We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Camperdown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 495: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights over Xmas and enjoyed another Rydges stay..well located and a cheap taxi ride away from bustling Darling Harbour. Rooms nice and clean with free parking a good bargain. Near to RPA hospital and Uni of Sydney campus. Nice view of City skyline.Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viv E
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Both my wife and I had qualified to compete in the state APL poker championships to be held at Hurlestone Park. Looking for a hotel in close proximity, we chose Rydges Camperdown. We were able to check into our allocated room at 10 a.m., so we dropped off our suitcase before proceeding to the poker tournament. The room contained a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaus E
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Merewether
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The room was large with an outlook towards the city. Very comfortable and quiet. When a mending emergency presented itself the staff found us a sewing kit to save the day. Easy parking and easy to drive to. Close to transport into city and a short walk to Newtown cafes and restaurants......Ideal if you were needing to visit RPA hospital.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

My husband & I came to Sydney for the misfits concert & booked a room at Glebe space across the road from the Rydges! Wasn't that a huge mistake! We quickly got a refund & walked across the road to the Rydges, they got us in a beautiful clean room & the staff were all very lovely! We came back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank _elllllen
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Location great for any event at university of Sydney, otherwise 15 minute bus ride to train station. A few restaurants walkable. Rooms good size, bathroom adequate, no wait for elevators, staff friendly, room a bit aged and could use a make over but ok for a stay. Good wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Mittagong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at several Rydges in the past 2 years, and this but far is the worst, staff didn't greet us, bar staff unprofessional, the tapas style share food was dreadful. Cocktail was horrible. I Normally love Rydges but I feel this particular venue let me down. The location was great, 24 hour room service was fantastic for a late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jono H
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Reviewed 11 December 2015

Stayed at the Rydges with two mates this week as a place to stay after a concert in Newtown. The rooms are non-smoking, however our room smelt of cigarette smoke, and upon return from the concert the stench was overpowering. The room was generously sized, and very neatly presented. The air conditioning did not seem to be functioning in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stegosaurusjim
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. However, if you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure it will be a memorable experience stay. Regards, Richard Hoe Director of Sales

Reviewed 6 December 2015

have visited many times as close to rpa for checkups. has not been updated for 10 yrs that we have been going there. always clean staff are always great never a problem . getting pricey for the standard of rooms on offer . wi fi now available and works well needs updating to stay competive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Regards, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Forster, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Rooms are a bit old and could do with a refurbish especially the bathrooms. Hated having to climb over a bath to have a shower. The staff were very pleasant but one let down was that the restaurant is not open on weekends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Regards, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Close to Newtown and easy access to transport. The room was just OK. Bathroom very old and not very clean. Bed was comfortable but pillows were like rocks. There was no minibar ( not even a bottle of water) which wasn't a problem for me but I was asked at checkout if I had used anything from the minibar. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewey7780
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to see your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped, and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper about the cleanliness of the bathroom and condition of the pillows, these issues will be followed up with her team and resolved as quickly as possible....

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#104 of 178 in Sydney
146 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#133 of 178 in Sydney
14 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe Space
#156 of 178 in Sydney
29 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#120 of 178 in Sydney
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 6,623 - ₹ 14,611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors are a bit better”
 of 5 bubbles 178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one, the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles JimboGil, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go below the 3rd floor (apparently) Rooms are even worse - we checked!”
 of 5 bubbles C2614EQstephenm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and city views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusBVictoria, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay