We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 337: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Was here roughly two weeks due to tour dates. Not the worst hostel for a quick visit. But unless you enjoy a drink every night and not a chilled one with a dvd in the 'social area' then this isnt for you. But overall very nice to meet people!! Music off at 12 which is okay, pool isnt great, rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollieob123
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoyed our great facilities and free activities we offer during day and night time, like rain forest walk and city tour, ping pong and volleyball tournament and soon also water activities in our great pool area ( we think it's great) At night time we have...

Kungsbacka, Sweden
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

My partner and I spent a whole week on this hostel. We didn't get a great start since we arrived early in the morning (5 am) and we were promised to get the room key at 7 am. When we asked the receptionist for the room key she told us that the check in weren't until 1 pm. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loottab
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we can assure you that our kitchen, bathroom as well as all other communal areas are getting cleaned by us numerous times a day and the ventilation system is something we are definitely getting fixed. Our bar closes at midnight and then our bus...

Slagelse, Denmark
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Cairns is an expensive city to find a hotel bed in, so we chose to book a room with a private bathroom at Nomads. When entering the reception, the establishment has a nice cool/vibrant/international atmosphere. Unfortunately this atmosphere isn't kept in the design of the room, which most of all felt like an 'upscale prison'. Steel frame beds, bare concrete...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lennart G
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are sorry to hear that you had noise problems. As the reception closes at midnight, we have a bus driver/night warden who's routine property walks are to help keep the noise to a minimal. However, once in a while a few of our backpackers have one too many...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Rooms extremely basic (private double was like a prison cell, just a bed) and no curtain on the window. We asked for this to be fixed but were told that no rooms had curtains (after speaking to other guests we found out this wasn't true). Reception staff were useless! Whole place very noisy, bring earplugs if you want to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rhiannonruth
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Each room indeed has curtains and I apologise that you had to do without. We are looking into putting on extra shuttle runs to accommodate our guests needs. We usually always have 2 staff members on at reception (one of them in...

Balmoral, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

The communal areas in itself are fine, the room is very basic with no extra's but that's to expect for the price (cheap) so that's fine. The thing that really really bothered me was that the whole place is very noisy. Which is because the walls are very thin, the stairwell has a great acoustic and there is a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeuw605
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We only have 1 bar that shuts at midnight and then our shuttle service takes all our guests into town and brings them back to the hostel until 3am which does include noise at times due to people not realising their voice volume after a few drinks. We hope you enjoyed the rest...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

This was my first ever stay in a hostel and my first trip to Cairns and Australia. We arrived on a Saturday a quick call to the hostel and we were picked up for free which I thought was good until I realised how close we were to the airport. Not even five minutes! Check in was easy and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyt27
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we appreciate all feedback be it good or bad. Knowing how forgetful backpackers can be after a crazy night out, all air-conditioning is now controlled by reception in an attempt to reduce our carbon footprint. However, a quick request as you walk past the desk or a simple phone call downstairs (if you're exhausted from your...

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Although it was a bit of a nightmare getting there and figuring out where to catch the shuttle... The staff made it completely worthwhile and took extremely good care of me upon finally checking in. The highlight was checking out in the morning to a bright smile and some fun whit from the staff member Christie. She kept me pumped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Njanson727
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that there was a bit of confusion with your pick up and getting to the hostel but we are stoked that our staff made up for the first bad impression and delivered the customer service we expect! We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Nomads Cairns...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I am aware that its only $17 per night, which is a massive selling point and you really cant expect too much for that price. But you should be able to expect the basics. There are tons of staff members but not much seems to get done. We were told we would get picked up from the greyhound stop but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - if good or bad - we want to hear your thoughts and opinions. First of all we are sorry that you had to wait that long at the Greyhound station to get picked up. We usually have 2 buses that get used when we are busy and have numerous runs/pick ups. Unfortunately we were down...

Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

The place is great, there is a restaurant inside with pretty good deals ( 3$ per meal between 5:30pm and 7:30 ). Basically there is nothing expensive. Just I rate average because of one person in the staff: a French girl. Explanation: We were waiting for the shuttle at the market ( as a shuttle is available to get downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas B
Nadine T, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that one member of staff left a sour taste for the rest of your stay. Please understand that the majority of our team are bright, polite and considered and this behaviour is not something we tolerate! No matter what nationality everyone will get treated with the same respect and customer service!...

Reviewed 15 June 2015

The bathrooms weredisgusting, the rooms were cramped, ladders on some bunks were in a weird position so close to the ceiling it was impossible to climb up. You have to pay exrtra for towels and Wifi. After paying for the wifi, it only worked in certain hallways outside the rooms and not at all in the common area. he staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Arianne H
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues with miscommunication from staff we have quite a few new staff members in training and we apologise if the wrong information was given to you. Our Internet is unfortunately not the fastest and we are looking into getting some free WiFi as well. Our...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
545 reviews
0.1 km away
Edge Apartments
Edge Apartments
#46 of 89 in Cairns
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
1.0 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 km away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Cairns backpackers resort is a 4 ½ star AAA rated budget accommodation with resort style facilities and onsite Serpent Bar, and has been designed to provide you with a great night's sleep. Located only minutes away from the Cairns Esplanade, gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, it includes everything you need to enjoy Tropical North Queensland in style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Address: 341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,571 - ₹ 3,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Serpent Cairns Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bad location decent hostel”
 of 5 bubbles loveshotels4, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book well ahead of time. Sometimes there's tour groups that book, and rooms are not always available.”
 of 5 bubbles D6546GZjohnr, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any of the 4-bed dorms were better than the rest”
 of 5 bubbles lucydriver925, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do somthing else if you want a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles alaxanderr, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't shut yourself away in your room.. go to the bar and drink..then go to whoolshed...”
 of 5 bubbles R5186UHgeorgep, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5