We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

By The Sea Port Douglas

1,389 reviews
Save
Traveller (379)
Room & Suite (124)
Pool & Beach (50)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good17%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beach chairs”(185 reviews)
“free extras”(49 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from By The Sea Port Douglas
Special Rate: SAVE MONEY!
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,389)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for By The Sea Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveller rating
1,077
237
29
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,077
237
29
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsfree extrasshopping trolleyscool boxesfree icerainforest canopythe main streetsea viewthought of everythingboogie boardsfree beach towelsshops and restaurantspool toysgolf clubsfour mile beachfree bikesdvd library
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to book a room here as I read so many great reviews of the place and we wanted to stay next to 4 mile beach. On our arrival I was quite disappointed with our room. We booked a cosy room which I was...More

1  Thank LonTour16
Response from bts64, Manager at By The Sea Port DouglasResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lontour16 We are so sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the room that you booked at our resort. We do have quite a range of different rooms and we do urge those considering staying with By the Sea to look our room...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

First impressions on arrival were the fantastically friendly staff. The foyer was full of fun free things to borrow during our visit. Games and DVDs , books to read, shopping trolleys, bikes and pool and beach inflatables. Our room was a corner pool view and...More

2  Thank AussieBenean
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We had a really lovely 3-night stay at By The Sea Port Douglas. Lizzie helped us check-in upon arrival and kindly walked us through all the amenities provided and showed us to our room. Our room (with a king bed) was clean and comfortable for...More

2  Thank travelteamSDF
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We stayed here in March 2017 (sorry for the delay) and we had a fantastic time, we didn't want to leave! The staff were amazing, so friendly, full of information and ready to help. Our apartment room was lovely, a nice size, clean, with kitchenette...More

2  Thank FiFiScotland42
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

One hundred metres from the Port Douglas beach and two hundreds metres from town, these beautifully kept villas are peaceful, well-appointed and totally spotless. Everything is catered for and the surroundings are sublime. By The Sea is reasonably priced for the market and is a...More

2  Thank Mark L
View more reviews
PreviousNext
134567272
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$ 98 - US$ 224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 98 - US$ 224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (379)
Room & Suite (124)
Pool & Beach (50)
Dining (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chloediggins
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Darlingkins | Reviewed this property |
No - not at all. It's way down the street from all the main shops and restaurants.
0
Votes
Gina V
28 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gina V |
How do I know what I'm getting when I place a reservation?
0
Votes
BKL33458
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from tisheewishee |
no
1
Vote
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"front rooms have an all round view.."
Read review
"Do not go for any of the ground floor rooms at the back - rooms 1-4"
Read review
"SEa view and sea and pool view are great!"
Read review
"Rainforest canopy was perfect for a family of 5"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing