We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
59 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011 Australia
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (26)

About

#2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a boutique family owned hotel located in a great convenient spot to explore different parts of our beautiful city, public transport is very close so no need for a car. We are less than 2 kilometers from city centre and harbour. We have a great variety of local restaurants close by, supermarkets, laundries are all also close to us. The accommodation is a great inexpensive option for Sydney, if you wish to dine in our café a great value breakfast and lunch is offered if you wish, Free internet is offered. We look forward to meeting you all.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Coffee shop
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
378Reviews9Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 194
  • 147
  • 23
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
BeatiG64 wrote a review Jan 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom
Hotel 59 is clean, basic, definitely dated and yet a comfy place to sleep if like me your in Sydney sightseeing. Hotel is less than 5 mins from Kings Cross Station and 2 mins from buses into the city. There's everything you need locally from supermarkets, restaurants & nightlife. Definitely recommend If looking for affordable accommodation in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
TorontoCarol wrote a review Dec 2019
Toronto, Ontario
the price was very reasonable; room was smallest of our 3 week trip to Aus but I expected that for a world class city. the breakfast (additional cost $25 for two including extra cappuccino) was very very good; it was also nice to eat outside (our choice...there is also seating inside)). the location is good...we could walk to the botanical gardens, opera house and the metro (subway…very close) although bearings are confusing initially, due to the shape of the harbour… avoid room 6: the shower leaks constantly and so there was mould. I took a Benadryl to sleep every night (I have allergies) and that stripped the mucus off my sinuses: I then got a head cold I surely didn't need on holiday. They need to fix the leak! George barely said hello when we arrived, which was not appreciated after 3 flights to get to Australia and then the shuttle taking us all over before dropping us off last (we were at the cheap hotel so I guess that that is why we were last). George then said “your credit card expired”. Well, 3 weeks before our arrival, I emailed Hotel 59 to tell them exactly that and to give them the new expiry date: his sister confirmed the receipt of that information…yet this was our greeting. he did help lift my suitcase up and down the steep stairs and we were able to store our luggage for a few hours on the departure date. Because the airport shuttle was so slow, we walked to the subway and took it/the train directly to airport on our departure from Sydney. This neighbourhood used to be a wild party area; no sign of that now although there are still strip joints a couple of blocks away if that’s an issue for you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: avoid room 6 until they fix the leak
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bays, Owner at Hotel 59
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Carol from Toronto The shower was not leaking and no mould is evident if you do not turn off the water it will leak, this was evident everyday when we serviced room. We do not have any memory of your term of events at check in, regarding credit card I have checked all email correspondence and your description is slightly askew. You did send a new expiry date but this card was still declined, I apologise if you were offended with me asking for new card. Isn't that a normal check in process? We also explain before arrival we can not guarantee to drop you off and early check in, people still can stay in the room till 10.30am we can not throw out the people from the room beforehand. We did have room ready for you asap. The shuttle does drop off at all the hotels in a specific route and no it doesn't stop here last because we are a cheap hotel, on the return it picks up here then goes straight to airport. I'm glad it ended well with me carrying your bags. Thank you for your footnote at the end I hope its pleased you.
Read more
449mnm wrote a review Dec 2019
Scotland, United Kingdom
Had a great week here in October followed by a second week in November. We had stayed here for a fortnight in 2017 and were more than happy to stay here again. Comfortable family owned owned hotel, (with good WiFi), in a great location. Kings Cross Station is 5 minutes walk away a there’s plenty of restaurants nearby. Not only that, the cafe on the ground floor does a great breakfast. If and when I’m back in Sydney, I’ll definitely be back here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bays, Owner at Hotel 59
Responded 12 Dec 2019
Dear Mike and Fay So great to have the pleasure of meeting you both again and enjoying your friendly and genuine company. We are grateful for your continued support. Regards From everyone at hotel 59
Read more
KatinaExplores wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom
This room was exactly what I needed - small, no fuss, and in a great location. Had been to Sydney many times but never stayed in the Cross, and I would easily return here. The room and bathroom were very clean, the bed was comfortable and George was very easygoing and happy to answer questions. I was able to use the communal ironing facilities (though the board could do with replacing), and sometimes the wifi didn't work in my room, but past that I was happy with my stay and would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Libby B wrote a review Oct 2019
Likes: great location (short walk to Kings Cross Station, longer but nice walk to the Harbor through the Botanical Gardens), great breakfast, quieter than expected at night (even in room facing street), strong hot shower, good price Dislikes: subpar mattress, sheets and blanket were stained, hallway smelled musty, decor is tired, WiFi is extremely spotty and often useless, our booking said “inner courtyard view” but we were overlooking the street Things to know: no elevator and rather narrow stairs
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bays, Owner at Hotel 59
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Dear Lubby2563 Thankyou for the likes, for the dislikes mattress is still in its life cycle and is medium to semi firm. Complaints are very few to none. Would have preferred to show us the stains on sheets and blanket, or were they ok to still sleep on during your stay. Did you not realise the supposed musty smell in hallways was the new wool carpets we just had installed. Anyone that has installed new wool carpet will know the distinctive smell. Yes there is no elevator or lift, to be clear again we are only 2 levels and it is already very well documented, with reasonable size luggage stairs are no problem. Room description is done by booking.com the room had a great outlook to the treelined street. Thanks George
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel 59 sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel 59
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel 59?
Nearby attractions include Bamboozle Room (0.3 km), Hayes Theatre (0.5 km), and El Alamein Memorial Fountain (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel 59?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel 59?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hotel 59?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel 59?
Conveniently located restaurants include Farmhouse Kings Cross, Friggitoria, and Malabar South Indian Restaurant in Darlinghurst.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel 59?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel 59?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chinese Garden of Friendship (2.1 km), State Theatre (1.7 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.1 km).