We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

181 The Esplanade

PricelineUS$ 161*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 169*
US$ 161*
Great Deal
US$ 168*
US$ 168*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
181 The Esplanade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of 181 The Esplanade
 Click to rate
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel looks great online but it is very old and dirty when you get there. The worst part was the toilet hadn't been cleaned and there was still someone else's poo in it!!! It is also quite a long walk from all the restaurants on the esplanade especially on a hot cairns day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjones000
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review

I contacted trip advisor for this review. let them to prove the person who left this comments is real guest who stayed here December last year. otherwise please remove this unreal review immediately. however staff from trip advisor tell me he will not remove it until they could confirm the person is not real guest. it will take 7-9 days.

sa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely apartment , plenty of room , great kitchen. We had an apartment that had sea views from the lounge & city/hill view from the bdrm. Kids could'nt wait to get to the skate park which was a short stroll along the beach front. All with walking distance to the lagoon & markets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivadevaSa
Bright, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Our great, newly revamped large 2 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean and boardwalk was lovely and located beside the hospital. Pool was very welcome, every thing within a short walk away. Downside was lack of concern from manager when my husband and I were stuck in the lift for 1hour 20 min on our first morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank houly38
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We spent a week here as a group of four and apart from getting stuck in the lift when the motor burnt out, we all enjoyed our stay. Our apartment had a great layout for two couples, it was light and spacious. The kitchen was equipped with the basic essentials and the beds were all comfy and clean. Our apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarky249
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Spacious apartment with great view of waterfront, and 15 min walk along Esplanade to main centre. Apartment interior (i.e. bathroom) is a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment. Air con is quite noisy too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

If you can look past the dated decor... it's a good place.. stayed two nights here.. it's close to the path along the esplanade.. next door to the hospital so good for an emergency.. good size bath tub and bathroom.. massive bedroom.. great kitchen and lounge/dining area. Decent balcony and air con worked perfectly.. swam in the pool downstairs, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catlady87
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed with two kids and wife. As we entered the reception i realized air con not working worst was the room its self hot sticky and smells of asian food. They want all customers to switch off aircon when peaving room yesss in cairns temp 36 100% humidity not a good idea i really think cost cutting to the max....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sellK
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The apartments are near Cairns Hospital and you can walk to the main shopping area of Cairns, however it was to hot and humid for the 4 nights and 5 days that we stayed there so the bus was better to catch and a few times a taxi. The apartment was a good size and good views of the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Edplanade 181 is well locsted with a wonderfull view and balcony but the inventory was too bad. There were to less plates and Glasses and we was only 3 people. The dining table was quite tacky from a wrong treatment and all the furniture in generale was to lausy . We stayed there 14 days and the price we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at 181 in Apartment 12. We found the cleaning staff very nice as we'd pass them on our travels. Our apartment was a great hub on the north side of town. You can get into Cairns for under $10 in a taxi or walk which we found a great way to wear our dinner off. As we'd walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mk180E

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.4 km away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#46 of 64 in Cairns
106 reviews
0.2 km away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#51 of 64 in Cairns
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#26 of 64 in Cairns
213 reviews
0.8 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
0.6 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Address: 181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 8,120 - ₹ 12,308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 181 The Esplanade staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from 181 The Esplanade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher you go the better view. Ask NOT to be put on the hospital side as you will be looking at their walls....”
  • Good size room with lovely view & big balcony.
  • View from bedroom balcony
vivadevaSa, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“NOT facing the hospital ... ocean view is a must !!!”
houly38, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is always a bonus.”
Clarky249, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms are better for seeing the views”
D5626ETjohnw, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in an apartment which is in the Tower 2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms lounge kitchen and balcony also washing machine.”
59leanneb, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 161* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 168
Hotwire.comUS$ 168
TripAdvisorUS$ 168
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates