We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

They dont allow any people in accept guests and they are rude about it! I would not recomend to stay here what so ever! Unless youre looking for a bad time. And the hostel it self is very old and not fun.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alon T
Asylum C, Manager at Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Alon, We don't have any record of someone of your username staying here, but I can still provide an explanation for our rules. We can have sometimes more than 100 people staying in our hostel, and charge cheap rates for our rooms - we can't afford to cater to people who aren't paying for it. We try to serve...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I visited Asylum with my travel partner as he stayed for three weeks earlier this year and suggested we stay together. It was great that a shuttle bus picked us up from the hostel for free, arranged by the hostel. We stayed three nights. It was great value for the price of accommodation! It was pretty simple, but for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
Poitiers, France
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This place is ideal if you want to save a buck and party. The rooms were cheap but it seemed like half the place was falling apart. All the staff seemed to car about was getting drunk and partying. If that's what you want, its the place for you! For someone who wants a peaceful night to rest after traveling,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benw9898
Asylum C, Manager at Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Ben We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Asylum. Although we do explicitly market ourselves as a "party hostel," we do have rules in place to maintain control and relative order. We will agree with you however, that if you get upset at abnormal antics that a license to party brings, then this place is most definitely...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

This was on of the smaller hostels we stayed in. It's older and quite run down in places but it was clean (kitchen wasn't always very clean... but they were short staffed when we were there). VERY affordable! Very laid back environment. Lots of movies to watch, weekly bbq's and A fun charity driven pub crawl. The staff made the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoDoThings
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 31 July 2015

the room was cheap and ok, but as a hostel should be have airport shuttle bus booking service, even you can't booking for the guest, at lease should make a phone call for us. and after check out, if you need luggage storage, they will charge you $5!!!!! what? we need leave the luggage in here just for a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mosslee
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2015

i came with a friend to stay at asylum for a week(ish). the staff were so helpful, friendly, got to know everyone's name- which i thought made it way more personal. our rooms were comfy, simple (dont expect luxury at hostels haha) and the kitchen was decent. they put in new gas stove burners whilst we were there, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilynewbery
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

The asylum is a really unique and affordable hostel located in central cairns, everything is easy accessible, the staff is super friendly and helpful, they always have something going on, like the pants down party,BBQ, movie nights etc!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustreloaded
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

This amazing backpacker hostel is a must if you travel the east coast solo, the place is basically designed for you to meet new cool people, who most likely loves the goon, gooning and gooners!! The place is awesome if you don't feel like spending a fortune on your accomodation or staying where you can't drink your own alcohol Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kossanmoo
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

So, I went to stay for four nights at the asylum, thus far Ive been here fot about 11 weeks and no plans of leaving the place... I dont know if its for the pink room Im in, if its for the booze fridge or the thursday pants down partys.. maybe its just the awesome staff like Jens and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linn185
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Good bunch of people and fun staff too! Really everyone should go here when in Cairns and see if you can get more messed up than me. Just left and I have a tattoo of a dingo on my behind and orange hair. Loving life #winning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DingodollarsimonItaliaander

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.6 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 km away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.2 km away
Njoy! Travellers Resort
Njoy! Travellers Resort
#12 of 88 in Cairns
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#6 of 88 in Cairns
450 reviews
0.9 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#37 of 88 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.8 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 818 - ₹ 2,797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5 bed dorms are best value”
 of 5 bubbles JuicyLucy2208, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“single rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RoadRacer711, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“aircon rooms # 2 or 21”
 of 5 bubbles jckrijn87, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“rooms behind the kitchen are quieter close to the esplanade and CBD can book tours with the reception”
 of 5 bubbles emilynewbery, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“away from the front”
 of 5 bubbles tomhL4586XR, 27 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay