We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Global Backpackers Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Quite a cheap hostel and it's good enough. Arrived at 2am, had to call night manager (few times, prolly sleeping), he let me in, no probs. They do try to keep bathrooms/toilets clean, but since it's a BIG hostel, it can happen that they are not, but no biggie. Rooms are clean, staff is OK. The hostel is nothing special,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veringtentje
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I stayed here for 2 weeks the first time at the end of my East Coast trip and was pleasantly surprised with this hostel compared to many others up the East Coast. The hostel was clean, with all white sheets provided, clean rooms and bathrooms. There is also loads of space in the rooms for your bags - you're not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sckirkham
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your great feedback on our hostel. We really want our guests to enjoy themselves and take advantage of the specials and amenities that we have on site. It make us really happy that you made friends that you could travel with and enjoy your time in Cairns. Hope the rest of your trip is amazing. Again,...

Schweiz
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights. It was much better than I read in the comments. The rooms are clean and well conditionned, the toilets were being cleaned every day, as well the pretty big kitchen. The staff is friendly and with only one exception they knew what they are doing. The best thing is, how central it is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raphael148
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Raphael, Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff have been working really hard to make sure the rooms are clean, tidy and nicely cooled down for our guests. We are always looking at areas to improve and train ourselves further so your feedback is appreciated. We really enjoy the fact that we...

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Constantly made us move rooms. Rude unhelpful reception staff. Kitchen closed at stupid times of the day and bathrooms often unclean. Have to hire plates cutlery etc from reception every time want to cook something, so stupid! Nicer places to stay in cairns for the same or less money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thanks for giving us some feedback on your stay in our hostel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and did not find our staff friendly and helpful as we work hard to make our guests welcome. Unfortunately guests may sometimes need to move rooms if their current type of accommodation is booked...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Two friends & I stayed at Global for 2 nights in October. Rooms weren't the cleanest but ok. Good balcony to socialise. Excellent location, within walking distance of everything. Staff helpful. Overall vibe was perfect for us & would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Mike, We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff try hard to make Global a comfortable and social place to stay by holding events during the week that help the guests get to know each other. We are always looking at ways to improve so we would like to thank you for you feedback....

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

The staff were rude and unhelpful. We arrived very early and were extremely tired and no effort was made to see if our room was ready. We were able to store our stuff. The room was clean but very basic literally a bed. The bathrooms were fine. It was extremely noisy all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Sarah We are sorry if you did not feel that our staff were helpful upon your arrival. Our check out time is 10am standard and the rooms are not cleaned until this time. Our booking system allows us to see if the rooms are available for immediate check in or need to be remade and cleaned. If they have...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

I`m glad we only had book one night here. The hostel has speakers in the corriders that play loud dance music. Very unpleasant when you get off a flight and want an early night. They do turn it off at 10, however, it is a party hostel and music is replaced by loud drunk people that keep you a wake....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heidi O
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Heidi, We are sorry that the music was too loud for your comfort during your stay, it is played in the hostel between 9am and 10pm, however, we are able to turn the music down in the corridors if that is requested earlier. We are generally a party hostel, the majoirty of our guests although taking advantage of the...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Only stay here if you want to party and nothing else. The staff on reception were rude when we booked. The place is so so loud, all the noise echoes throughout the whole building and there are just huge groups of lads getting smashed which made me and my girlfriend feel quite uncomfortable. The room had no window, just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterMags
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I stayed in Global Central for 5 nights, it was booked by Happy Travels. First of all, the staff is very unfriendly and not qualified. Nobody told us anything about the hostel, we had to find everything by ourselves. Then the room. We shared a 3 bed door with my friends. The room had now window, and no air-conditioning, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula K
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Paula, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff are trained to provide guests with any information they may need on their initial arrival and it is also included in a hand out booklet given to all guests who may be checking in. Our reception are happy to answer any further...

Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Helpfull people at the reception. Entrance is different then any other hostel I've seen so far. You have the reception downstairs and with a key you open a door to go to the hostel upstairs. Nice place, clean. Not much to do in the hostel. Common area is not really big, possibility to sit outside. Great location, close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isalinde94
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We really appreciate you taking time to let us know about your stay with us. Our reception work hard to make our guests feel welcome and are happy to answer any questions about the hostel or local area. In the common area and balcony we have activities on various nights of the week - just check with reception...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.3 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.3 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#53 of 88 in Cairns
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#35 of 88 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.2 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
87 reviews
0.4 km away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#23 of 88 in Cairns
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,680 - ₹ 2,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a window”
 of 5 bubbles newi94, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles sc0326, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for a 3/4 bed dorm, all single beds”
 of 5 bubbles Razzie87, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't take a room here”
 of 5 bubbles tomac68, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“female only dorms available, they also have mixed, and you can pay a bit more to have a private room, double or twin. $7 meal deal with drink at PJ's is great value, top spot too”
 of 5 bubbles BuddhistNYC, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5