We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Value Inn Darwin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Value Inn Darwin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Value Inn Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I read reviews of this establshment and most bagged the place for being far too close to the action in Darwin. I asked for a quiet room away from the noise, as i have a sleep disorder. This was supplied. I stayed for a week and not one nights sleep was disturbed by noise. The room had double and single...

1Thank Frequentraveller2014
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Frequentraveller2014, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. I agree that it is a fantastic location right in the middle of the CBD. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Top End. Regards Sheena and the team at Value Inn

A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Firstly the pluses. Right in the middle of the action, with plenty of restaurants and bars around, and two blocks from the mall. Has its own little pool and BBQ if you don't feel like going down the waterfront. Also just up the road from crocosauras cove and a travel agent next door. The negative: Exceptionally noisy as it backs...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property. It was disappointing to read that noise levels from a popular bar meant that it was noisy until 2am and this impacted your stay. We do have measures in place and communicate with the bars to advise them...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Really good value, stayed in a simple room with double bed + single, price per person was a steal. Good air conditioning, very clean and place is centrally located in Darwin for shops, bars and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie B
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie B, Thank you for you review of Value Inn, Darwin. I was please to read that you thought the rooms were 'value" for money and is conveniently located for shops, bars and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Darwin Regards Sheena

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Basic and cheap. Clean enough, comfy enough, aircon worked, staff efficient. Wouldn't want to stay for any length of time but perfectly adequate bed for the night before setting off for a tour at 6.30 from the backpacker's next door. Which, incidentally, I would avoid unless you are under 30 and don't need much sleep.

Thank sarahcr2014
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Sarahcr2014, Thank you for your review of Value Inn,Darwin. I am pleased that you were happy with the rooms and service offered by the team. Its great to know we meet your expectations by "doing what it says on the tin" and we hope that you had a great tour. Regards Sheena

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

the location is perfect! right in the middle of the city. the room is small because theres 2 beds ( 1 double and 1 single) its a good value for 79 dollar. its quite clean. Not a hotel but a good place to stay for backpackers and traveller

Thank Alfreda D
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Alfreda D, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. It is lovely to read that you thought our budget accommodation was a good place for backpackers and travellers to stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Darwin Regards Sheena

Hay, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Never again ! Very small room, no hanging space for clothes, nowhere to store suitcases once emptied, Mould stains on walls and on shower floor, The "Table " was this tiny thing in the corner which was more or less covered if you wanted to keep some fruit or snacks in the room, only one chair, thankfully we ate out,...

Thank didee59
Sheena M, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Didee59, Thank you for your review of Value Inn Darwin. It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us in our centrally located budget hotel. We have a microwave at the end of the corridor on the first and second floors so that guests can have a TV dinner after a busy day of...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Room is small (solo traveller size), basic but clean. Aircon is noisy. Location is excellent. Main gripe is the shower which had a spout about the size of a 20c coin. You get what you pay for. Wouldn't stay here again.

Thank Alex A
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Walking distance to several options for dinner or drinks or both! Small room, but you only need to sleep & shower right! Not like you need to swing a cat! Nice price for last minute booking too! Take cans & bottles to Bevcon in Berrimah & recycling a months worth of " rubbish" actually paid for the room!! Cash in...

Thank SarahCairns
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The value Inn is in the most central part of Darwin. MITCHELL ST. Across the street to Coles Super Market. And amongst all the night clubs and restaurants. Not a nice looking hotel. And, the rooms are small. The rooms have TV small fridge and separate toilet and shower from the living room . Under $100 a night. Lifts for...

Thank greg r
Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The rooms were so small, you could hardly swing a cat, nowhere to put your luggage except on the 'spare' bed, nowhere to hang your long dresses and not enough pillows. I've had bigger bathrooms on a train! No washers or toiletries aside from soap. To do your laundry, one had to go to the backpacker's place next door and...

Thank Margaret C

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (35)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (14)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (7)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 km away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
74 reviews
0.3 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
852 reviews
0.1 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
279 reviews
1.0 km away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Palms Motel
#25 of 37 in Darwin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: ₹ 2,834 - ₹ 6,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Value Inn Darwin staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Value Inn Darwin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from Mitchell St”
jodiet468, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Small room, buts its all there. ”
davetass_99, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room when booking online and upon arrival,”
Frequentraveller2014, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no recommendation”
901AlexA901, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel!”
margaretc6, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5