We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Orbitz.comUS$ 106*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Plaza Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Main reception and lobby was nice. Front desk staff were polite and accommodating. Cleaning staff also went out of trier way to say hello. Room was spacious and ok condition, probably in need of an update - but nothing to complain about. The wifi was ridiculously slow, normally not a huge issue, but as I was on business, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Matt-Rogaloff Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am glad the staff helped you feel welcome and I will be sure to pass on to both Front of House and Housekeeping. In regards to the Wifi we are currently investigating the speed issues as this has been brought to my attention this week. We should have...

Reviewed 7 September 2015

The hotel is in the middle of the city which is great for getting around in town. The pool area and bar are really nice too. Reception staff were very helpful. The problem with the room we had was that it was 4 floors above the bar area, which had a DJ playing Friday, Saturday and Sunday afternoons/nights. It truly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carla_Rachel
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Carla_Rachel Thank you for your review from your recent stay and the great feedback on the staff and facilities. I do apologise that you found the bathrooms dated. This is something that is currently being looked into as we speak aswell as a full repaint and soft refurb of our hotel rooms. We believe these small touches will help...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

There was dust everywhere, elevators, mini bar food, curtains where falling apart, ceiling paint peeling, we paid $199 for a room half the size of my sister who was next door and paid $179, wouldn't mind except for the price difference. We also checked in online only to turn up and spend 15 minutes checking in again. My brother also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Toni H
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Toni H My sincerest apologies you found your stay to be less than satisfactory and I apologise as your online review has not reached us as yet. I would love the oppurunity to discuss your stay further to ensure any issues encountered do not reoccur. You can contact me on joel_day@rydges.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Joel...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I have a rule when travelling - never eat where you sleep. Makes you get out and explore. Should have listened to my own advice - but as I was travelling with work colleagues acquiesced and breakfasted in the hotel. It was expensive and terrible. Burnt bacon, dry powdery eggs, soggy hash browns, ordinary sausages - there wasn't one thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Buck71
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Buck71 Thank you for your review. The beauty of open forums such as trip advisor is that we receive feedback direct from our guests which help us improve the product and services we offer. Rest assured your experiences will help shape a much better service delivery for Rydges Plaza Cairns. I look forward to the oppurtunity of delivering these...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Our room was full of ants. When we asked about it, we were told there was nothing they could do, apart from spray our room. This still didn't help and we stayed with the ants for 1 week. Its really bad to have a baby in that environment. Also our floor had a terrible damp smell in the corridor. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matias_I_M
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Matias_I_M Thank you for your review from your recent stay and I apologise for the issues you experienced. The ants you encountered were infact sugar ants which are unfortunately a common resident of most homes in far north queensland. These ants are attracted when food or as their name suggests, sugary items are left out. Due to high demand...

Waiouru, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I stayed here about a month ago and was shocked at how mouldy the rooms smelt and cold and damp the furniture felt even paper became damp. I had paint bulging in the ceiling the size of a bread plate in what was meant to have been an upgrade in my room. The aircon seriously needs an overall or individual...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzanne c
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Suzanne C Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am saddened to here of the issues you experienced during your short time with us and that you decided to relocate. I would have liked the oppurtunity to have turned this situation around while you were still here. I would still like to discuss your concerns in...

Reviewed 20 August 2015

I stayed on 7th floor, the room and floor smelt mouldy and damp. The room was ok, the bathroom needed better cleaning on the tiles and long black hair all on the floor, I have short blonde. The digital clock didn't work and the tv picture was very ordinary and all the language on the screen was Chinese. Overall not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah B
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Leah B Thank you for your honest feedback and I apolgise you did not find your stay as comfortable as it could have been. We are focused on improving our product and I am currently rolling out a soft refresh of all rooms to lift them back up to a more consistant standard. I will also share your feedback...

Lennox Head, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I read the mixed reviews about this hotel however there were a lot of us that were going to be staying here for a reunion. Yes the bathrooms are dated but the water was hot and the complimentary products were first class (sanctum products) although there was no shower cap. The vanity area is also a generous size to allow...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nthcoastjude
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Nthcoastjude Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the reunion. The rooms are dated however we are rolling out a refresh program which should help lift them back up. Im glad you were able to utilise Lilo however it is open 7 days. We hope you do stay again as we'd love to have you back....

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My stay of 3 nights was average....room was ok but tired needs refurbishment / paint work. Bedding / style were suitable.....found bed too soft, being solo I kept rolling to one side...mattress to be rotated / turned over regularly. Bathroom clean however requires a makeover too. Joined Priority Guest Rewards, had to ask for welcome drink voucher.....breakfast was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosaria M
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Rosaria M Thank you for your review. While your feedback was fairly positve we want it to be fantastic so I will be using it to help improve key service areas. Rydges Plaza Cairns is an older establishment however we are in the process of refreshing our rooms to make them more comfortable. I will also have maintenance take...

Gatton, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 single nights over a 2 week period with the most recent being the night of the 8th August 2015. I was most impressed with the pre check in option offered, giving an opportunity to upgrade your room or add things like welcome beers. This proved to be efficient and hassle free....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scubaguy68
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi scubaguy68 Thank you for your review and your continued support. I have spoken with the team regarding the service delivered, while overall good there are always areas we can improve. I will also be sure to let Kivi know she helped make your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Joel Day...

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 64 in Cairns
525 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
436 reviews
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.1 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#43 of 64 in Cairns
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 6,428 - ₹ 9,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was looking south and room view was good and entertaining.”
246PeterV, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away till they do a serious refurbishment”
MaxA84, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the room before you unpack”
  • Black stuff on the ceiling - more prominent around the A/C vent
amits727, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Level 10 had a nice view.”
12stefaniem, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
wildbrumby58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 106* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 106
HotelQuicklyUS$ 125
TravelocityUS$ 106
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates