We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Sydney Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Sydney Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Sydney Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,570: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed Friday night at Rydges and had a pleasant stay the room was clean and staff friendly and I liked the black curtains that blocked out the light . The location is near central station and we walked to the football . I was happy with the value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Garry, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The blackout blinds work wonders for a cheeky sleep in! I hope your team had a win. Hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

Mt Martha, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel, close to great food and a very doable walk to the city, otherwise across the road from central station for any further travel. The room was spacious and clean and service was great, even a very late call for a different pillow was no trouble at all. And for the Melbourne coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlajane42
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Carlajane, Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, so pleased you enjoyed your weekend stay with us in Sydney. We are very fortunate to be close by to some great restaurants and bars in the Surry Hills area. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip up to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

I checked in at 0745 and was all ready to go to bed. While I was sleeping I was rudely awaken by the noise that Rydges Central was doing renovation or some work outside my window below my room. When I called the reception they said they had no control of the work being done. In the first place why...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HotelHell9
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We did have some emergency repairs that needed to be completed last week, we do apologise that it affected your sleep. I am glad we were able to offer you another room so you could get some sleep though. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. PGR member but won't again,this property lets the brand down. Location is about a 7 minute walk from Central Railway Station and about 10 minutes up to Hyde Park. I did arrive early and check in was fast friendly and efficient and I was accommodated early. I was on the 7th floor (room 716)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BSWAustralia
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. Sorry to hear about the troubles you had while in your room I have passed this feedback onto our Housekeeping and F&B Teams. For people who are light sleepers you can ask for a room on...

Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

First thing we noticed about the room was the weird smell - sort of like chlorine, I guess due to being on the same level as the pool. Kettle cord was so short we had to have it on the floor to plug it in & don't even bother ordering room service! Worst meal ever and we ordered quite simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren Y
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Your feedback has been passed onto our F&B...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The hotel staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very obliging. From my point of view as an earlier resident of Sydney I found being out in Surry Hills a little too far out from the city centre, even though there is nothing to fault the transport system. Proximity to airport was good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June R
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear June, Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear you got to enjoy the benefits of being a Priority Guest Rewards member during your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

This is a no-frills, business hotel located conveniently in CBD. The check-in was super fast and took a minute. The hotel allows you to checkin using your mobile and even your room no. is allocated. Very convenient. The rooms are very big and the in-room dining was decent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reem_Saied
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Our online check in has been a popular addition since we added it last year, I’m glad you found it convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Had no problems at all this hotel for 1 nights stay. Near to central station and very near most cafes at nearby surrey hills and Chinatown. Would recommend this for a short stay as its pretty decent and central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krish9
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Krish. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

The accommodation was great. No problems there but the affiliated restaurant was a disappointment to be frank. Having no fish, polenta or steak options on a Friday night in Sydney is really not acceptable. As people who cannot, by dietary requirements, really handle pasta, you can see how this left a bad impression in our minds. Apparently there was some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sme G
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced in Bar Surry Hills and Italian Kitchen on Friday night, I will pass your feedback through to our F&B Manager and Executive Chef. We hope that the experience hasn’t dampened your thoughts on the hotel and that we will be able...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Close to central station, edge of CBD but still easy walk to main spots of the city. Restaurant has good meals. Rooms are a good size, clean, well appointed, beds are comfortable. Staff are friendly. Decent size gym and pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tashemtravellin
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management

609 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (322)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Balcony Room (42)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (42)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Studio Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
1,439 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
3,914 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: ₹ 7,866 - ₹ 16,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Sydney Central staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
7 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Sydney Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the street side are quieter.”
bryanb169, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“access to public”
hamdi571, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Deluxe rooms on the higher floors away from the Tourist Coach Hordes”
GrantN505, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is great , I prefer to be away from the lift & up a few floors”
756johni, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing north have a nice inner city view, but no water”
500brucem, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5