We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elephant Backpacker

Hostelworld.comUS$ 34*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 45*
US$ 34*
Great Deal
US$ 45*
US$ 45*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

staff are extremely rude, they don't help you with anything, dirty, messy, wifi doesn't work any where.. I told them I was going to stay long term and payed just for the first week, and when I was going to pay my 2 one they just told me that I had to do check out that day at 10.00 am.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla S. A
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Carla, when you made the booking by phone you advised you may stay long term. When you checked in you paid for a week and didn't ask reception to reserve anything further for you. We refunded one of your deposits as a good will gesture as there is a $20 late check out fee. You stayed with us for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2016

stayed for about 8 months total, loved every minute! great location, really nice staff, 2$ beers in the café! the toilets could've done with a bit better cleaning but when everyone works for accom what can u really expect! really cheap, good location, can't complain! 100% would recommend to others! :) :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellyorich
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Kelly, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and we are sad to see you leave! If you are ever in Sydney again we would love to have you back. Enjoy your travels.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Wasn't expecting much for the price. I booked it after a long term stay in a flat as I had a few days left before I went home. Want to keep it cheap as I was leaving basically I just wanted a bed. However I felt it was really fair for what I paid. The room was large (had an...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbain687
Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the time you have taken to write such a detailed review. We are happy to hear that you had such a good time at our hostel. If you ever come back to Australia we would be happy to have you as a guest again.

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

I've been in this hostel 6 years ago when it was used to called "harbour city backpackers"... staff told me it's still the same, they just changed names. Not really the same anymore.. rooftop is closed, no activities like wine & cheese or pubcrawls anymore, they say they're no partyhostel which is okay. They do have a small bar with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline S
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Jacqueline. We are glad the hostel is not what it used to be with the previous owners. We have worked very hard to change the "party environment" which we know so many guests hate and are happy to have a quiet clean hostel. Also commenting on "rumours" that did not directly affect you and your stay is not reflecting...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Being my first time staying at a backpackers inn and after reading some reviews of other nearby hostels in Sydney, I was a bit unsure of how things would go at The Elephant Backpackers. I stayed 2 nights and I have to say I'd highly recommend staying there. The people were friendly, the staff were helpful, the wifi worked well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Mitchell, good to see your first experience staying at a backpackers went well!! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and please come back and stay with us again.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 6 February 2016

The hostel is in a huge old building with 48 rooms on 4 floors. Wifi was only available in public areas but didn't work very well. The atmosphere wasn't good at all and the kitchen very basic. All the shelves are empty or locked and you have to ask the reception for every fork/pot etc. you need and leave your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie567890
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, it seems you have grossly misquoted myself as you clearly advised the label could have fallen off your bag therefore not following our process. You questioned if items could get stolen to which I replied it has happened previously but there was no issues at this present time. When writing a review please be mindful of writing the truth.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Ive been in New Zealand for the past 2 months so compared to the hostels there it is rather basic. Nothing bad just basic. For example, in most of the hostels in NZ the kitchens are fully stocked with cooking equipment, plates & crockery etc but at the Elephant u have to get everything from reception. The good thing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTrop
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Virginia, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we take on the feedback you have given and aim to improve the premises on a continued maintenance schedule. We hope to have you as a guest again.

Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

I stay here a few time, I really like. It's cheap and good situations, close to everything. Any time I in sydney I book here. No party hostel which make me happy. The toilet and shower basic but clean. Free WiFi, slow but it a big place. Any friend I have in the city I tell to come here. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndeda m
Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

This place is perfect for people that are in a round trip and don't need so many things. For me was good, I had a comfortable bed, a decent toilet and a place where you can cook. The only annoying thing was that the key stopped to work like a thousand times. But everything else was good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pau_sal_cas
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for review and the feedback regarding your key. Unfortunately the key cards are very sensitive and can deactivate when near mobile phones and credit cards. We appreciate this is annoying however our 24 hour reception are always happy to rectify this. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I planned to only stay 1 week but ended up staying a month. The hostel is in an amazing location - just on the edge of the city. It is a really old building which keeps getting a bad rap. I think it was a hotel 100 years ago so has that old appearance and feeling. But it is relatively...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhyschamberlain22
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Rhys. Thank you for your honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 137 in Sydney
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#23 of 137 in Sydney
279 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#18 of 137 in Sydney
133 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 137 in Sydney
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 1,092 - ₹ 3,853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast is in cafe which is hidden a bit down a corridor - check it out though!”
, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book here at all.”
jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Anything outside this hostel.”
  • I swear, that's how the sinks look like...
  • Stains, mould and bugs all around...
  • That shampoo bottle spent TWO nights there.
  • The
  • ... and the
  • Hazmats required?
  • The
  • Would you call that a
makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 34* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 45
Expedia.comUS$ 45
Hotwire.comUS$ 45
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates