much bigger than expected, neat, clean and well kitted out. Considering that the park was almost full over the weekend there was little noise even though it is situated on the Bruce Hwy. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Peter P Thanks for your great review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you found the accommodation clean and well equipped.. Yes we had a busy weekend with guests in town for the Cowboys game and are happy to hear that there was little noise from a guest perspective for...

Bowen, Australia
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We stay here regularly for sports as its in a great location. Unfortunately it is in terrible need of upgrading to its ensuite sites and pool which is pretty good just old and worn and its "games room" which doesn't have anything in it really. I don't think they realise how great they could do with a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thelandfamily
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "Thelandfamily" Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us when you come to Townsville for sporting commitments, we appreciate your business. After reading your review we have some definite areas to improve in asap. We do agree that the park is in need of some upgrades and are presently prioritising a list for the owners so we can get...

Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Very tired villas & Way more expensive than a serviced apartment in the city. Zero blankets on single beds. My boys froze. Tiny little cups you can't even make a coffee in, let alone enjoy. And the sofa was filthy and bumpy. Won't be coming back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irina P
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Irina P Thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and are disappointed to read that you wont come back and stay again to allow us to show you what you experienced is not the norm. We have 7 different...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Totally enjoyable stay, went into the cafe Thursday night for some dinner and the girls couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. Clean, casual friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend the walkabout burger😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Sally G Thanks for your feedback - we are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable experience with dining at the service station cafe recently, especially that the staff were friendly and helpful. And thanks for the burger recommendation too! Kind regards Danella

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Terrible internet say they knew about it for a while but not fixed it, cafe inside was terrible and looked dirty so went to the resort next door, pool was nice good size and good fun so overall if you're not fussed about wifi then perfect place just seek food elsewhere, had music playing at around 11 o clock at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott05011
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "scott05011" Thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our pool and also thought we are a good place to stay (minus the wifi).. We are disappointed to read your comments re the WIFI - this is an issue that we are trying to address...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Good caravan park. Friendly staff. Close to highway but no highway noise. Caravan sites were concrete slab.Older style amenities but very clean. Good pool. Large shopping centre about 3 minuted drive down the road. With wollies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LYN H
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "LYN H" Thanks for staying with us recently and for your kind words - we are very happy to read your review. We pride ourselves on our "Friendliness & Cleanliness" so to read that we excelled in this area makes us very happy. If you're ever back in Townsville we hope to be able to welcome you back. Safe...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
6.7 km away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
274 reviews
7.6 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
672 reviews
6.6 km away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#17 of 41 in Townsville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville
8.8 km away
Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park
6.0 km away
The Lakes Holiday Park
The Lakes Holiday Park
#21 of 44 in Townsville
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville

Address: 6 University Rd | Wulguru, Townsville, Queensland 4811, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: ₹ 4,359 - ₹ 9,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins are well located, some Eco units. Caravan sites are with or without power.all sites are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Eco villas are a bit more expensive, but larger and more comfortable than the older cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles rdav0366, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“unpowered sites would be quieter than those at the front, but just make sure yours will be big enough for your needs when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles H7578HSstephenk, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Eco cabins are large and we heard very little noise”
 of 5 bubbles P7925HUpeterp, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Need to keep away from Permanents if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 813dereks, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay