We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kings Creek Station

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Kings Creek Station
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kings Creek Station
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The quad bikes activity is an ABSOLUTE must. Best track and variety. If you're lucky you can go real fast. The quality of the place is what one would expect from the outback. The animals are adorable and the camels are entertaining. The one thing I didn't like is how dramatically overpriced the store there was -- no dramas if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We.....party of 4 stayed 2 nights. We originally booked an over night quad bike tour, however unfortunately due to very strong winds we were unable to stay overnight as planned. However we still did the quad bike tour which was so much fun led by Beau. Nothing was out of bounds and we went everywhere on the station spotting camels,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda_Kora
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed for 1 night and found it was one of the better sites we camped at in the Centre. Unlike others, it is more basic, but you get a lot more space and can have a campfire on your site. Only downsides were the groups staying weren't kept quiet at night, so partied till the early morning next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amelia T
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We booked here as our base while we explored Kings Canyon. The main reason we booked here was for the advertised camel rides. There was no mention on the website that they weren't happening and while I appreciate that the reasons surrounding this are important (camel instructor had to fly home due to family illness) I'm surprised they didn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giselle M
Melbourne
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed for two nights in our caravan on a powered site, or should I say a powered house block sized site. We were recommended to stay here for a real red centre experience with the luxury of basic facilities while using it as a base to visit Kings Canyon. We enjoyed every minute with our own campfire area, picnic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crackity_J0nes
Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Unlike many other reviewers we found this place to be very friendly and we chatted to a number of very interesting young people. Yes it seems to be run by backpackers but they did a good job from what we saw. Breakfast very good, coffee not so good and the machine broke down that morning. Our friend didn't have breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahajtrip
Boyne Island, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

What a start - it is raining and we are allocated the safari tent furthest from the amenities, camp kitchen & car park. Go back to reception and get a tent closer. Told we must order food by 6pm to be able to eat in "restaurant". Only 5 of the 25 tents in use why didn't they give us a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank eaelse
Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped @ Kings Creek Station cafe for lunch. Had a fabulous Camel Burger along with both a cold beer & a (aircraft size) bottle of wine. The burger was great- highly recommended. As for the beer & wine, it was the most reasonably priced alcohol available anywhere in the Red Centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
Rebecca L, Front Office Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping in at Kings Creek Station, glad you enjoyed our famous camel burger:-)

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the station as part of a tour booking and we were very impressed with the facilities. We stayed in a swag for the evening and everyone had a great time. Unfortunately, when we arrived we had signed up to do quad biking and signed our lives away on the piece of paper as required. When we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
Rebecca L, Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review

Im glad that you enjoyed KCS station facilities and your overnight swag experience, but I'm sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience on the Quad bike tour. Our Quad experiences are something we take great pride in and we also take the safety side very seriously. For 15 years we have had an impeccable track record but...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the station & so pleased we did. The staff were friendly & informative. Spent a lovely afternoon on the verandah of the cafe/restaurant/bar watching the sun go down over the hill in fiery reds, purples, pinks sipping on a glass of wine & beers talking to the working hands on the station. There is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
2.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
875 reviews
1.5 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.1 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
283 reviews
1.5 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ian and Lyn Conway established Kings Creek Station in 1981. The station lies 36 kilometres from the magnificent Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and is set amongst majestic desert oaks. Kings Creek Station is a working cattle/camel station with facilities for camping, accommodation and an opportunity to experience the outback either by quad (4 wheel motorbike), helicopter or camel. Basic supplies, meals and drinks can be bought at the station shop. You could even try one of our famous Kings Creek camel burgers!!!! The station is the largest exporter of wild camels in Australia and sells camels for live export, live domestic sales and meat. 37 documentaries have been filmed at Kings Creek and the station hosted Australian Geographics' fourth expedition. In 2001 the world famous Australian Safari travelled through and stayed at the station. Kings Creek Station has also been featured on 7 Sunrise Weather hosted by Grant Denyer in 2012. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kings Creek Station

Address: PMB 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: ₹ 948 - ₹ 8,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Creek Station 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kings Creek Station Hotel Alice Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kings Creek Station staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Creek Station staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Safari tents are reasonably priced, camping sites available as well as a luxury glamping option available at premium prices”
 of 5 bubbles Amanda_Kora, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a site away from the tour groups if you're a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles 717ameliat, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Helicopter ride over Kings Canyon was amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Crackity_J0nes, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go past and head to Kings Creek Canyon resort.”
 of 5 bubbles 617joeb, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“12A and 12B - handy for the washrooms and the bbq/shed but also v close to them, so depends what you prefer...”
 of 5 bubbles S_G.UK, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5