We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Sydney

Show Prices
#58 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,189: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would recommend Sydney Mercure to all. I have never come across a friendlier hotel team with such high regard for the happiness and comfort of guests. Everyone went above and beyond to see that I enjoyed my stay. Like all hotels some rooms vary from boxy to large but the cleanliness and creature comforts are all there.

Helpful?
Thank Elise K
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Elise, Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Mercure Sydney. I am most delighted you had an enjoyable stay and am pleased to pass on your comments to all the team. Thank you for choosing Mercure Sydney and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After our confirmed booking was double booked by The Urban Hotel and they sent us out on the street and had nowhere to stay, booking.com found us a last minute room at the Mercure which completely turned our horrible night around and saved the whole trip from being a total disaster! The lovely concierge was so sympathetic and helpful she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lmnich986
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lmnich986 Thank you for your comments on your recent experience at Mercure Sydney. I am delighted we were able to rescue you and you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying our services and facilities. I appreciate you sharing your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for 3 nights for a business seminar in sydney. mercure was one i usually consider when in sydney. great hotel, with excellent customer service, everybody was polite, friendly and efficient. located close to the central station, a few minutes walk from the darling, with lots of good find cafes along the way. room was of good size, clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lanaosbourne8883
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear lanaosbourne8883 Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. It is pleasing to read you had a great stay with us, enjoying the friendly, helpful service provided by our staff, the hotel's ideal location and all the facilities available. I appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the most enjoyable night staying here whilst in Sydney for a conference. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Beautifully clean and comfortable room and bed, gorgeous city view, and a really good breakfast in the morning. Enjoyed a great swim in the pool in the morning too. As a busy travelling woman staying at many hotels often, I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally W
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sally W Thank you for sharing your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am delighted you had a great stay with us, enjoying every aspect of the hotel from the excellent service provided by our staff, to the clean comfortable rooms. I have passed on your comments to the team. Thank you again for your review and I look forward... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to Central station and with easy access to airport link and the City Loop to the rest of the CBD. An easy 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour and the Powerhouse Museum. I felt that some of the staff were very offish, unhelpful, loud sighs when interacting with guests, cutting through to be first into the lift rather than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rakehoe
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rakehoe Thank you for your review. Although I am pleased your enjoyed the buffet breakfast, and the service provided by Concierge, I do sincerely apologise for the poor service encountered by some team members. This is certainly not the usual high standards to which we are proud of, and please rest assured that this will be addressed accordingly in... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with mum and daughter, room is smallish but manageable with 3 of us. Hotel very close to central station and therefore easily accessible to everything. In the local area, good cafes for breakfast and very close to spice alley, head towards Kensington street! Also being close to train station plenty of street eats and also a Priceline (pharmacy) in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nygen14
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Nygen14 Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. I am most pleased your enjoyed your overall stay with us, particularly finding the hotel in a great location for your needs, the friendly service provided by our staff and all the facilities available for your use. I appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back when next... More 

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kate at the reception provided excellent service and with a smile at 2:30am. We were exhausted and in less than 10 mins we were in the room. She gave us the deluxe room with the King size bed and a panoramic view. The King size bed was heaven. Location is fantastic next to the train station. Thank you Kate, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank SIanchong
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear SIanchong Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. I am most delighted you had a great stay with us and that Kate was able to accommodate you in one of our King Rooms. I have shared your comments with the team and have personally thanked Kate for her excellent service. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a comfortable stay. I chose this hotel as I am an Accor member and I like to know what to expect when I go to a hotel. So bed was comfortable, towels large, shower hot and water pressure good. Location wasn't really great, no where really close by to eat except for fast food ( KFC and McDonald... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudine Z
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Claudine Z Thank you for sharing your review of your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am pleased to note you had a comfortable stay, enjoying the facilities we have available and the friendly, helpful service provided by our staff. I appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards... More 

Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good experience with staff and room comfort and conditions. I was greeted at reception in a friendly way, found the room to be quiet and comfortable and had a very good buffet breakfast before checking out.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 630cliftonb
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 630cliftonb I appreciate you sharing your positive comments. I am delighted you had a great first experience with us, and .look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was very handy for Central station making it easy to move around Sydney using Opal card transportation. Rooms very clean and staff very friendly. Easy on arrival and departure and only issue for me was the fact that we flew out of Sydney at 22.00 but unable to keep our room past 13.00.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Glyn R Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased to note your overall stay was most satisfactory, particularly enjoying the hotel's ideal location, clean rooms and friendly service provided by our staff. I do however regret that we were not able to extend your check-out time on this occasion as we were heavily booked and other guests... More 

1,054 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (478)
Viewed
Room/Suite (146)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Balcony Room (51)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Privilege Room King (62)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (64)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Superior City View Room (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
1,156 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 8,886 - ₹ 22,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Sydney staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Western Australia

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street facing,that will give a good view of the shopping area.”
 of 5 bubbles 392sampathn, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“North facing rooms have a better view,ask if you can get an up grade for a little price its worth every cent”
 of 5 bubbles Q9290KCdebbieb, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“city view facing clock tower so you know the time when you awake and on higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lucy9908, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a smoking room if you're a smoker.”
  • View from our double bed room on the 11th floor.
  • View from our double bed room on the 11th floor.
  • Our 'smoking' room. It was fantastic!
 of 5 bubbles SueTjelland, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“14th Floor is the highest floor and ask for city views”
 of 5 bubbles tommomelbourne, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay