We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Home Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Home Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Home Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

To stay there is cheap, you are really close to everything 5 min walk from central station and also central. Friendly staff and helpful. The facilities are clean there is everything to cook your own food. Nice hostel to meet people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alizenad
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi alizenad Thanks for your review & perfect rating. Yes we are perfect for a budget traveler & happy our pricing was affordable. We are pleased you found our facilities clean & our 2 kitchens fully stocked making it easy to cook your own meals. Also happy to hear positive comments about our staff. enjoy your travels

Drummoyne, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I caught a train from the airport to central station, walked 5 minutes and I was there. Perfect location. reception is small and staff friendly. Building is secure with a swipe card to access. I was in a 8-share female dorm with own en suite. Room was big, locker for each person, pillow/linen provided. en suite bathroom is big.Shared bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 552094Nicky1988
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi 552094Nicky1988 Thanks for perfect rating & 'Great location, Affordable & comfortable'. Accessibility from airport to HomeBackpackers is perfect for a traveler as mentioned being only 200m from central station & a direct train from airport is possible. We have a 24hr secure entrance with a coded swipe card the only way to access building. As mentioned all dorm rooms...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I am a backpacker and stayed here for two nights and can honestly say that I tried to stay away as much as possible and dreading sleeping here. We were on a tight budget so we're understanding we wouldn't be in the nicest of places but this place was vile. We stayed in a room with two others and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charnjacob
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Charnjacob Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review as we value positive & negative comments as gives us the opportunity to improve our accommodation. We are sorry to hear you were displeased with your stay & assure you comments are taken seriously. Sometimes dorm room experience can be negative due to other guests staying in the...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights and the best thing of this hostel is the location (near to central station). Biggest problem is the lack of cleaning in all common areas. As an example, somehow a toilet was broken one morning and the pieces remained there whole day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RubenKid
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi RubenKid Thanks for taking the time to leave a review as value feedback to improve our standard of accommodation. We are happy to hear you found our location positive as being situated only 200m from central station & short walk to Sydney Harbour has its advantages. But we are sorry to hear you were there to experience unsatisfactory cleanliness...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

staff are really helpful go out there way to sort problems or issues out for you. always clean and tidy.great place to meet other backpackers. not far from central station coles and the shopping center.great prices for rooms.really enjoyed my stay here.would defiantly book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Suzanne Thanks for taking the time time review & your high rating is appreciated. We are pleased that you noticed our attention to keeping up on cleanliness of hostel. We have a strict cleaning schedule day/night to keep up with meeting our own high standards & guest expectations. We are very fortunate to be centrally located within Sydney City...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I spend a week in it and i wasn't pleasant . This hostel only for low budget people who can't afford better hostel. Very old and very worn. Also not suitable for people who is taller than 6 foot. There is areas where u have to mind your head. Otherwise u have a bump on your head. But there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Arthur Thanks for spending your time reviewing. We value all feedback & view it as a chance to better our service & accommodation. You stated early in your review you weren't pleased but later stated it was not so bad after all? We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our free pizza night(Thursday) & we also provide free pancakes...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel its self has great social vibes, free pizza and pancakes aswell! The facilities were not great, the kitchens are filthy with maggots on the ceiling to be exact on A side... with dirty uncleaned spillages around the fridge etc. The staff are great and very polite however one staff member a German Gent Norman, was quite unprofessional, would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This hostel was just so much fun! I was there one night and the staff was very very helpful and gave me all the information i needed to fully experience and enjoy Valencia's top places. I also joined the pub crawl which they organize and let me say this... it's the perfect event to meet a lot of nice people;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard Santiag... S
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Stayed there in 2/3 people room for 5 nights. Rooms are very basic and house is old, but since we are not fuzzy travellers and the price was cheap, it was exactly what we looked for. Positive sides: Rooms were cleaned daily, comfortable beds, clean bed linen, good kitchen and nice staff. Plus pancakes in the weekend :) Top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatsPats
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

So I'll start by saying the staff on reception are great, amazing in fact, but that's because they're travellers too and understand, the owners don't care at all. I was here for about a month in a private room with my friend, when I was there it was booked out twice so we had to move around the hostel without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
ManagerAtHome, Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of Home Backpackers. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wanted to address a couple of points with regards to your feedback. You are correct with regards to our staff they are great and always do their utmost to make sure that guests enjoy their stay with us. From our records you...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 137 in Sydney
396 reviews
790 on George
#45 of 137 in Sydney
198 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 137 in Sydney
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#21 of 137 in Sydney
624 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 137 in Sydney
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just a few steps from Central station, HOME Backpackers has everything a Sydney Backpackers should have and heaps more! We offer comfortable budget accommodation right in the heart of Sydney and a jam-packed line up of entertainment each night. Our staff is a mix of travellers and true Sydney-siders who know the best places to party, eat, travel, see and experience. Reception is open 8 till 8, Early and late check in available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Backpackers

Address: 238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: ₹ 1,363 - ₹ 4,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Home Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A-Side has a bigger kitchen and tv room / B-Side is quieter but you can acces both side so its a good all-rounder”
F7689MTsarahr, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“B side is better than A side”
89suzanneg, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in B side. Seemed quieter also, ask windows facing away the hostel open air area.”
KatsPats, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
3 of 3