We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Railway Square YHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Railway Square YHA
Railway Square YHA
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Railway Square YHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night , was supposed to stay two, but checked out after a sleepless night with people up outside the cafe downstairs making a lot of noise till 3am in the morning. Staff were pretty unfriendly and unhelpful. I've seen a lot of reviews with complaints about the noise at night and am really unsure as to why they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Sally We're sorry that your stay was disturbed by some guests being inconsiderate of others. With hostels being communal accommodation, they do rely on everyone thinking of others. However, the night manager should have been able to help you with this so your review will help us improve our procedures and improve staff training.

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

School Holidays, nowhere to stay in Sydney as all booked out. Found out about the Railway Square YHA and finished up sleeping in a converted railway carriage. It was airconditioned, close to the shower block and cafe. Very very cheap and really very convenient to the railway and bus networks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayling845
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Very noisy and overpriced hostel. It's in a pretty good location, but I felt that you weren't getting very good value for money at all. The staff are friendly, and it's pretty good for socialising, but I wouldn't stay here again. Wifi was terrible too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmawerthers
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Emma We are sorry that you didn't feel you had value for money but are not quite sure where we let you down. We offer a range of rates including weekly stays and also beds from $28 a night (as part of our 15 night ePack that can be used at YHAs across Australia). This is pretty competitive for...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I fell in love with this place. Arrived December 2015 left August 2016. Took full advantage of the weekly rate that the YHA offers. knew it was not the cheapest hostel in Sydney but worth every penny. The atmosphere is spot on its not to rowdy but good fun and seeing as I worked when I was staying here it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Railway were fantastic to me! The crowd was always good, the facilities were spotless and the reception staff were extremely helpful! Special shout out to Kelly, who went above and beyond in every way to make my time here extra special! Massive thanks to everyone, and I'm sure I'll see you all again before too long!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomas B
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My room was above the entrance which is also the smoking area. Being continually woken up till 2.30am mid week is not acceptable. Staff are helpful and pleasant. If you stay here bring ear plugs and hold your nose when you open any of the fridges.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadine M
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This YHA is simply okay. I thought it was a bit over priced and found it disappointing. I was super annoyed that the cleaning staff were taking the sheets off the wrong beds and didn't listen to me when I tried to explain that there were people there and just literally ignored me as if I didn't exist. The people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabasaurus
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Clean, friendly, open all night with affordable accomadation standard with YHA. Built from old railway carriges it has a historical theme and interesting style of accomodation. Safe and locked security available, Internet or phone bookings.... Would stay here again, central to everything in the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwicanoz
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Very modern, clean room (4-bed indoor room). Had only one other quiet person staying in the room which may have biased my opinion a little bit. Location is great, right by the train station, but despite that there wasn't a lot of noise from outside. They have something going on most evenings, I had fun at their Sunday trivia night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgm3vn
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Visit this time to see the Vivid lights. Only negative was no hot water for a shower at 11pm (I was later than usual due to catching up with family for Vivid), other than that was the usual good stay I have come to expect here. My tips for Railway Square YHA - bring earplugs, thongs (for the shower) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cb_from_oz

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Eight Share Female (20)
Viewed
Eight Share Railway Carriage (18)
Viewed
Four Share (14)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 134 in Sydney
664 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 134 in Sydney
705 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#5 of 134 in Sydney
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station, in the heart of Sydney's backpacker district. Stay in one of the funky railway carriages on the former Platform Zero or one of the comfy rooms in the historic 1904 main building, now converted into contemporary accommodation. Hostel features a spa pool, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), 24-hour access, tour desk, indoor and outdoor communal areas, self-catering kitchen. Walking distance to the best pubs in Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Please note that our pool is currently under renovation and might be out of action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Railway Square YHA

Address: 8 - 10 Lee St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 1,958 - ₹ 6,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Square YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Railway Square YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Square Yha Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Railway Square YHA staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Railway Square YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carriages are a little quieter, there are lots of backpackers here but they are wonderful people.”
 of 5 bubbles ayling845, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the train carriages are super awesome and unique but slightly smaller than the rooms and you are by the train station so it can be nosier.”
 of 5 bubbles O2097VUrebeccam, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The carriages may be fancy, but they are somewhat quite smaller than the classic dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles 57JamieJB, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Approach from Railway Square bus interchange - walk 50 m, behind the Adina apartment block.”
 of 5 bubbles janetabula, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT stay in room 204 or anywhere near the communal kitchen- there are speakers blasting music until 10pm.”
 of 5 bubbles LouisaA19, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5