We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I arrived here from Bali and everything was pretty good! I got a free airport trasport, the staff was nice and the rooms were clean. The free pancaces in the mornings were pretty good as well. I stayed here for two weeks and could stay in the same room the ehole time wich was pretty awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helena F
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

The staff is super friendly and helpful. I stayed with my mom (ages 20 & 50) and we got a private double room. It's really small but it came with towels which was nice. I've stayed at YHAs before and they are very backpacker-partyish but this one seemed more chill which was a nice refresher. There are a ton of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydney R
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a twin room, which when we first arrived felt quite bland, but it was comfortable and had everything in we needed. Hairdryers and towels can be got from reception for a deposit. The room was right next to the pool and courtyard so at times could be quite noisy, but nothing you wouldn't expect at a hostel. Whilst we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurenhanah92
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a four bed female dorm with ensuite shower. The room was small but big enough. The kitchen was massive. It is located opposite a huge mall and a about 10mins walk to the beach and lagoon. I heard that the whitsundays were getting booked up. So I went to the staff at the reception and they helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

In front of the central station and the groceries store. Perfect localisation. Further from the water esplanade path way, but in front of everything else! Nice shared space good to meet people. Wifi only in lobby, but helps you meet people too! Great staff the help you book your next trip perfectly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Michèle L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights, great location, about a ten minute walk to lagoon, but right opposite Cairns Central shopping centre with a food court and Coles. The staff were super friendly and helpful, it was really clean and plenty of room for everyone. Pool common area and kitchen all really nice. Would go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1leahs97
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Good organisation, clean enough and nice kitchen, swimming pool and areas. The staff of reception is so into selling tours and tourism packs, maybe too much. The products that they sell is overpriced and for example, they tells us that the only way to go to Kuranda was by some tours that cost a lot of money but we discover...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guille B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Stayed at YHA due to a recommendation from a friend that they do good pancakes. You get two pancakes per person if you wish! I arrived early and was provided with the wifi password whilst I waited. The free wifi only works in the communal areas, it is extra to have wifi in the room. Stayed here whilst travelling with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Good location opposite Cairns Central shopping centre (train and bus station is behind it) and only a few blocks' walk to the Esplanade. Not the biggest hostel, it has a new section plus an older section that's planned around a courtyard area with pool, spa, tables etc. The twin / double rooms tend to be in the older section and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy12343
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Pretty unimpressed with this hostel - noise at 1am was unacceptable. Pool dirty and I believe the managers there really need to get there act together. I will not be going back and forget yha as a brand - 1am guys come on ! Complete sham. Disgusted

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dennismiller1956
YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Dennis, Thank you for choosing to stay at Cairns Central YHA. We are sincerely disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with our product and I can assure you that this is not reflective of the usual standard of service we provide. I have met with our Night Supervisors to reiterate the importance of ensuring our noise policy...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#39 of 65 in Cairns
39 reviews
0.3 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.4 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#22 of 89 in Cairns
207 reviews
1.1 km away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 89 in Cairns
462 reviews
0.1 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cairns Central YHA, winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers, is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA travel and tour desk at the hostel reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,363 - ₹ 3,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travel an overnight tour at Cape Tribulation from here and ask to be dropped in Port Douglas on your way back.”
 of 5 bubbles DjGabriro, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“En suite rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles Glendavid23, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a back room off the main street and a shared bathroom split if you can get it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ryanpersad, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't go for standard double (like a prison cell)”
 of 5 bubbles AndyandSuexx, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Request a room not on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolalouise88, 20 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5