We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
4/2/2018 5/2/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Banana Bender Backpackers

    118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    4/2/2018 5/2/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    US$ 58
    US$ 32
    SAVE US$ 26
    US$ 58
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Overview
    • Excellent30%
    • Very good41%
    • Average17%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    Wifi
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (113)
    There are newer reviews for Banana Bender Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 90 reviews

    Reviewed 29 December 2015

    We stayed with 3 guys in a 4 dorm, the room was really clean. There was no air-condition, but the weather was not too warm and the fan was good. The bathrooms where not really clean, shower was not the best, but it was good...More

    5  Thank backpackhahn
    Management response:Responded 30 December 2015

    Hi Pim, Darius and Hans, Thanks for your review. Bananas takes no pleasure in asking guests to leave - it only attracts bad reviews and is not good for our business. We are sorry you feel hard done by BUT bringing alcohol into a licensed...More

    Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

    I was there for just 2 nights. The rooms are OK, not the best I've seen, but definitely not the worst. No idea about the kitchen since I haven't used it. Just the showers are awful. Hardly any water coming out at all. All in...More

    Thank Veringtentje
    Management response:Responded 22 December 2015

    Hey, Thank you for letting us know about the shower heads. We are replacing them today. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

    Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

    Wonderful hostel, my new fave in town. Liked the atmosphere. Nice, clean rooms, better than the average hostel rooms. Cool common area. Alcohol to fair prices. Friendly staff and guests. The shower could need a new head. Never saw more ac outlets on a hostel...More

    Thank Dave D
    Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

    I can't express the rudeness of the owner! The owner went so far as to call the police because we wanted to leave early. Three young girls staying in a private room we don't expect our belongings to be snooped through or 3 miserable bottles...More

    10  Thank CharlieMC33
    Management response:Responded 17 September 2015

    Knowing people have had a bad experience at my hostel always saddens me, however, I don't believe anything could have made you three happy. You were abusive to staff, did't follow the hostel rules and clearly didn't fit the 'hostel vibe'. I hope you enjoy...More

    Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

    We spent two months living in apartment 3 located on Cricket Street (2 minutes away from the hostel main building). The apartments were basic but had all essentials you could ask for. The apartment had an ensuite bathroom, seperate bedroom and kitchen/livingroom. One of the...More

    1  Thank Steph S
    About
    Amenities
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 24 - US$ 70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Brisbane Region >
    • Brisbane
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 170 hotels in Brisbane
    Gambaro Hotel Brisbane
    667 reviews
    .17 km away
    Park Regis North Quay Hotel
    1,175 reviews
    .41 km away
    Abbey On Roma
    347 reviews
    .57 km away
    Watermark Hotel Brisbane
    475 reviews
    .58 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Black Hide Steakhouse
    573 reviews
    .19 km away
    Gambaro
    481 reviews
    .18 km away
    Scout Cafe
    88 reviews
    .20 km away
    Brewski Bar
    64 reviews
    .19 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Roma Street Parkland
    2,447 reviews
    .46 km away
    Gallery of Modern Art
    1,948 reviews
    .80 km away
    Suncorp Stadium
    1,399 reviews
    .47 km away
    Brisbane Arts Theatre
    195 reviews
    .24 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Potty1975
    12 July 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Jack P | Reviewed this property |
    Overnight parking is fine, sorry for the late reply. You can park down the street there just make sure you're facing the correct way up the one way streets when you do park because we revieved a fine for facing against the... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "I was in room 19, near reception - comfy but road noise might bother some."
    Read review
    "Rooms 10, 11 and 12 have tiled floors instead of carpets - good for summer months to keep rooms cooler."
    Read review
    "The "mens" shower on the right when you enter the hostel is by far the best one in the hostel."
    Read review
    "a 4 bed dorm , because thats where i stayed in!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing