We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 348: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I knew my double room had a private bathroom across the hall so wasn't surprised. It was all they had left or I would have taken an ensuite. Shared bathrooms are there if you want to save money. My room was very small but clean- the only housekeeping for 3 days was emptying the bins but reception gave me fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew D
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am completely perplexed as to how this hostel has ratings of 4+ stars. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double room with a shared bathroom for three nights. While the location is great, everything else was dismal. The room - As soon as I walked into 1006 I immediately regretted my decision. There was an overwhelming smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomeq381
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arrival, systems were down and were not allowed to check in until 5 hours later. Once in our rooms, the wifi we paid for was spotty and barely worked. My sheets were stained. The ensuite bathroom door did not close all of the way. The bins under the bed for luggage were broken, jagged, and cut my leg. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinduhC
Torrance, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for four nights. If it was refundable, we would have left. There were six of us in the family, three in room 907 and three in room 1007. Where do I begin? The odor of mold assails you as soon as you open the door. A tiny cockroach greeted us in the bathroom, followed by a bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a90505
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I live up in North Queensland and travel to Sydney quite often to visit friends and I love this place. The staff are amazing and helpful, it's always clean, and the rooms are well prices for what you get. Check-in is always great because they remember me and make my stay even more welcome. The great atmosphere and the friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rayraylanglois
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as i walked into this hostel i was greeted by friendly and helpful staff! I had just arrived in Australia so i was a bit nervous but they put me at ease straight away. The manager of the hostel checked me in himself which i thought was a nice touch! I was there for 1 day originally and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerUK1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So good I couldn't even give them one star! If you fancy waking up to cockroaches on your pillow or finding some semen on your sheets then this is the place for you! There is one lift for hundreds of people which isn't a hassle at all! Despite there being another lift, it is currently out of order, as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraMelv
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I'm not one to write reviews about places, but I feel like I need to warn people about this place so that no one goes here. They gave us a room that as soon as we entered smelled horrible (like mold). This made sense as we found a couple big patches of mold on the wall. We requested a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariellaella
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Ariella, I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us at Nomads Sydney. We strive to make sure all of our guests have an amazing stay with us and from the review you have left it does not sound like we met either your or our expectations. In regards to the state of...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Central location and a great atmosphere. Friendly staff and met the best people there. The rates are cheap and the rooms are okay. Every day something going on like free barbecues, bondi to coogee walk and free entry + drink in bars every night!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaana J
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Jaana! Stoked to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Westend and made the most of all the events we chuck on! Have a great time in Australia and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Sydney! Cheers, Tom

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Where to start? Lets do the positive things and the rason this is two stars and not one: - Location is great - Staff was really nice Now the not positive parts: - The general appearance of the hostel is dirty and run down. - One elevator for over 10 floors. You are guaranteed a long wait for it. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Sonia, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have the best stay with us here at Nomads Sydney! I can assure you that the issues you have listed during your stay are not the the standards that we expect here and I truly apologize for that. Our building is fast approaching it's 90th birthday and does have an antique...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#26 of 133 in Sydney
649 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#19 of 133 in Sydney
580 reviews
790 on George
#44 of 133 in Sydney
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#5 of 133 in Sydney
1,257 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Sydney, Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at NOMADS Sydney is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Nomads Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Sydney

Address: 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: ₹ 1,479 - ₹ 7,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Nomads Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Once you have decided on the number of beds, sort out the bathroom options.”
 of 5 bubbles 822andrewd, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I can't comment on the dorm rooms but room 1006 was foul.”
 of 5 bubbles nomeq381, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look at room before paying”
 of 5 bubbles a90505, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just don't stay here!!”
 of 5 bubbles alex17242, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“want a room closer to the middle, the elevator stopped at all of those floors”
 of 5 bubbles 470emn, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5