We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sands Holiday Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here via AirBnB so my review is based on the building, not the experience of renting. The whole place looked run down, not just the apartment I was in. The hallways weren't cleaned ever, there was constantly trash from other people and empty bottles that didn't move during my stay. Very little sound proofing between the rooms, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmerke
TheSandsHoliday, Front Office Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

In regard to your review on an privately let Airbnb unit by the owner that you stayed in I wish to advise that your your review should be placed on Airbnb. This review should not have any bearing on my booking agency and especially when I have no guests in house in respect to guests during November. The Sands has...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked through Booking.com 4 days beforehand and had received confirmation of booking. It wasnt until i was 1/2 hour away from The Sands theat they rang and said that a woman hadnt booked out and there was no bed for me. I asked if I could call in and use the internet to try and find alternate accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darlene S
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

In response to the review by this guest I would like to positively say that it was unfortunate that the guest already in the room could not be contacted to vacate to clean the room. To be fair to the guest I thought it was more courteous to phone the guest rather than allow the guest to turn up and...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Apartment was booked several months in advance with full prepayment! Booking was reconfirmed the week before travel with notation we would arrive between 8 and 9pm, we were given the after hours arrival information which was useless the gate at the front of the property was broken and would not open, security was doing his rounds at the time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicoleScrap
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

This review has been written by a guest who did not check in on that day. I confirm that the guests had bargain accommodation paying $125 a night for 4 adults in a 2 bedroom apartment. Young adults checked in and whilst we were doing our best to rectify the situation, a young girl phoned I assume her mother. She...

Autun, France
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Plus: Great location, in front of the beach, wonderful sea view. Large apartment (81m2 for 2 persons). Clean and quiet swimming pool. Minus: No internet available. Few stuffs should be fixed in the apartment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
Auckland, NZ
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We stayed on the first for right on the beach. The view was fantastic. We woke up each morning to the sound of the surf. Make sure your room is at the front facing the sea! The apartment block is a little tired but still great. Easy walk to the shops And the two clubs are only 100 yards away.Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We are on day 6 of our 9 day stay. Its in the most fabulous location in Surfers paradise. Right out the back door are cafes, shopping, supermarkets, attractions, games, night clubs and more. Beach is right across the road. Our apartment is brand new looking and very modern. Very clean except for a few dishes. Noisy at night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss R
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Good location but is quite run down. Staff were really rude as well. The young brunette girl at the desk had zero customer service skills and was rather in helpful to point of being quite rude. Over all not a terrible place to stay but the staff need to step up there game.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OliverLoschy
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to respond to this review. Two apartments were booked by a company for two single guests. Following notes left on the door of one guest a few days after check in I phoned the company to advise that their guests l had not checked in. The kind girl offered to give them a call to check...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2016

It was a real shock! i knew this was a cheap place to stay when i booked at short noticed but the room and complex was run down, there were faulty power boards, lamps that didn't work, kitchen cupboards broken, no lighting when i got out of elevator on my floor to find my room (late check in). Reception was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank retepm21
BC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

The location of the property is perfect. Right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The unit needed some initial cleaning and the sofas were well beyond their useful life but for the price is was acceptable. The bed was comfortable and the staff helpful. You get what you pay for. Overall it was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wallybug
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I wouldn't stay there again, not even for free. Staff were not very professional, nor friendly. The apartment was very dirty and disgusting! they clearly don't pay much attention towards basic hygine. The furniture was very run down. very old and outdated. Not to mention, dirty. We really couldn't stay there for the whole duration and ended up leaving much...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MorningBeachLover
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Disappointing for the building The Sands to receive this review. At The Sands there are two letting agents and this review could be referring to the private letting agent. At no time does my office not refund for guests who cut short their stay and secondly the guests are always offered to move or for the cleaners to go back...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
72 reviews
0.1 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,397 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,309 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,934 reviews
0.6 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One and two bedroom fully self contained apartments with washing machine and drier and ironing facilities. Ceiling fans, television and balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean of Surfers Paradise and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: The Sands 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: ₹ 5,122 - ₹ 8,627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double check that you have a room”
 of 5 bubbles 235darlenes, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“BAD - don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles NicoleScrap, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room at the front facing the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles jono5515, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles retepm21, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles MorningBeachLover, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay