We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Global Backpackers Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Winchester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed in a few different hostels in Cairns and this is by far the best stayed here for over a week. Rooms are so clean and bright and tidy, bathrooms and showers are perfect and good cooking and outdoor areas. So central and perfect

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynl1993
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 4 weeks during which time I noticed a lot of improvements to the rooms and hostel. I noticed that the bathrooms got paper towel dispensers, and a deep scrub in the showers, more kitchen plates, knifes, bowls and cups were added. At one point I saw a stack of old mattresses being removed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skylar S
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great overall stay, good staff, good location (five minutes to the lagoon), nice rooms and bathrooms. Aircon in the rooms. Comfortable beds. Room had two skylight windows and no curtains so was light very early in the morning. Big kitchen, nice dining and lounge area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara P
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a four shared with three friends. We arrived at 10 am hoping to store our luggage to do g our room was available to check in to (very unusual at a hostel!). The room was as expected.. one bed was very noisy and none were pillow-top comfortable but everything was clean and well kept. The housekeeper who runs everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather M
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Pay 3 stay 4. If your a backpacker and trying to save stay here staff are amazing and the rooms are new with aircon :) staff are very friendly and have also worked for accommodation here 2 hours a day was nothing! I highly recommend this hostel!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samuel D
Germany
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice stay in cairns. Very cheap as well! Go there if you want to live good and cheap. Very happy with everything. Only thing is that the laundry was not washing properly but I told the reception and they gave me my money back ! Staff is definitely making your stay ! The girl on the travel desk is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sjadil
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there Sjadil Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at Global Central. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to all our staff. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time in Oz, please come back and visit us again if you return to Cairns as you are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed here in July. We walked through a mall, then trough a large door. When we walked through the corridor, it was dim and looked literarily like death row! In our room my bed was dire, it had one leg missing, slats were missing and had blood stains on the mattress! The showers were dirty so was the floor. My...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alex17242
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there Alex, many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us recently. We're sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay however I do have a few unanswered questions. Have you ever been on death row? Personally I have never been however I would wager serious money on the fact that it does...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 6 days. Our food got stolen THREE TIMES. I do understand that this is part of staying in a hostel, but at least they should fix the camera in the kitchen because you can not take food into your room but if you leave it in the fridge next morning is all gone (it never happened to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saritaaamr
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The facility itself is actually a lot better than Waterfront. It is open and airy and overall much more comfortable. I stayed in two different rooms and both were good as far as space goes; however, they could have been cleaner. Global's idea of daily room cleaning consists of changing the trash and nothing more. No sweeping or dusting or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Stayed here for a week whilst travelling around Australia. This is one of the better ones and one of our more pleasant stays. Clean kitchen, bathroom and bedroom, very spacious, not too much noise. Great location and would consider staying here if I was to return to Cairns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Rob B Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Global Central, we have been working hard to improve our product over the last few months and it's always extremely pleasing to see that our efforts have been noticed. Hoping that you enjoy the rest of your travel, please be sure to come and visit us again...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.2 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#36 of 88 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.2 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.2 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.4 km away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#24 of 88 in Cairns
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,229 - ₹ 2,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a window”
 of 5 bubbles newi94, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles sc0326, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for a 3/4 bed dorm, all single beds”
 of 5 bubbles Razzie87, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't take a room here”
 of 5 bubbles tomac68, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“female only dorms available, they also have mixed, and you can pay a bit more to have a private room, double or twin. $7 meal deal with drink at PJ's is great value, top spot too”
 of 5 bubbles BuddhistNYC, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay