We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Gateway Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Reef Gateway Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reef Gateway Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

We've just spent 9 nights here and the overall experience was very good. The apartment was a good size and had all the necessary facilities including a washing machine. A bit of a walk into Cairns but not a problem and taxis are plentiful if you don't fancy the exercise or it's too hot! Bob the manager was very helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peterhampton
Cambridge, UK
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Such a shame. As part of a 22 night holiday in Australia we decided book a one night stop at Reef Gateway Apartments. I did the research and then saw the add on Booking.com for these apartments. "Renovated apartments" I cannot fault the courtesy of the gentleman who let me know where the key would be left due to our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Skibumski
Reviewed 17 December 2014

The appartment was nice, clean and spacious, everything was working well and in the kitchen I found really anything I needed. Although the apparment could need a wallpainting and the change of some lamps, I found it very comfortable. The house is a little far from the CityCenter, but the buses are stopping right in front of it, so this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ursula S
Maroochydore, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Cairns to surprise my mom. I needed a unit that had two rooms and was close to our reef tour departure. The price seemed good so I went with Reef Gateway Apartments. Upon arrival, we found ourselves without transportation to our accommodation so we called RGA and spoke with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank X1011XVsandy
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Great self-contained apartments, very clean and the room had everything we needed to start our holiday. The pool area was fantastic with comfortable seating and even a BBQ with everything that you could need to cook a meal. Bob was very kind to allow us a later checkout time as our flight was changed to a later time. He also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbie957
Sydney
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Great self-contained apartments right near the hospital and north end of the esplanade. Perfect for families with kids with full-sized kitchen and pool area. The esplanade and Muddies playground is close by so there was no reason for anyone to be bored. Even though it's not right in the heart of town there are still restaurants close by and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelKuhl
melbourne
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Well I thought I researched well but I wish I stayed elsewhere. We booked a superior room and was pretty disappointed with the room I got, even more so when I saw my friends room which was fully renovated. Now looking at their website it's obvious to me (too late) that we got a standard room but paid for superior....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pixa
Russ E, Owner at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Pixa, As the new owner of the Reef Gateway Apartments (since late October) I would like to assure you that nothing like your experience will ever happen again. The fact that you paid for for a superior unit but got a standard unit was bad enough, but the way you were treated on checking out was very poor. Happy...

Brisbane Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Wanted to find a 2 bedroom apartment at a reasonable rate for a 3 night stay. Rang the Reef Gateway and after speaking to Russ I was sure I had selected the right place. Arrived early and was able to check in as our room was ready. The apartment was great had everything you needed and was clean and spacious....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janelle_9
North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2014

stayed 4 nights, Very uncomfortable plastic chairs in area by television, more comfortable to watch tv laying on tiled floor. We stayed out as much as possible, difficult as both of us unwell, We choose appartments as often more comfort than hotel room. We also thought it was poor value for money compared with other cheaper but MUCH nicer places...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fredsoztour
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Better than expected. Neat and clean and very reasonable price. Enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Outdoor swimming pool and barerque area is very clean and well maintained. Overall the outside area was well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anil S

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 km away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.4 km away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.7 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#23 of 65 in Cairns
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#41 of 65 in Cairns
106 reviews
0.6 km away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.7 km away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 5,369 - ₹ 9,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Gateway Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Dorchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Gateway Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't accept unit 9”
 of 5 bubbles oldtony77, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked very quiet and private. No problems with parking”
 of 5 bubbles 6carold, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“pool room.”
 of 5 bubbles pamelag4, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Renovated room by poolside”
 of 5 bubbles stevepZ757XR, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Bottom floor rooms have patios”
 of 5 bubbles SarahS958, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5