We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lost Camel Hotel

Save
Share
Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$ 336
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (70)
Pool & Beach (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Travellers' Choice
Opening on 1 July 2018, the Lost Camel Hotel is a contemporary and fun, boutique-style hotel conveniently located in the heart of Ayers Rock Resort, only 20 minutes from Uluru. Furnished in a stylish mix of Aboriginal and urban themes, the Lost Camel brings a fresh, exciting feel to the Resort. The compact studio-style rooms are decorated in bright colours and crisp, clean whites. Each room features a deliciously comfortable King Bed (can be separated into two single beds) and a bathroom with a separate shower, toilet and open-plan vanity. Soak up the sun by the hotel’s central swimming pool, browse the shops or enjoy a casual meal at one of the cafés located in the Resort Town Square. Take part in the many free daily guest activities on offer. Your stay also includes complimentary return Ayers Rock Airport transfers and free use of the Resort shuttle bus service.
Read more

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872 Australia
Getting there
Connellan Airport7 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
301Reviews3Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 117
  • 49
  • 19
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lisa K wrote a review Aug 2021
Greater Adelaide, Australia58 contributions26 helpful votes
We actually booked quite a while ago for the outback pioneer hotel that is part of the same resort, however it is closed due to covid - and no one thought it necessary to notify us, so we arrived to find the place all closed up and no notice or anything. We went to the Desert Garden to see what was happening and was told we had been booked into the Lost Camel. No apology for not notifying us or any inconvenience. We got the same level of indifference from reception staff at the Lost Camel - and were charged again for accommodation we had already paid for. When we raised this we had to ask twice for the money to be refunded and again got no apology - and were told it would take five or six days to be returned to our account. The wifi also only worked half the time. Having said all that, the hotel is perfectly fine, clean and comfortable, albeit astonishingly overpriced. The housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful, as were staff at the different eating places we visited that are also part of the resort. Essentially if you want to be conveniently close to Uluru and Kata Tjuta (the Olgas), then you have no choice but to stay at one of these hotels, and the reception staff seem to know it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at The Lost Camel Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Lisa K Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. We greatly regret that you were not aware of the change of accommodation. It was indeed our priority to advise guests that were affected by a change of accommodation as a result of COVID and an email was sent to all guests that booked with us directly to advise accordingly and we are therefore sorry to learn that you did not receive our communication. We further apologise for the misunderstanding regarding payment and we certainly understand the frustration that this caused and its affect on your overall enjoyment. I assure you that it is always our priority to ensure the best possible base from which to explore and it is therefore most disappointing that we were unable to fully achieve it on this occasion. We do hope that you enjoyed exploring the National Park and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Todd Hunter General Manager The Lost Camel
Read more
Murray K wrote a review Aug 2021
Phillip Island, Australia6 contributions
First the positive. Very comfortable bed and small room with excellent heating and air conditioning. Excellent shower. Unfortunately the room was very dark with virtually no natural light except into the bathroom. However the worst thing was the poor staff attitude we found. Upon arrival, we were met by a rather surly young woman. For some reason there was confusion about our booking, we being told it had been cancelled. We had booked it on the Accor website and we had clear evidence from emails that it had not been cancelled. We explained politely that there may have been a misunderstanding as we had made an earlier booking which had to be cancelled by reason of an Alice Springs lockdown. However once again there was a clear paper trail on our Accor website account.The matter was resolved after several telephone calls to a supervisor, but with no explanation or apology to us. Checkout was also conducted by an apparently unhappy person at reception. I suspect there were staff shortages, like all over Australia at this time which might explain the unhappy attitude of the staff we met ( with the exception of a cheery cleaning lady). However, our experience with Accor associated hotels is that staff are well trained and generally very pleasant and helpful even in these times where with no backpackers there are staff shortages. WiFi was useless in our room and we had to move to a place near reception to get WiFi. The place had a deserted feel with reception being closed at 5pm. There is no restaurant attached to the hotel, rather one has to go to a pretty ordinary cafe in a nearby public square or to a neighbouring hotel. There is no parking, rather I was told to park in a nearby public car park, which has signs warning about removal of valuables when parking (which of course is always sensible, but difficult when we had a 4WD equipped with fridges and other equipment we could not move to a hotel room). One accepts that in a remote place like Yulara there are extra costs but really charging $470 per night can only be described as “gouging”. Over a month of inland travel we stayed in a number of hotels, equally if not more comfortable than this hotel (and with well trained pleasant staff) for a tariff of around 50% of that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps try and get an upstairs room with some natural light rather than a downstairs one.