We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading other reviews and the managers responses thought i would give it a go but very disappointed. Staff were great but we were very disappointed with room 8, there was a exposed light fitting in the shower and a big blob of what appeared to be wet toilet paper stuck to the ceiling. The foxtell chanels couldn't be watched...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glenn c
Willunga, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Southern Cross are a three-star rated motel and deliver fine to those expectations. Dated rooms, comfortable beds and old and noisy air conditioners. Just the basics and fine if that is all you require. A few restaurants and takeaway options within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brettw_online
Gerard C, Owner at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Brettw_online. for your review. You are absolutely right. Southern Cross motel at Kangaroo Point QLD is a 3 star motel at 3 star prices. However, we have many advantages over other motels. We are an inner city motel with free secure off street parking, something you don't get at most other motels of any star rating. The cost...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The staff were friendly, and the location is great but the quality of the room we stayed in was not so nice. Very weird layout of the room, ran out of hot water, no kitchen sink to wash dishes, uncomfortable bedding, air con wasn't working properly, very small bathroom, no wifi, no Foxtel and no pool. Feel as though we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanburney
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Shanburney, I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. However, I'm not sure if you are referring to our facility. With regard to wifi and Foxtel They are available in all our rooms. We have a pool and BBQ facilities which our guests use daily. Motel rooms are not the same as apartments, are not designed for...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Great to see this Motel Serviced Apartments is under new management. Recently been updated stylish decor very clean, The staff were very helpful and the rooms were reasonably sized and clean throughout everything in working order. Great price compared to other hotels in the area not far from the CBD and other restaurants and shops. Will definitely be back. Kym

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubblesbabe73
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear bubblesbabe73, Thank you so much for your kind comments, It's very encouraging to receive such a glowing review. We aim to provide an excellent service and great facilities while keeping prices as low as possible.I have implemented what I call the 5-4-3 rule. To Provide: 5 star service, 4 star accommodation at 3 star prices. While our rooms are...

Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

A very good Manager and he and all the Staff are very helpful in anything one wishes to know .Good clean rooms with all one needs and a good Restaurant . .A small swimming pool is ok .Very jamdu tp Bises ..Taxis and the City

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bevan S
India
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed twice at this hotel which was during a cricket match in January 2016 when Australia played against India, next time was for a family outing in Brisbane. Place is good, kept neat, friendly staff, Woolworth, KFC are closer to this hotel. Only drawback is less parking space during season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JK1425DAS
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear JK1425DAS, Thank you for your kind comments, We do fill up frequently these days as the word gets around about us as new operators. In the short time since we started running this facility, we have made many changes and improvements and continue to do so and our guests are taking note. We are receiving many nice comments and...

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This is by far the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. Before even arriving I had called up to double check my booking twice and they had lost it both times. Upon my arrival there was no parking available because all the parks were taken up by the people visiting the restaurant. Half the lights in he apartment didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alannah L
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alannah, Firstly, thank you for your feedback. We are constantly looking to improve our facility and service and we take all feedback very seriously and I am deeply saddened by your comments. I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience at our facility. I wish to assure you that is not the norm here. We are still...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I've been staying here on and off for work over the last half dozen years, and it's changed hands a couple of times and has seen some dodgy times, however the current 2016 management is GREAT. The rooms have been nicely done up, are cleaner than ever before, the rooms are wonderfully equipped and redecorated and the beds are COMFY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeePriz
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear BeePriz, Thank you for taking the time to post such nice comments about us, The team and I try very hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We are still new here and we are making lots of improvements and it seems people like you are definitely taking notice. The word is getting around....

Mackay
Reviewed 8 July 2016

had trouble with key card, the room was very old and run down, had trouble with the tv, room was very small for a triple, had to keep asking for towels and there was no do not disturb. The Italian restaurant downstairs was very nice though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danikahumphreys
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear danikahumphreys, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take all comments seriously and use them to gauge our performance. We are sorry that you had difficulty with the TV and the towels. We wish to assure you that we always act on the reviews posted to ensure any issues do not repeat. This is...

Reviewed 22 May 2016

the new owners are slowly revamping the motel very clean great staff we stay here 50 times a year so we do notice all the little changes very nice place every thing is close by and great value good restraint there as well great food

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peter j

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 km away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#66 of 166 in Brisbane
187 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#93 of 166 in Brisbane
307 reviews
0.6 km away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#104 of 166 in Brisbane
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#60 of 166 in Brisbane
59 reviews
1.4 km away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#41 of 166 in Brisbane
136 reviews
0.9 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#11 of 166 in Brisbane
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments

Address: 715/747 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: ₹ 5,376 - ₹ 6,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask the Friendly Staff”
 of 5 bubbles BevanS324, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Near to gabba”
 of 5 bubbles JK1425DAS, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Great restuarant”
 of 5 bubbles danikahumphreys, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles daysygirl, 7 May 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay