We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bohemia Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bohemia Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Bohemia Central
 Click to rate
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The price is super cheap so obviously the facilities aren't 5 star however it does have one of the best kitchens I have ever found at a hostel and as someone who wants to cook to keep costs down this was very important to me. Amazing staff who genuinely want to make sure...

Thank vicarious-media
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here just over a month during July 2016, loved my stay and met lots of people through staying here, staff were very friendly and overall a lovely hostel! Thanks again. Great facilities including a swimming pool out the back with a great size kitchen Aswell, would recommend

Thank Mike S
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Staff very friendly and helpful and sorted a change in rooms. No water in ladies shower, had to find alternative. Free WiFi was a definitely bonus and a central location was good, minutes walk from restaurants and bar. Cheap and mostly cheerful.

Thank Isabella P
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen...

1Thank Petal89
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything. No noisy at all, quite clean. There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea.. I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows. The mattresses are comfortable. The...

Thank Serena C
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some...

Thank Scott H
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Oh Scott!! I remember you :) Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D You are very nice man. We will always do our best. Have a good one. :)))))))

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It was a great time. Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR. Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party. Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean. Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat. All of staff are...

1Thank kkalkkal
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Hi there~ Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party. i wish we meet again. Enjoy your travel. Cheers ^^

Reviewed 15 February 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I...

1Thank BeaStings
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you! Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception. With some renovations, a paint job and...

3Thank WanderingCara
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to...

3Thank donegaljo

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (14)
Dining (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 km away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.3 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
331 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Caravella Central
#63 of 85 in Cairns
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.3 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#38 of 85 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,232 - ₹ 3,501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bohemia Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“they are all the same unless u want a private room go for it”
SHARWEXFORD, 8 Feb 2012 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy”
pretty_mistake, 30 Aug 2011 | Read review
2 of 2