We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barramundi Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barramundi Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barramundi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I've stayed in the Barramundi Lodge twice now on solo business trips to Darwin. I love it because it's the cheapest place I could find that wasn't a dormitory, and it is perfectly located on the outskirts of town (so you don't have to deal with all the idiots) and a short walk to the casino and Mindl Beach. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Barramundi lLodge is not the Hilton, however if you want the Hilton, then go and get that instead. The staff were super helpful and the rooms and and the whole of the lodge was really clean. Yes it is an old place, but the owners take pride in their establishment. Really good for the money that you pay and really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Staff bloody rude, shower awful, i nwouldnt let my dog sleep on the beds they supplied, my back is so sore and i have had barely any sleep and thats just the beginning.Not worth the money at all, has no security at all, had people trying to open my room door at all hours of the night

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liz G
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Barramundi is nicely located halfway between the beach and the cbd. There is parking, and a small but pleasant pool. The hotel to me looks a bit tired. The owner does state that she is trying to improve all the rooms when she can. Our room had a kitchen, which saves having to buy expensive meals out. Australia is expensive....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunnyeast
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thankyou for your review i wish you had have mentioned you stayed with us 2 times the first time you needed our help to store your luggage so you could go on a trip. We did this for you at no charge we even stored your luggage in our personal space at an inconvienance to ourselves.When you returned...

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend found that this place was good value for money. The rooms are basic but great for what we were looking for. The staff are knowable about Darwin and what to do along with being friendly. They allowed early check out possible to catch an early flight which was great! The grounds are very relaxing with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather778
Caroline Springs, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just a quick mini break for the family in darwin, where we had not been before. As we only wanted a place to sleep we really weren't after room service and shampoo and shower caps etc so we chose Barramundi based on price. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews here but I think people have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninaballerina71
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review .i am so pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. Cheers Natalie

shanghai
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here for 9 nights while visiting Darwin and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone after a place to stay that is quiet, friendly and good value. Barramundi is perfectly placed between the city and the beach, it is spotlessly clean and has really helpful staff, who made our stay a very pleasant one. The room decor may be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexywoo
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Sometimes we do not know who does review the lodge in this case we do so thank-you for your kind words I am so pleased you had a comfortable stay. If there was one thing I learnt from your stay it is Peppa Pig rules.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Barramundi Lodge is a excerlant place to stay. Its relaxing in a great location and the staff are very very nice and helpful. I appreciate there help and the enjoyment I had whilst I staied there. Thank you and I'll be back in the future! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retta22
Barra645, General Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your report on the Barramundi Lodge . W

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Barramundi lodge is what it is a Lodge not a 5 star Motel but has the qualities of a family home with the privacy you needed hidden away from the traffic hustle an bustle. The one thing I love about the lodge beside the price is that no need to worry about cleaners knocking on your door like they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 79Bianca
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Do yourself a favour and dont stay here, not worth the money you pay at all. Dirty and very bad kept. We booked a family room and we were all cramped in a small room. The aircon however worked a treat on the hot day but from outside they looked unsafe as there was black burn marks on there.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank missfinn
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to fill in your review for your stay. Seeing as you are still in-house it would have been good to sort your concerns face to face . As I was completly unaware of any problems and speaking face to face over the last 2 days nothing has been mentioned. The air-con in your room is...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.6 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
856 reviews
4.5 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
279 reviews
0.9 km away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#16 of 37 in Darwin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.3 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,756 reviews
2.0 km away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barramudi Lodge is a small family run lodge with 22 rooms. Our single rooms are shared bathrooms and shared kitchen. All other rooms are shared bathrooms with a kitchenette in the room. All our rooms are non-smoking. The single rooms open to a large reception area next to our pool and BBQ area. All other rooms open to a full length veranda. Barramundi Lodge is a 10-15 min walk into Darwin CBD area in this area you have your main Supermarkets - Post Office - Restaurants - Cafes -Nightclubs - Tourist attractions. Barramundi Lodge is a 5 min walk to the botanical gardens and a 10 min walk to the casino; straight across the road from the lodge is a golf course .We can arrange any sight seeing trips for you at the Barramundi lodge reception. Barramundi Lodge is pet friendly upon request only. Barramundi Lodge has free parking on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a coin operated laundry on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a lovely pool area with a BBQ area surrounded by palm trees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barramundi Lodge

Address: 4 Gardens Rd | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: ₹ 3,306 - ₹ 5,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barramundi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barramundi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barramundi Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barramundi Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are single the front rooms are quieter.”
YakNgi, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All seemed the same”
sunnyeast, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Be sure that all your luggage are in your locked room and keep all your valuables with you”
jeanfrancoiss2013, 1 Sep 2013 | Read review
“No room service or fitness centre but didn't expect accommodation to have any...plenty of walking tracks in and around the Darwin area for the healthy minded.”
jasner5, 10 Apr 2013 | Read review
“pick any room”
DuncanScottT, 4 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5