We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Home Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Home Backpackers
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 198: English reviews
Start your review of Home Backpackers
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is a brilliant place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in Sydney. Its clean and well serviced with excellent facilities, everything you need. The staff are helpful, polite and friendly and the location is as convenient as you can get and close to some cheap eats and nice restaurants. I've had to come to Sydney on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flickso
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi flickso Thanks for spending your time leaving a positive review. We are pleased you found our accommodation 'clean & well serviced with excellent facilities'. I will pass on your kind words to reception staff reinforcing the great customer service. Thanks again for reviewing & hopefully see you again!

Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here intermittently on my Sydney adventure and enjoyed it. They have some of the best rates in Sydney especially for single rooms. Its set in two side-by-side old buildings a minutes walk from Central Station so is quite convenient. Access is by security card to both buildings and the dorms/rooms are secured by key lock. Dorms are spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosephSmythe
troy y, Public Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Joseph Thanks for spending your time leaving a detailed review. As mentioned we do have very competitive rates for a Sydney CBD accommodation. I am also pleased you enjoyed our amenities including ' spacious dorm rooms cooled by fans with backpack size lockers & security card entry system'. Free Wifi keeps you in touch with your family/friends & enables...

Reviewed 14 January 2017

On arrival and throughout our stay the staff were really helpful and friendly, the location was great being round the corner from Central station. All major areas of Sydney were easy to get to through the use of the metro at Central station. 7/11 and Metro supermarkets are just next door so buying food for meals was also easy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamShyngle
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Olivia Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review We are pleased you found our staff 'really helpful & friendly'. I will happily relay to staff your comments reinforcing their great work on reception. Our location is one of key points guests book with us. Being centrally located & only 200m from central station allows easy access...

Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is the second time i've been here. It's a good hostel with a great location. They offer free pizza on wednesday and pancakes in the weekends. Also, they give free wifi wich other hostels charge a lot of money for!! hostel has a new manager and looks better since my first visit. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S8774NZmichellew
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi S8774NZmichellew Thanks for staying with us a second time & leaving your review. Home Backpackers is centrally located & allows guests to walk to a majority of Sydney's best attractions. Free Pizza on a Wednesday Night & Free pancakes on weekends are always popular with guests. Also Free wifi is offered which is usually charged by other accommodations. Yes...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hostel for three weeks during my visit and loved it, made awesome mates whilst there. The staff were always willing to help, great knowledge of the area and recommended tourist attractions within my budget. Loved the free pizza night and pancakes on the weekends. Best value for money in the CBD and would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelsMuch01
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi TravelsMuch01 Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are glad to hear you 'loved' your 3 week stay & made some friends whilst here. We find being a smaller hostel allows more of a family feel & friendships are often formed even during short stays. Our staff are a mixture of local residents & travelers...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

To stay there is cheap, you are really close to everything 5 min walk from central station and also central. Friendly staff and helpful. The facilities are clean there is everything to cook your own food. Nice hostel to meet people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alizenad
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi alizenad Thanks for your review & perfect rating. Yes we are perfect for a budget traveler & happy our pricing was affordable. We are pleased you found our facilities clean & our 2 kitchens fully stocked making it easy to cook your own meals. Also happy to hear positive comments about our staff. enjoy your travels

Drummoyne, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I caught a train from the airport to central station, walked 5 minutes and I was there. Perfect location. reception is small and staff friendly. Building is secure with a swipe card to access. I was in a 8-share female dorm with own en suite. Room was big, locker for each person, pillow/linen provided. en suite bathroom is big.Shared bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 552094Nicky1988
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi 552094Nicky1988 Thanks for perfect rating & 'Great location, Affordable & comfortable'. Accessibility from airport to HomeBackpackers is perfect for a traveler as mentioned being only 200m from central station & a direct train from airport is possible. We have a 24hr secure entrance with a coded swipe card the only way to access building. As mentioned all dorm rooms...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I am a backpacker and stayed here for two nights and can honestly say that I tried to stay away as much as possible and dreading sleeping here. We were on a tight budget so we're understanding we wouldn't be in the nicest of places but this place was vile. We stayed in a room with two others and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charnjacob
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Charnjacob Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review as we value positive & negative comments as gives us the opportunity to improve our accommodation. We are sorry to hear you were displeased with your stay & assure you comments are taken seriously. Sometimes dorm room experience can be negative due to other guests staying in the...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights and the best thing of this hostel is the location (near to central station). Biggest problem is the lack of cleaning in all common areas. As an example, somehow a toilet was broken one morning and the pieces remained there whole day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RubenKid
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi RubenKid Thanks for taking the time to leave a review as value feedback to improve our standard of accommodation. We are happy to hear you found our location positive as being situated only 200m from central station & short walk to Sydney Harbour has its advantages. But we are sorry to hear you were there to experience unsatisfactory cleanliness...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

staff are really helpful go out there way to sort problems or issues out for you. always clean and tidy.great place to meet other backpackers. not far from central station coles and the shopping center.great prices for rooms.really enjoyed my stay here.would defiantly book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Suzanne Thanks for taking the time time review & your high rating is appreciated. We are pleased that you noticed our attention to keeping up on cleanliness of hostel. We have a strict cleaning schedule day/night to keep up with meeting our own high standards & guest expectations. We are very fortunate to be centrally located within Sydney City...

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
394 reviews
790 on George
#44 of 136 in Sydney
198 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#29 of 136 in Sydney
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#21 of 136 in Sydney
614 reviews
Chinatown
Railway Square YHA
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 136 in Sydney
327 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 136 in Sydney
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just a few steps from Central station, HOME Backpackers has everything a Sydney Backpackers should have and heaps more! We offer comfortable budget accommodation right in the heart of Sydney and a jam-packed line up of entertainment each night. Our staff is a mix of travellers and true Sydney-siders who know the best places to party, eat, travel, see and experience. Reception is open 8 till 8, Early and late check in available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Backpackers

Address: 238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: ₹ 1,447 - ₹ 4,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Home Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“B side is better than A side”
 of 5 bubbles 89suzanneg, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in B side. Seemed quieter also, ask windows facing away the hostel open air area.”
 of 5 bubbles KatsPats, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
2 of 2