We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra PortSea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra PortSea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mantra PortSea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,275: English reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This looked like a quality place in the photos on the website. With a 4 star rating what could go wrong? The hotel has nice, but outdated architecture. The walls could do with a lick of paint or at the very least a pressure clean. Its hard to find your way around. The room had dirty slimy tiled floors and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donnie D
Michelle S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Dear Donnie D Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at Mantra Portsea and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel room that you stayed in is a compact room and does only offer tea/coffee facilities along with a small bathroom, they are our entry level price point rooms...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I asked for twin beds. However we got a queen and a foldout bed. The foldout bed was terribly uncomfortable and took up too much room. Balcony was great. Needs a small food store. Pool food could be better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellesN71VN
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Friendly staff, lovely pools and spa, close to the beach (3 minute stroll) and far enough away from the noise of the town center, but close enough to stroll there for dinner etc. We stay in a studio apartment with pool view, quite spacious with two lounges and queen bed, spa and cooking facilities (stove top etc). The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hi Mark T, I agree that our location is ideal, and am so pleased to hear the you enjoyed your recent stay at Mantra PortSea. Thanks for your review. Tom

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This resort is well located and has a great pool. But the pool bar certainly attracts a certain type of crowd which is not really compatible with a family holiday...... From happy hour (3pm) the noise level rises from the pool and it continues well into the evening. Don't choose this resort is you want to self cater. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa B
Michelle S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B Thank you for your feedback regarding our resort, I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your stay here. We have had a few wedding groups here over the last few weeks which has resulted in some extra noise at times, this is something that is difficult for our staff to control. Some days happy...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Relaxing resort, rooms and facilities were great, and we enjoyed the closeness to the beach. It would be excellent to see a restaurant there on the nights you just feel like relaxing and staying in, also some better food variety for the swim up bar would be great, some healthier options. Otherwise awesome. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjg707
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hi cjg707, I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing resort- we are located in such an ideal location. I have passed on your thoughts about healthier options in our Pool Bar to the Food & Beverage Manager, and we look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful FNQ! Warmest regards, Tom

Melbourne
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is a great family resort and good value for money it is the second time I have stayed there. If they clean the rooms better I don't think it would be the perfect resort for the price. 4 thumbs up from us

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I6714GTjaneb
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hi I6714GTjaneb, I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your family getaway at Mantra PortSea- no better rating than 4 thumbs up! We look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay. Warmest regards, Tom

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Great location, clean and tidy, wonderful helpful staff. Was perfect for us and will return with adult children next winter. Great to have the bikes available. Enjoyed the peaceful surroundings yet so close to walk to town or beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O7025UIdianeg
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Good afternoon dianeg, from sunny Port Douglas! I'm so pleased to hear that our friendly team were on hand to enhance your stay, and wholeheartedly agree with your remarks on our ideal location. We look forward to welcoming you back in Winter 2017. Warmest regards, Tom

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We got a package deal with studio lagoon view!! No pool view as plants all around balcony, was dark. Also the 2 seater couch was a sofa bed and so uncomfortable to sit on so had no where to sit and the furniture outside was also uncomfortable. We won't be going back as we were there for just under a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie R
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Good afternoon Debbie R, I'm saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Mantra PortSea. Our friendly reception team are always on hand to right any wrongs, so it is disappointing that you put up with the location for close to two weeks. You will be thrilled to hear, however, that room refurbishments are definitely on the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Good and well serviced room with balcony in a quiet section of the Resort. Helpful, courteous and friendly staff. Booking tours was easy and efficient. Good breakfast available in Breakfast Room, 3 pools to relax around and 3 BBQ's means eating in was easy. Only downside was inability to use room safe due to lost key so had to use...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R4182DSgrahamb
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Good afternoon grahamb, Thanks so much for taking the time to write in. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay at Mantra PortSea- we definitely know how to aid in guest relaxation. So, when are you coming back? We can't wait to have you visit soon! Warmest regards, Tom

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Great location for relaxing stay. Close to beach, restaurants, shops and sight seeing. Has breakfast facilities, but not dinner. Doesn't have daily room service for towels etc, need to request and pay additional fee. Pool and pool bar very good. Does have facility for massage or facial. Have to use stairs, no lift facilities. Staff very polite and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 560susie
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Good afternoon Susie, Thanks for taking the time to write a great review- by the sounds of it you had a wonderful stay! We can't wait to have you visit again soon! Warmest regards, Tom

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.7 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
736 reviews
1.1 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
425 reviews
0.3 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
661 reviews
3.9 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 5,441 - ₹ 14,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra PortSea staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra PortSea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a better room at another hotel for a cheaper price.”
Erin5454, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
Barking31, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that face the pool are lovely.”
Robbie77, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“B rooms are like a cave”
  • very tired fridge
  • dirty and worn out
  • Mud left by maitenance
  • dirty bedroom floor
  • dryer cord
  • garbage not cleaned out
  • dried food on fridge door and floor
  • Dirt on chair
Carnarvon50, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet - ask for a room away from the ain pool and beware of the stairs and no lift!”
TravellingJR, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5