We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaways Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castaways Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaways Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This was a very nice, family/locally owned hostel. It was very reasonably priced and provided all the basic amenities a hostel should for a good price. It is about a 15 minute walk from downtown, however, they offer shuttle service around to the entire city. Very down to earth staff and guests, and everyone was kind and wanted to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conorquarry
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Castaways Backpackers has been nothing short of Astounding, Facilities are Great the Kitchen is equipped, activities are often happening and the Staff are Helpful the Owner Wayne has worked a lot on the Hostel and you can tell. Kenny and Morgan Cook a delicious $10 BBQ on Sunday and are always Helpful where they can be, also ask Kenny about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackRuby2016
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Great hostel in Cairns. Not in the centre but they do offer a shuttle service and it's not too far. Just a 20 min walk. Great variety of stuff to keep you occupied if not going out. Nintendo Wii and Playstation 4, movie room with Netflix, pool table, free slushies, pool. Also shout out to Kenny for being a top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmP22
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 14 October 2016

As hostels go this is a good one. The rooms are clean with fresh sheets and quilts, and no bad smells. I had a single room with ensuite bathroom. The room, which actually had a double and a single bed, had a fridge and a TV, and shelves to put your stuff, which I haven't seen in other hostels I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SZDenmark
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Cairns! It's without a doubt the best hostel we have ever stayed in. Rooms are spacious (no bunk beds) and have air con and a fridge. The staff are very kind, friendly and always doing their best to help with anything they can! We have tried to leave this hostel numerous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanislava D
Rostock, Germany
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I can only recommend this hostel to anybody who likes to stay in Cairns for a while. In general the facilities and rooms are good and the price is pretty good. It´s a little bit out of town and has a more relaxed atmosphere than other hostels I stayed in. But the service made it extraordinary. Kenny and the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxpos92
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We went to Cairns to pay a visit to the Great Barrier Reef and Cape Tribulation in our trip along the East Coast. I booked this hostel based in the decent reviews in Trip Advisor, but it was a big mistake. Our double room was in front of the patio and every night some staff members and guests were drinking...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank david a
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Terrible experience the staff didn't really know what they were doing. People were sleeping in the tv area because they couldn't afford rooms and the staff let them... the filth in the rooms were unneceptable the sink was always full with food and plates. I have stayed in many hostels around australia and this has the worst atmosphere by far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tommyc1990
CastawaysBP, Owner at Castaways Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Toni, Im not sure why you would assume that people are sleeping in the cinema room because they cant afford a room, There is no way we would let this happen. Sometimes people do fall asleep while watching movies as the cinema room is very comfortable and relaxing. Im sorry you didn't enjoy our friendly and relaxing atmosphere by...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I was staying with Castaways for 3 months. The Hostel itself is big, big kitchen and several common areas. BBQs on Thursday night were always amazing! The staff is super helpful and friendly and will help you out in any Problem. Especially I want to mention Kenny, Kieran, Jenny and Liv, they keep the place running! I would recommend it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurassternchen123
Nancy, France
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I think this hostel probably is best for longer term stays (it notably has space to park camper vans) I however was only there for four nights and didn't enjoy it so much. Indeed while it is nice enough (clean, and friendly staff) it is too far away from the city center (20 mins walk) to be only nice. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marouxna

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
555 reviews
1.3 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.8 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.3 km away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.2 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,357 - ₹ 3,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Hong Kong, China
Sydney, Australia
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had en suite double room with double bed and single bed, great for families”
shelleyblackstein, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms vary in size :)”
JackRuby2016, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Awesome environment”
adriennem196, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“not right next to the kitchen just in case there are early risers”
Syd_T-K, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“choose rooms that are located in the 2nd floor which may have better ventilation”
FionaCheng, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5