We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Villas Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Villas Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Villas Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Enjoyed a lovely stay in their one bedroom apartment. The place was clean, bed large and comfortable with fabulous air conditioning. The pool was lovely and not too chlorinated. The only down side was there was a funny smell for the first day or two - was told it was just from the room being shut for a while

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have absolutely nothing negative to say about Bay Villas. Staff are unbelievably friendly, wifi is good, pool area very relaxing, rooms very clean and a nice size, free laundry, fantastic location. One of the receptionists was very patient with us and gave us lots of advice when we tried to book the perfect reef trip - her advice was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosiethomas2707
BayVillasManager, General Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

Hello Rosie. It's been a pleasure to welcome you to Bay Villas. Very happy that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise in the tropics... and our company. :) Bay Villas will always be your home if you wish to come back. Kind regards. Sebastien.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The receptionist was particularly rude and unhelpful, she most certainly shouldn't be in a customer facing role and most certainly not in a meet and greet role, the fact that online it states reception office hours are open from 8:30 is rubbish as we tried calling from 8:30 when we arrived in cairns to arrange an airport transfer and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
BayVillasManager, General Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, Thank you for your feedback. As the Manager and owner of Bay Villas Resort allow me to respond personally to avoid misinterpretation of your message for other guests We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in Port Douglas but we really can't feel responsible for most of it. First of all, both of my receptionists...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice and friendly resort. Aimed at the laid back travellers who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The pool is lovely and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff are very helpful and are happy to book tours, advise you on directions and even suggest places to visit which will ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BiggerJohnnyB
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Visited during January after school hols in a large family group of 11 adults. Great facilities, town is a pleasant short work away, as is 4-mile beach. Rooms are nothing fancy but perfectly well equipped for a short stay. Made good use of pool and BBQ areas which were always clean and available for use. Reception very useful in assisting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
Cow Bay
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Recently stayed 2 nights, fantastically appointed you will want for nothing, and very well detailed. Within "town" route for shuttle bus. Friendly staff, easy access, with plenty of parking. When the need arrives this will be my accommodation of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The appartment was OK, clean, but somewhat outdated. Service was difficult to find but OK it was X-mas time. A couplle of small pools we didn't use, but a short nice walk to the beach, which was beautiful. Only problem was that due to risk for stingers (poisonous gellyfish) you only should swim in a smaller area protected by nets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lennart_brandel
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I am not sure how to rate the Bay Villas. The location is fine, 15 minute walk to the main street, there is parkingspace (watch out if you have a big car), the front office is more than friendly and it was clean. Yet we were not overwhelmed by the apartment. It really was a little small. Small kitchenarea, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolienRozema
BayVillasManager, General Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you very much for your feedback. If I remember well you have stayed in a Studio for the time you spent with us in the very new year. Our Studios are the largest in town. They are 28 to 35 sqm including comfortable balcony with private view on gardens, street or swimming pools. It is true that...

Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with young daughter for five nights. Good standard of facilities. A bit dated. Very clean. Full kitchen in apartment which suited us well. Support from staff via email beforehand was fabulous. Two things I think could be improved on - 1. Better shower head. It was so tiny. Didn't even wet your back without having to move around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilaAustralia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Our room we booked was at 219$ when we got there we had to pay an extra fee of 150$ because my children where over 8 years old .. they said take it or leave it . They would not refund our deposit and said the next morning that the manager would refund some money back to us but that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Danielle N
BayVillasManager, Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

You booked a studio for 1 night for a whole family of 4 people and this is only allowed if 1) both of your children are under 2 years old, and 2) one of it sleeps in the same bed than you and the other one in a baby cot. This policy is clear and simple enough, it's just common...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
3.0 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
726 reviews
0.8 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
409 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
280 reviews
0.9 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
505 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 4,967 - ₹ 10,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Villas Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Villas Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Three levels, be aware of what suits yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles allanw360, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked the ground floor with a little garden”
 of 5 bubbles 667jackyw, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get your towel down early if using the pool”
 of 5 bubbles bigstu1207, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at ground level”
 of 5 bubbles Christian2sen, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms may be noisy from roadside traffic”
 of 5 bubbles DerekC372, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5