We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Base Brisbane Uptown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Brisbane Uptown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Brisbane Uptown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This hostel was booked for me over a travel agency, now I regret not doing that for myself. This Hostel is old and dirty. The worst part by far though is the kitchen. It is so terribly smelly that I lost my appetite the second I entered the kitchenfloor. Everything there is dirty, the stoaf isn't working properly and preparing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vot123
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Vot123, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. It's such a shame the cleaning was not up to your standard throughout your stay and you didnt feel comfortable using the kitchen. Are you able to advise what is not working so that I can have this addressed immediately? It would...

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Rude staff on the reception. Place is like a prison. Very unwelcoming. Decor is half completed. One hallway doesn't even have a carpet, there's walls half painted.... Words cannot describe how bad it is. I cancelled my other nights and went to Bunk instead. Love it here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Hannah, Thank you for your feedback. M y most sincere apologies that you did not get to enjoy your stay! I would really like to hear from you regarding your issues with the room and staff as this is definitely not a Base standard and I would very much like to rectify this! Level 1 is under refurbishment...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

My name is Andre I spend a couple of nights just after being discharged from hospital. The manger and staff were very helpful, most backpackers including hotels would not given me that extra special treatment. So thanks to all the staff especially the manager. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andre c
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Andre, Thank you for your feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We were and are always happy to help our guests, so I am very happy that the staff went out of their way to ensure your comfort. Thank you very much for your kind words, wishing you a speedy recovery & if...

Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed there only for one night and were glad that we didn't have to stay longer. The room was very dirty, so was the bathroom. The shower didn't work properly and we actually booked a femal dorm but got into a mixed dorm. One of the worst hostels we've ever been to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Na D
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Na, Thank you for your feedback! I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your night with us. It is such a shame that the cleanliness was not up to standard in the room or the bathroom. As you can imagine, it can difficult to address issues in rooms unless brought to receptions attention so please be sure to...

Reviewed 4 July 2015

I stayed here for a night simply as a place just to sleep for the night on my way through Brisbane. I had a late check in and an early check out. The room was messy and there was myself and one other girl in a 10bed dorm. I couldn't sleep at all with people constantly coming and going throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle C
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Chantelle, Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry you didn't get the sleep you needed whilst staying with us. Unfortunately the 10 bed dorms are our most popular so travelers are always coming and going. Whilst we do offer sound proof rooms from external noise, it doesn't stop the noise travelling from inside the room :(. I...

Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Arrived late after getting in from Auckland. Tired and ready for bed. The reception was 24 hours and check in was quick with friendly staff. The room was clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable. We stayed in a private with ensuite. The next day we went to the guilty rogue for a meal. Their menu is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aotea G
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Aotea, Thank you for your feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Base Uptown & the service and cleanliness was up to standard! The Guilty Rogue offer an exceptional menu at a really reasonable price! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Travel safely! Amber Harris Rooms Manager 07 3238 5888

Edgware, Middlesex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I completely agree with the reviews below. I see the manager has replied sarcastically to several reviews saying that those with issues should have addressed it immediately. However, upon seeing the eight beds crammed into a tiny room, what was I expecting a manager to do about that at 10pm at night? The good thing was Base were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella P
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Ella, Thank you for your feedback, but I am so sorry you did not get to enjoy your stay with us! Management has just recently changed so we are looking to action these issues as soon as possible! But I am so glad we were able to accommodate you at 10pm - being we do have a 24...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at quite a few Base hostels and this is definitely the worst! Our 8 bed dorm was very cramped and as a result was very hot. The kitchen is even worse, it is small and as no ventilation making it unbearable hot, forcing us to eat out for two night of our stay. On the positive side the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRJAsh
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Sarah, Thank you for your review, and my apologies on the belated response! We have just recently changed management and are endeavoring to have issues such as the 8 bedroom dorm's size. I am so sorry that the heat was an issue though! Just for next time, feel free to come see us at reception and we will...

Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Our visit to Base Uptown was bad to say the least. Before we had even checked in there was two girls already at reception making a complaint about their room being damp and mouldy.. Our room wasn't ready for check in on time. Fair enough delays happen and we were offered a key to get us to the first floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Amber H, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Good morning Paul, Firstly, I would like to apologise for the time it has taken me to respond to your feedback regarding your stay at Base Uptown. Secondly, I would sincerely like to apologise for the unfortunate stay you had with us! Although it does not justify the issues throughout your stay, I would like advise that new management has...

Cockermouth
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

base is in a great location for greyhound bus drop offs, this was the only perk to my stay here! The place is dirty, damp all up the walls in the room, the kitchen has hardly anything to make a meal and there were cockroaches on the floor throughout the dining area. The room had 8 beds and one toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosyapples91
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review

Hi Rosyapples91 from Cockermouth, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's a shame to hear your room wasn't up to your standards - did you come to see us about this? There is no reason for you to have a negative experience and we would have done everything in our power to prevent this. I feel like...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#116 of 166 in Brisbane
298 reviews
0.3 km away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 166 in Brisbane
401 reviews
0.7 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 127 in Brisbane
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#106 of 127 in Brisbane
115 reviews
1.6 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#25 of 127 in Brisbane
530 reviews
0.5 km away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#99 of 127 in Brisbane
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose from a great range of dorms or private rooms, all fully ensuited, air-conditioned and sound proofed! We will help you go out and explore wonderful Brisbane or if you prefer catch up on some emails enjoy our common area with Foxtel TV, cook in the kitchen or pop downstairs to the Tin Bar & Grill, make friends, go for a drink and see where the mood takes you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Uptown

Address: 466 George St | Cnr Herschel & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Tinbilly Travellers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: ₹ 2,029 - ₹ 8,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Base Brisbane Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinbilly Travellers Hotel Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Brisbane Uptown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to the roof is gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles MarielaCoach, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try the food in the bar-it is amazing!!”
 of 5 bubbles travelentype, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms (>3rd floor?) cannot hear the bar festivities, but I'm not sure about lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles curan62, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“book through hostel world for cheaper rates”
 of 5 bubbles K2327VZlauras, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Please book a single room just for yourself if you dont want to end up with a bunch of other people in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles Jayjay20162, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay