We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Zing Backpackers

Booking.comUS$ 37*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 55*
US$ 37*
Great Deal
US$ 50*
US$ 50*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Zing Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Zing Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed here 4 nights. I saw reports of noise but only one night did partying/ people moving furniture around keep us up. The kitchen and toilets are DIRTY, seemingly cleaned once a day if that. Kitchen also over crowded. Found staff to be unhelpful and unfriendly...Good location near metro station but so are lots of other hostels that will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itsbooma
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

The kitchen and toilets are cleaned 4 times a day.We now give guests their own set of kitchenware so the kitchen is much tidier.

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We only stayed there for one night, and it was ok. The bedroom was clean, with FAN, TV and wash basin, but without bathroom. The bathroom was ok, but shared with other people so you have to be patient. Simple breakfast, good for me but not too good for mi husband. Friendly staff and good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eloisa V
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Lille, France
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

depressing rooms, depressing showers and noisy hostel Staff OK Breakfast fine with coffee, bread and jam or peanut butter Unfortunately I do not think you will get a better place for the same price Location close to a metro station which is a good point

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline5984
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Noisy guests were thrown out-we agree that you won't get a better place for the same price!

Rennes, France
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I won't go at the zing for my next time in Sydney,We booked for 4 nights and didn't sleep because of the noise,the staff was friendly but useless against the noise and the others guest behaviors...hostel to avoid

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 194manond
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

We had some noisy guests that we have now thrown out.

Reviewed 29 July 2016

This hostel has a lot of atmosphere and character, with cute cartoon wall murals inside a pair of old heritage style houses. We booked a private room and lucked out with a lovely second floor room with private balcony. The double bed was very comfortable and came with 4 pillows and clean soft sheets. The room has a small counter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Overall a good stay but doesn't enjoy it quite much. Entered the room with uncleaned fan! And no laundry as per advertised and no attached private bathroom as well. Falsify advertisement on their website! But it's overall average stay for a Budget backpacker

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank calvinchaikf
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you had a good stay.

Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions and a total of around 8 weeks. Zing is my home away from home. The location is perhaps one of its top selling points. So close to everything u need and want, and if your still not satisfied or hungry for more, u r 2 mins away from the train station which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I had a great time staying here. So much so that I came to stay a second time. It was a home away from home. Great location. Ideal if you want to get to the CBD easily aswell as the botanic gardens, opera house and bridge. Also not far from bondi beach!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101backpacker
Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I saw a lot of good review for this backpack. I went eyes close ! Sadly for us. The room was dirty, no one did clean it for a long time. Just behind the reception, the room was really noisy. Kitchen closed at 8pm... Not a good memory ! Go somewhere else in the street !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachelrM5746EL
California
Reviewed 28 February 2016

I saw pink spots developing on my hands and legs. I thought it was mosquito bites at first but they developed to sores and turned out to be spider bites and Im in pain. Not a great way to start my time in Sydney.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bas233

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#18 of 139 in Sydney
235 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#21 of 139 in Sydney
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
270 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#45 of 139 in Sydney
118 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Zing Backpackers

Address: 156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 1,163 - ₹ 4,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zing Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Zing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zing Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floors are more quiet since they are further from the courtyard.”
AyLevy, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
sharoni297, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“its a hostel expect some noise young people are alive and well!”
GOONERGONNAGETYA, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cheap and in Kings Cross”
Camypoo, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room #25 or #26 for the street-view balcony”
sarahwC2726IH, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 37* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 50
TravelocityUS$ 50
Expedia.comUS$ 55
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates