We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Global Backpackers Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Start your review of Global Backpackers Central
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hostel is in amazing location in the centre of Cairns, staff are all really friendly and so helpful, they are always up for a chat! Hostel has air conditioning in the rooms and charge for WiFi but the WiFi is really decent! In my room there were NO bunks, it was all single beds and it wasn't much of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sianstravels2016
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Sian Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your stay with us at Global Central. We're extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all the crew. Please be sure and come visit us again if you ever come back to Cairns. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in this place twice and mostly because it's very cheap and in a good location. They have weekly rates as well (at least had when I stayed there). This is a big hostel with a lot of rooms and young backpackers so if you're more into a quiet chilled out sort of places this place might not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimasu S
GlobalCrew, Front Office Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Mindy, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Global Central. I was a little confused to begin with as so many of the points you made were correct once upon a time but have been improved on over the last few months. As the review was written so recently I couldn't work out why and...

Winchester
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in a few different hostels in Cairns and this is by far the best stayed here for over a week. Rooms are so clean and bright and tidy, bathrooms and showers are perfect and good cooking and outdoor areas. So central and perfect

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynl1993
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn Many thanks for your great review. We have been working hard over the last few months to improve all areas of Global Central. Its always great to read that people appreciate it. I will be sure to pass on you kind words to all the crew. Hoping that you enjoy the rest of you travel in Australia

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 4 weeks during which time I noticed a lot of improvements to the rooms and hostel. I noticed that the bathrooms got paper towel dispensers, and a deep scrub in the showers, more kitchen plates, knifes, bowls and cups were added. At one point I saw a stack of old mattresses being removed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skylar S
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi There Skylar. Many thanks for the great review. Very pleased that you were around to see all our recent improvements taking place. Be sure to come visit us again.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Great overall stay, good staff, good location (five minutes to the lagoon), nice rooms and bathrooms. Aircon in the rooms. Comfortable beds. Room had two skylight windows and no curtains so was light very early in the morning. Big kitchen, nice dining and lounge area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara P
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Cara P. Thank you for taking time to review Global Central. We have recently re-decorated a lots of our rooms and replaced a lot of the mattresses. Very pleased you were able to take advantage. Please come bac k and see us if you ever return to Cairns.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a four shared with three friends. We arrived at 10 am hoping to store our luggage to do g our room was available to check in to (very unusual at a hostel!). The room was as expected.. one bed was very noisy and none were pillow-top comfortable but everything was clean and well kept. The housekeeper who runs everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather M
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Heather, Thanks for your review. I am a firm believer that if someone has just come off a long flight or bus journey that they should be made comfortable as quickly as possible. If we have space then we will always try and accommodate our new guests as soon as they arrive regardless of the time. Very happy that...

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Pay 3 stay 4. If your a backpacker and trying to save stay here staff are amazing and the rooms are new with aircon :) staff are very friendly and have also worked for accommodation here 2 hours a day was nothing! I highly recommend this hostel!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samuel D
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Sam Many thanks for your review. Always great to hear that even the WFA's had a great time. Be great to see you again one day.

Germany
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice stay in cairns. Very cheap as well! Go there if you want to live good and cheap. Very happy with everything. Only thing is that the laundry was not washing properly but I told the reception and they gave me my money back ! Staff is definitely making your stay ! The girl on the travel desk is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sjadil
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there Sjadil Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at Global Central. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to all our staff. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time in Oz, please come back and visit us again if you return to Cairns as you are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed here in July. We walked through a mall, then trough a large door. When we walked through the corridor, it was dim and looked literarily like death row! In our room my bed was dire, it had one leg missing, slats were missing and had blood stains on the mattress! The showers were dirty so was the floor. My...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank alex17242
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there Alex, many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us recently. We're sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay however I do have a few unanswered questions. Have you ever been on death row? Personally I have never been however I would wager serious money on the fact that it does...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 6 days. Our food got stolen THREE TIMES. I do understand that this is part of staying in a hostel, but at least they should fix the camera in the kitchen because you can not take food into your room but if you leave it in the fridge next morning is all gone (it never happened to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank saritaaamr

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.3 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#53 of 88 in Cairns
38 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#36 of 88 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.2 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
88 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Caravella Central
#63 of 88 in Cairns
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,140 - ₹ 2,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a window”
 of 5 bubbles newi94, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles sc0326, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for a 3/4 bed dorm, all single beds”
 of 5 bubbles Razzie87, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't take a room here”
 of 5 bubbles tomac68, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“female only dorms available, they also have mixed, and you can pay a bit more to have a private room, double or twin. $7 meal deal with drink at PJ's is great value, top spot too”
 of 5 bubbles BuddhistNYC, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5