We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banana Bender Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Banana Bender Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banana Bender Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and the guy at reception was so helpful as soon as we arrived! We had a private room with use of the communal bathrooms, it's actually a private shower room with a lock which is great for privacy! The hostel was very clean, tidy and quiet and ideally located for Roma Street. South Bank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paisley G
Kiel, Germany
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed at Banana Benders for 3 nights in a double room with a shared bathroom and toilet. All the facilities were clean and tidy. The air condition costs an extra fee and we didn't want to pay for it, so the room was very stuffy all the time, although there was a fan on the ceiling of the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mareiselust
Kiel, Germany
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We stayed in the Banana Bender Hostel for three nights and booked a private room for two persons. We had a late arrival at 11pm and the keys for our room were deposed in a safe at the reception. So we had the check-in the following morning because the reception is just occupied until 10pm in the evening. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Oliver84
Management response:

Hi Marc, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having Marike & yourself as guests and I'm glad you found the hostel clean & our staff friendly & helpful. Our small hostel does not operate a 24 hour reception. This is clearly listed on our website & all the booking sites. It is standard...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I had planned on staying in Banana Benders for two weeks but ended up living there for five months. I met the best people and had the best time. At the time, the place had a lot of long termers in it that tended to work during the week. So it wasn't a party hostel but guests were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAEGunn
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights and loved it. It is my favourite hostel to date. Staff cannot do enough for you, and always willing to help. The booking needed amending before arrival, thanks to Anthony it was sorted quickly and easy. Onsite facilities are perfect. The city is a short walk. Loads of bars, shops and restaurants are a stones throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OXD2013
Management response:

Hey OXD2013!! Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be so helpful. We do try our best!! You are right in saying how close we are to the city, shops and restaurants, especially the Thai restaurant!! Think you started a trend in the hostel...

Reviewed 29 December 2015

We stayed with 3 guys in a 4 dorm, the room was really clean. There was no air-condition, but the weather was not too warm and the fan was good. The bathrooms where not really clean, shower was not the best, but it was good enough for us. Kitchen was way to small! Overall de looks of the was hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank backpackhahn
Management response:

Hi Pim, Darius and Hans, Thanks for your review. Bananas takes no pleasure in asking guests to leave - it only attracts bad reviews and is not good for our business. We are sorry you feel hard done by BUT bringing alcohol into a licensed premises is against the law. Your were told this when you checked-in and warned again...

Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

I was there for just 2 nights. The rooms are OK, not the best I've seen, but definitely not the worst. No idea about the kitchen since I haven't used it. Just the showers are awful. Hardly any water coming out at all. All in all an OK hostel, nothing more than that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veringtentje
Management response:

Hey, Thank you for letting us know about the shower heads. We are replacing them today. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Wonderful hostel, my new fave in town. Liked the atmosphere. Nice, clean rooms, better than the average hostel rooms. Cool common area. Alcohol to fair prices. Friendly staff and guests. The shower could need a new head. Never saw more ac outlets on a hostel room! Internet could be free, but as so often in hostels, it isn't.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

I can't express the rudeness of the owner! The owner went so far as to call the police because we wanted to leave early. Three young girls staying in a private room we don't expect our belongings to be snooped through or 3 miserable bottles of cider confiscated! Worst place I've stayed in Australia, avoid at all cost.

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank CharlieMC33
Management response:

Knowing people have had a bad experience at my hostel always saddens me, however, I don't believe anything could have made you three happy. You were abusive to staff, did't follow the hostel rules and clearly didn't fit the 'hostel vibe'. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We spent two months living in apartment 3 located on Cricket Street (2 minutes away from the hostel main building). The apartments were basic but had all essentials you could ask for. The apartment had an ensuite bathroom, seperate bedroom and kitchen/livingroom. One of the owners can be found renovating apartments in the building, he is always friendly and happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph S

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.4 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#9 of 133 in Brisbane
548 reviews
0.7 km away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#71 of 133 in Brisbane
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#28 of 133 in Brisbane
552 reviews
0.3 km away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#80 of 133 in Brisbane
28 reviews
0.3 km away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#95 of 133 in Brisbane
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Banana Bender Backpackers

Address: 118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: ₹ 1,207 - ₹ 4,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banana Bender Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Banana Bender Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in room 19, near reception - comfy but road noise might bother some.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10, 11 and 12 have tiled floors instead of carpets - good for summer months to keep rooms cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles CAEGunn, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The "mens" shower on the right when you enter the hostel is by far the best one in the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles markjX4988LY, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“a 4 bed dorm , because thats where i stayed in!”
 of 5 bubbles 756tejasp, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
“If you find yourself in one of the rooms facing the road, do switch, it will make all the difference!”
 of 5 bubbles B5073MLamandad, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5