We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dorchester on the Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dorchester on the Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights at the Dorchester on the beach and next time we visit Australia and the Gold Coast, we will return for sure and stay for longer. View is awesome, directly on the beach and massive glass windows all along to see out to the sea and beach. We went for the standard apartment only being here for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clifford B
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was by far our favorite place in Australia. The location was ideal and the apartment hotel was top notch. Luxury living at reasonable rates. The three bedroom apartment we had was the perfect get-away for our family and the ocean views were breathtaking. Parking was on-site in the garage and very convenient. Michael and Karen are the manager condo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey S
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Jeffrey S, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your holiday in Australia and especially here on the Gold Coast at Dorchester on the Beach. We love serving our guests and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and this was our first time to the Gold Coast . We fell in love with the place as soon as we walked in . Karen and Michael the hosts were amazing and made is feel so welcome . The room was amazing with beautiful million dollar views . We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Once again Happy Anniversary. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your getaway! Thank you for your lovely review, we are truly humbled. Please come back and stay again! Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

A TripAdvisor Member
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Superb location, excellent hosts, fantastic appartment, highly recommend. Nothing was to much trouble for hosts Michael and Karen from first contact to saying goodbye... Will definitely be returning for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi ladies Thank you for your super review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed five nights with my family in this great apartment right on the beach. Apartment 6 is one of only two on the floor and is light and bright 3 bedroom apartment that can sleep 8. It has everything you need including beach toys for the children. It has a nice swimming pool and is right on the beach. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny g
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hello Penny G and family, we really enjoyed having you come and stay with us. What an awesome family. Thank you for the amazing review. Dorchester on the Beach is all about serving families like yours. Once again, thank you very much. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Dorchester is right on the beach and only 2 apartments per floor. The rooms are large and the kitchen has all you need. The couple that manage it are nice and helpful. Close to a lot of places to see and eating also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi John W, Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we always enjoy welcoming you and your family back to Dorchester on the Beach. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Manager

Reviewed 29 September 2016

There are thousands of apartments on the coast with views as stunning as here but i dont know any other apartments where the hosts treat you as though you are the only people in the building.Karen and Michael go out of there way to serve you and tend your every need.We have just spent a week as a family celebration...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Chris M and family, It was wonderful to welcome you and your family to Dorchester on the Beach. Thank you for your fantastic review Chris. We are thrilled that your whole family were able to gather at the Dorchester to enjoy all the special family festivities. We are truly humbled by you super review and look forward to welcoming...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

A solid 4.5 out of 5 Pros Michael and Karen are a great team and certainly add the personal touch that is appreciated The view is stunning and location cannot get better if you like the beach and do not need the noise of surfers Size of the apartment is great and with only 2 apartments per floor there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77rahulb
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi 77rahulb, It was great to welcome you to Dorchester on the Beach. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing your family up to share this wonderful location with them. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross,s Managers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Soon after we booked we were contacted by the friendly proprietors, Karen & Michael, to welcome us and ensure we had all the local knowledge we needed to make our stay great. We had high expectations and were not disappointed. When Karen said you can see dolphins and whales from the balcony at times I was skeptical, but I shouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Tom M Thank you for your super review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Dorchester on the Beach and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Called to booked my 23rd birthday with a few friends, I was told I couldn't book due to my age and that I would be to noisy to other guests, even though I mentioned we wouldn't be and you can discriminate against my age. I found it unfair that you refuse to let younger adults stay at your apartments, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enyacunningham
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you feel discriminated against Enya, we can assure you that was not our intention. However, we have to abide by the strict Body Corporate By-Laws that govern the holiday letting at the Dorchester. One of these By-Laws is a strict no party policy and we are very open about this. You were not refused a booking...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 km away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#20 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
79 reviews
0.4 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#6 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
269 reviews
0.4 km away
Breakers North
Breakers North
#35 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Emerald Sands
Emerald Sands
#31 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
76 reviews
0.3 km away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#24 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
129 reviews
0.5 km away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#10 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dorchester on the Beach is a perfect location for a 4 1/2 star family holiday. Absolute beach front Surfers Paradise, no roads to cross, spacious three bedroom deluxe or standard apartments and only two apartments per floor. Enjoy stunning beach and Gold Coast views, heated swimming pool, free Foxtel, free WiFi, lift, tour desk and secure undercover parking for one car. Apartments are self catered and close to all amenities. The Dorchester is a family hi-rise and does not cater for groups of singles. No Parties Policy! Open your own private secure beach front gate and feel the sand between your toes on Surfers Paradise beach. No roads to cross! 100 metres north is Northcliffe Surf Club and their patrolled swim/surf area. A leisurely 10 minute walk north brings you to Cavil Avenue, the heart of Surfers Paradise. Walk 15 minutes south and you are in trendy Broadbeach with a great selection of restaurants, Jupiters Casino, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre. Dorchester on the Beach is close to all transportation with direct pick up and drop off for Gold Coast and Brisbane Airport transfers, taxis, tours and other activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorchester on the Beach

Address: Dorchester 3-7 Garfield Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: ₹ 8,866 - ₹ 28,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorchester on the Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dorchester on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester On The Beach Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorchester on the Beach staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dorchester on the Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call Karen or Mike directly if you have any questions. Apartments range from high end to some less updated. Call for details”
 of 5 bubbles jeffreysP1061BS, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the apartments that have been done up if you can”
 of 5 bubbles D5626ETjohnw, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better”
 of 5 bubbles Tom_Masters, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 on 8th floor - great beach/sea views looking up to Surfers Paradise...”
 of 5 bubbles C7627NEjuliem, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a sea view”
  • room 12 view
  • view from room 12
 of 5 bubbles redditchcouple, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay