We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Maisonette

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Maisonette
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Maisonette
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We travel from Brisbane to Sydney twice a year for my business and this trip I decided to try a new hotel in the same area. I called the reception months prior after having a look online as I wanted to ask about parking. I was told the car park was a 5 minute walk away and decided that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelsongroup
MaisonetteHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Shelsongroup Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We have just completed a major refurbishment in all our rooms and are pleased that you found it stylish. Not having towels after such a long journey would have been upsetting. We have spoken to our cleaning team and have put extra systems in place...

Fairfax
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Within a kilometer of major attractions and train station and a half a kilometer from on/off tour bus stop. Clean, quiet and lots of restaurants nearby. No elevators or bell staff and I had a heavy suitcase and three flights of stairs from street level.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack R
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Jack R, thank you for writing this review about us and our fantastic location. We couldn't agree with you more - we are surrounded by award winning restaurants, coffee shops, supermarket, laundromat and lots of other services you may need. You can hop on the bus or the train or just walk and be in the city centre in...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Located in Potts Point and bordering with Kings Cross, The Maisonettes is in a strategic situation. It's a few seconds away from the many vibrant and inviting cafes and restaurants. Walking along quaint and quiet streets and lanes, it only took us about half an hour to walk to Circular Quay, walking through the botanical gardens for the final ten...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Was A
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Was A, thank you for all the kind words! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. All the team will be looking forward to seeing you on your next visit :)

Melbourne
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Great value for Sydney. Just stayed here for a weekend, in a budget single room. Had shared bathroom but I never saw anyone else use it. Beautiful neighbourhood. Bit noisy as its above a restaurant but I was able to sleep through it. Close to everything you'll need, and more character than a chain hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanshantc
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Shanshantc, thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Maisonette. It is good to know that you had an enjoyable time while staying with us. The recent renovation has added an arty charm to all our rooms - thank you for complimenting that. We also think we are in a fantastic location and wouldn't change that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Arrived in early, Personal at the front desk very welcoming.Able to keep our luggage in their storage area.Just next door great coffee/food shop to sit and refresh with food and drinks.Security of Hotel entrance is by key only, or the front desk opens for you. The building inside has solid brick walls, So you do not here the people in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayez2016
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Kayez2016, thank you for taking time to write the review about your recent experience at our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and found Potts Point to be a great base for your holidays. When staying with us you get to experience Sydney as a local with many great restaurants, cafes, delis and markets in the area....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Clean and stylish in a really great location to sights and awesome food. The room was really comfortable. I liked the decor. Commentary drinking water and wifi was handy. The ensuite was very small but there was a mirror outside that was good for make up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 578alanas
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear 578alanas, thank you for complimenting our rooms and decor. We have put a lot of thought to make sure we've used the space the best way possible to create a comfortable and relaxing place for our guests. We are glad you liked the vanity mirror - it's a time saver when someone else is using the bathroom! Complimentary snack...

Melbourne
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I stayed at The Maisonette for two nights while attending a conference in Sydney. I chose this hotel because of its good reviews on Tripadvisor and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very quaint with tasteful decor and a limited number of rooms but my room was spacious with its own bathroom. I was on the third floor and as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Docmartin61
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Docmartin61, thank you for taking time to write this descriptive and kind review. You are very right - we are not a 5 star hotel and we do not offer some services like bigger and more expensive properties. What we however always try and do is make our guests feel like at home. We are delighted to hear you...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

For our needs the different room options were ideal (superior style double room and then a budget room with single bed and shared bathroom) - parents visiting backpacking daughter. The cleanliness of the hotel was impeccable and could not be faulted, other than shower curtain could have been slightly cleaner/ replaced in shared bathroom (or better, install a shower door)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Nicola M, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We have refurbished all our rooms late last year and we are pleased to read your positive thoughts about bedding and furniture. Our shared bathrooms are cleaned daily however we are sorry that the shower curtain in one of them wasn't up to our high cleanliness standard. We...

Upper Hutt
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Within walking distance of Sydney Harbour. Handy to buses to Central and to The Rocks, various cafes and restaurants, food marts and a laundry. Pleasant surrounds. Clean, comfortable room and good shower. Gift snack on arrival is a nice gesture.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleycB5725NR
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear ShirleycB5725NR, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and got to enjoy the Potts Point and all it has to offer. Our gift snack pack is a little "Thank you" to all the guests who choose to stay with us. When you decide to...

Gosford
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Very clean,comfortable bed, good shower. Appreciated knowledge by hostess as to restaurants and directions. Clean linen. water bottles and snacks a surprise bonus. Easy check in. Would be happy to stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithandstephaniew
MaisonetteHotel, Front Office Manager at The Maisonette, responded to this review

Dear Keith and Stephanie, Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you stay with us. Please contact us directly so we could offer you our Guest With Benefits rate for your next stay. We hope to see you soon!

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 179 in Sydney
736 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
413 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#10 of 62 in Sydney
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small well established affordable Boutique Hotel located in one of Sydney's premier locations known as Potts Point. Located only a short walk to the harbour foreshore, our hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience the best that Sydney has to offer. Recently refurbished, our rooms have been styled to maximise space and comfort. Experience the chic village lifestyle that makes Potts Point one of Sydney's most envious urban precincts. The neighbourhood offers visitors a vast choice of quality cafes, restaurants, wine bars, as well as a range of eclectic boutiques, antiques and design stores. On our doorstep is also a supermarket, delicatessen, laundromat, whole food store, bakery as well as excellent transport options. Being small we pride ourselves in being able to offer a more personal approach. Our front desk team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sydney is an enjoyable experience. We encourage guests to contact us direct so we can provide the best advise for your stay in Sydney. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maisonette

Address: 31 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 6,086 - ₹ 11,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maisonette 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Maisonette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maisonette staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Tuba Island, Malaysia
Melbourne, Australia
6 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Maisonette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor, a little walk up, but quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles JonathanD343, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Superior king size room on second floor was super”
 of 5 bubbles linda176, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“shuttle service to the airport available.”
 of 5 bubbles 540wasa, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that not all rooms have their own bathroom and if you can't carry your luggage upstairs choose a room on the lower floors.”
  • View from my room on the third floor.
 of 5 bubbles Docmartin61, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book early, rooms fill up!”
 of 5 bubbles Rob020, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay