We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,085: English reviews
Start your review of Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
 Click to rate
Tichborne
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a fabulous stay at the Pensione. The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were fantastic. The location was spot-on. Everything about our stay was great. It was great value for money, very comfortable and clean. I'd definitely stay there again. In fact we booked again before we left! A great place to stay if...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank searl1
Bielefeld, Germany
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having George Street torn up and the lift not working, lots of steps with four heavy bags did not get us off to a good start, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom well supplied with everything one would need. The room is too small for a chair, but that would have been useful. Everything was functioned well and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Trimmis
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stay in the hotel for just 3 nights. The hotel is in the mitel of the city, very easy for going by foot. The personal was very helpful and friendly. They help as for phone and give tips for the city

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralfjakobb
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Ralfjakobb, Thanks for your great review. We are so pleased our team were friendly and helpful and our location was perfect for your visit to the city. See you again soon! Warmest Regards, Simon Farr General Manager

.
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very good value for money - especially for a short stay. It is not luxury but perfectly clean and quiet. The process of booking and checking was fast and efficient. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. He was kind enough to upgrade us as we had two babies with us. The room was clean. The only thing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23chetg
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear 23chetg, Thanks for your great review. We are so pleased that our team provided fantastic service and our rooms for your stay met your expectations. We do utilize Mirco-Cloud pillow toppers, so we can certainly take this off if you prefer a firmer mattress. Love to see you back at Pensione Sydney soon. Warmest Regards, Simon Farr General Manager

Wales
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good value in one of the most expensive cities in the world. Would return without hesitation. Rooms clean and bathroom large enough. 30 minute's walk from bridge and harbour area. Central station 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction. In Chinatown with plenty of places to eat and drink.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pvf2
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read your experience was fantastic and to hear you will return Pvf2 is music to our ears. We can't wait to see you again so we can spoil you once more! Safe travels. Warmest Regards, Simon Farr General Manager

Warwick, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friends reunited and celebrating graduation. Perfect spot for walking, shuttles, taxis, eating. Easy to get to shops of all sorts and leap into cultural icons or events. Thankful for recommendation of agent and attractive photos on site.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susancZ8889dJH
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear SusancZ8889dJH, We are so pleased to read your review. It was a delight to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in Sydney. Safe travels. Warmest Regards, Simon Farr General Manager

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I always stay at this property when in Sydney. They never fail to deliver. The rooms are great. The location is excellent. And the facilities are always well maintained and clean. Thank you for a great experience!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank miketG8642IR
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Thanks for your review miketG8642IR, We are delighted to read that our team deliver every stay. We can't wait to welcome you back again. Safe travels. Warmest Regards, Simon Farr General Manager

nsw
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Pensione on a trip to Sydney to watch Adele (brilliant) stayed here. Old but clean. Rooms tiny. Staff friendly enough. Parking a pain in the rear end 1st directed to a parking lot that's already full! Then 2nd choice 800m away, to be validated at a 3rd location to get parking for $35 a night. Fair hike...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crazyforhols
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Crazyforhols, Thank you for your rounded review. The Light rail project certainly has caused some congestion on George Street, however we do apologize for the inconvenience relating to the parking. We could count on one hand the amount of times in the last three years that our affiliate car park has been fully occupied - it appears many people...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is good and it was fine for a one night business stay. But the rooms are nothing like the pictures on the internet. They are small and old. Even my bed sheet was torn. The reception is on the first floor, my room on the second, but the lift didn't work ... glad I didn't have too many...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adamlT8335DX
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Adam, Our team are certainly onsite 24/7 to assist with any connection to our free internet service. Should you require a top up in speed we do offer this as well for a small $5/24hr fee. Apologies regarding our lift, we do have two lifts on site for your reference. Our housekeeping team will certainly look...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is dated in an old building in George St which is undergoing work as tram track is being installed. One of the Pensione lifts was out of order, meaning a bit of a climb to Reception on levl 1 & then my room on level 3. The hotel is basic, with a small bar fridge, a very small ironing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 188petere
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear 188petere, Thanks for your review. We are pleased to read that our team were happy to assist in any way possible. We are in an heritage building (former post office), with some cool little quirks. Apologies that the front lift was out of order during your visit, we do for reference have a lift at the rear of the...

462 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Duo Pensione (29)
Viewed
Family Pensione (34)
Viewed
Standard Duo Pensione (21)
Viewed
Standard Trio Pensione (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
1,365 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,122 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
1,638 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#51 of 179 in Sydney
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 6,144 - ₹ 18,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
1 month ago
Quezon City, Philippines
2 months ago
Cairns, Australia
2 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms have King beds available on request.”
 of 5 bubbles 241cathyg, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stairs can be a problem, but has front and rear lifts. Four floors only - many buildings surround the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Westerner11, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to China Town, grat cafes restaurants, Darling Harbour, the Train Station, etc etc.”
 of 5 bubbles Jack187497, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“i always choose in downtown.... is better..........”
 of 5 bubbles jorgemE1659QG, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very close to every thing you need in Sydney”
 of 5 bubbles Toohey60, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5