We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 423: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Plaza Cairns
 Click to rate
Canberra
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for work. Location is nice and central, but not a fan of the rooms. My room was very large, but it was in need of some serious work. The cabinetry in both the room and bathroom was warped and chipped. All the furniture was out of date, and some of the furniture was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelRae
Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitely wasn't the worst place I have ever stayed, but considering how much it was for a night, I wouldn't stay here again. Rooms were dated and my shower head was broken... however, location is very central. Restaurant in hotel was great! Staff were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie M
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Stefanie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a 4 star hotel nor do I know how it received an 8.2 rating on Booking.com because it was old, smelly, overpriced and unkempt. It was very obvious that walls and doors had been painted with water damage not repaired, along with industrial blowers in the halls drying old and dirty carpet. There were cockroaches running up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pros - Fast check in and out, great staff. Free and excellent wifi Very good, plus central to Cairns CBD so in easy waslking distance of esplanade, night markets, restaurants etc Cons- old room needing a facelift / towel rail coming off wall / tv cabinet also loose / not overly clean with mould in bathroom / carpets not clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Dean, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Mount Isa, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable beds and the rooms were clean and tidy. However, the bathroom was very dated and needed some maintenance as it was a little rundown. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Doug Thanks for the feedback from you recent stay. We hope to see you again very soon Joel Day General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

$265 for two nights, for this quality of hotel? We're fools for paying it, don't be one yourself! This place needs to improve massively and has me double thinking ever booking a Rydges room anywhere in the world again. The building is old and run down, the front lobby looks just as bad as the half lit sign on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrentReid
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear TrentReid, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We were given a very enthusiastic and happy welcome when we arrived unannounced at this hotel; and this continued every time we passed Reception on our way out. Lovely. The reception staff were both - we only met two - very friendly and happy and willing to go that extra bit to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildbrumby58
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Wildbrumby58 Thank you for the Great review and I am glad you enjoyed your break from Toowoomba. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to Yuki and the girls in reception. Whenever you next need a break make sure you come and see us again. Joel Day General Manager

Gosford
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights in a king room. Room was nice & big enough. Beds were comfortable & bathrooms clean. Excellent location with easy walk to heart of Cairns. Breakfast opens at 630am & we were there for open however everything except baked beans was cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Alison Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay. Great to hear you found our location convenient and you enjoyed the facilities. Thank you for bringing the food temperature issue to my attention. I have raised this with my Head chef for follow up. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Joel Day General Manager

Reviewed 18 December 2016

The base of 2 drawers are falling apart. The panel supporting the television is falling apart. The light panel bathroom is falling apart too. Definately need a refurbishment. Other than the mentioned, the room and the toilet is clean. It is very close to the shops and walking distance to the Esplanade. However due to its location, if you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvoone T
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Yvoone Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. While you did encounter some issues it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the rooms, we are in the process of refreshing them and hope to have this complete in the new year. We hope to see you again very soon Joel Day General...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Stayed at this hotel for one night for work. On entering room the noise from the air conditioning was unbearable, the credenza door would not close, the light panel in the bathroom was falling out and the colour of my socks was brown due to the ingrained dirt in the carpet. I went to reception to see if I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BindH
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear BindH Thank you for the feedback form your recent stay. While I wish the initial arrival had been more pleasant I am glad the team were able to move you to a more comfortable room. As you stated we are in the process of soft refurb and this will address the issues you have raised. I hope we get...

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 66 in Cairns
510 reviews
1.0 km away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 66 in Cairns
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 66 in Cairns
1,011 reviews
0.2 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 66 in Cairns
324 reviews
0.2 km away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 7,070 - ₹ 10,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Level 10 had a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles 12stefaniem, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles wildbrumby58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe the higher floors are better as mine was on the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles yv00net, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles BindH, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room above level 5 for a view”
 of 5 bubbles Jacolas, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5