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Georgie M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I had to cancel my trip because of a lockdown. It's been two months and I still haven't received a refund. I emailed them to advise we wouldn't be able to come. They emailed that a reservation specialist would contact me within 5 business days. No one contacted me. I've tried following up by email and phone. When you are able to get someone on the phone (it normally rings out) they tell you they'll need to refer it to their supervisors. I got an email from Voyages who told me that I would get a refund within 7 business days. I never received the refund.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at The Lost Camel Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Hi georgiem398 We are sorry to read of the problems you are experiencing with your refund. While we are unable to follow up with the information you have provided in this review we would suggest that you email rebook@voyages.com.au. This email address is especially for guests affected by COVID and is answered within 3 working days. We would also suggest you check your spam or junk folder in case the response from our team is in one of these folders. We look forward to hearing from you so that we may resolve your refund as soon as possible. Kind Regards Voyages Travel Centre
Read more
ShutTheFrontDoor wrote a review Jul 2021
Mitcham, Australia103 contributions67 helpful votes
I feel like because all of the accommodation at Uluru are owned by the same company, they dont care how they treat you because no matter what you have to pay to stay there. All of the restaurants and the hotels the service was not given with a smile, its like staff resented being there. I felt for what we paid per night the accommodation was only bare minimum, again its because the company has the full ownership so they can do what they want. I was so excited to return to Uluru with my own family after going there as a child, and its just so commercial now, what a disappointment and I am embarrassed that overseas travellers have to be subjected to the lack of service. Its not a good look for Australia unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Voyages Sydney, Other at The Lost Camel Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Hi ShutTheFrontDoor We are so sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet expectations and we wish to reassure you that it is always our goal to provide the best possible service for our guests and it is therefore disappointing to note that this was not your experience. I can further assure you that we are doing all possible during and post COVID to increase our staffing levels and reopen further facilities however in the meantime our team are working really hard to ensure guest enjoyment and we therefore apologise that we were unable to achieve it for your family on this occasion. We hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort, we really do appreciate it. Kind Regards Todd Hunter General Manager The Lost Camel
Read more
Lisa W wrote a review Jun 2021
Callala Bay, Australia222 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel location is perfect to access everything the ‘resort’ has on offer. We had westerly facing room (maybe not ideal for a summer trip as that will be the long hot setting sun beating on large glass bathroom windows), no traffic noise (not the busy season) & easy access to free parking. But we went before the place fills with peak season travel. Room was comfortable (check sizes on website before booking if you want spacious), air-com worked well considering it probably doesn’t get a day off & the toiletries were lovely native ingredient based & no single use plastic bottles. Like 95% of all hotel rooms, it lacked space to put bags to make the space less ‘chaotic’ but hanging space was adequate.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: In the busy season I imagine parking would be a nightmare throughout the resort area.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreYulara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lost Camel Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Lost Camel Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wintjiri Arts + Museum (0.3 km), Maruku Arts (0.1 km), and Ayers Rock Resort Shopping Centre (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lost Camel Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Lost Camel Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lost Camel Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lost Camel Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lost Camel Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kulata Academy Cafe, Arnguli Grill & Restaurant, and Ilkari Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lost Camel Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Lost Camel Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Lost Camel Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Lost Camel Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Yulara.
Is The Lost Camel Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.