We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Banyan View Lodge

    119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (12)
          Pool & Beach (5)
          Room & Suite (5)
          Youth Shack Backpackers
          288 reviews
          #32 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Dingo Moon Lodge
          130 reviews
          #33 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
          340 reviews
          #35 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Chilli's Backpackers
          210 reviews
          #36 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Overview
          • Excellent8%
          • Very good23%
          • Average33%
          • Poor17%
          • Terrible19%
          10 Sep 2015
          “Basic, clean, well-managed hostel”
          26 Aug 2015
          “Good place but terrible and unpleasant manager behaviour”
          Free Parking
          Air Conditioning
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Spa
          Self-Serve Laundry
          Shuttle Bus Service
          Breakfast included
          3.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          Youth Shack Backpackers
          288 reviews
          #32 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Dingo Moon Lodge
          130 reviews
          #33 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
          340 reviews
          #35 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Chilli's Backpackers
          210 reviews
          #36 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          200
          Reviews (134)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          • More languages

          1 - 5 of 111 reviews

          Reviewed 10 September 2015

          This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two...More

          1  Thank 38sally
          Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 12 October 2015

          Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

          Reviewed 27 August 2015

          Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(More

          6  Thank atpc_calcetines
          Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 12 October 2015

          Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us...More

          Reviewed 25 August 2015

          Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted...More

          Thank jon a
          Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 12 October 2015

          It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very...More

          Reviewed 11 August 2015

          This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other...More

          2  Thank Guy J
          Reviewed 6 July 2015

          It is a short walk to the CBD, a bike hire place and the esplanade. There is a pleasant outdoor area at the back.The room was very basic and drab ($90 double with shared bathroom), street noise, and the small fridge leaked. A set of...More

          2  Thank Quercuslocator
          Youth Shack Backpackers
          288 reviews
          #32 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Dingo Moon Lodge
          130 reviews
          #33 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
          340 reviews
          #35 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          Chilli's Backpackers
          210 reviews
          #36 of 49 Speciality lodging in Darwin
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Spa
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Free Parking
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          • Room amenities
          • Air Conditioning
          • Refrigerator in room
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Spa
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 17 - US$ 87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 43
          • Location
          • Australia >
          • Northern Territory >
          • Top End >
          • Darwin
          • Also Known As
          • Banyan View Hotel Darwin
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (12)
          Pool & Beach (5)
          Room & Suite (5)
          Hotel & Grounds (9)
          Bathroom (2)
          Nearby
          Marrakai Luxury All Suites Darwin
          122 reviews
          .33 km away
           
          DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
          1,150 reviews
          .27 km away
           
          H105 Mitchell Hotel
          32 reviews
          .19 km away
           
          DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
          1,090 reviews
          .40 km away
           
          YMCA of the Top End
          28 reviews
          .07 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Hanuman Restaurant
          1,683 reviews
          .41 km away
          Ducks Nuts Bar & Grill
          879 reviews
          .53 km away
          Shenannigans Restaurant & Bar
          404 reviews
          .72 km away
          Nirvana Restaurant
          249 reviews
          .23 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Crocosaurus Cove
          1,638 reviews
          .75 km away
          Aquascene
          523 reviews
          .28 km away
          Bicentennial Park
          102 reviews
          .19 km away
          St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral
          89 reviews
          .46 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Banyan View Lodge staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "A room at the back overlooking the garden would be nice"
          Read review
          "Don't stay here"
          Read review
          "Ask for rooms at back as front can be noisy with traffic and late night revelers"
          Read review
          "Choose a single room away from the construction side."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing