We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Sydney

Show Prices
#57 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,360: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Sydney
 Click to rate
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a week in March 2015 (won't let me say any earlier than April 2016). It's very close to lots of great amenities e.g train and bus stations, and a very central place to stay for exploring the city. Great pool on the top floor which was always quiet when we used it. Our room was well presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catladylaura
warren
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Mercure Sydney is always a great place to stay, centrally located close to transport and eateries I always find the staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good middle of the range hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorw579
northumberland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here in April 2013 and found this hotel extremely comfortable so as I was joining a ship from here, I had no hesitation in booking the same hotel for two nights pre-cruise. I requested a high floor, overlooking Geoge Street. I got a room on floor 12 but the view was awful - room 1217. Unfortunately, upon checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diarykeeper
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel after having to move from a backpackers that was not up to standard. The Mercure was ideal, lovely room with comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. The bath and shower were very good and the room spotless. We asked at reception and we're given a code for free wifi. The staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Valerie Thank you for posting a review of Mercure Sydney. I am most pleased you had a comfortable stay with, enjoying our facilities we have available. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Even though our stay was short, Our stay was really good. We were greeted with smiles and our concierge was full of smiles and very helpful. Enjoyed the pool. We will definitely come back to stay again. Thankyou

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L9591KNamandag
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear L9591KNamandag Thank you for posting a review. I am delighted your overall stay was most pleasant, enjoying the friendly service provided by our staff and our relaxing pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

nice clean rooms and a central location next to central station -sydney ! Always a winning combination for a holiday. Parking was expensive for my car though @ $35 per night. Breakfast was same monotonous menu for the entire 7 nights we stayed here so that should be looked at by managers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vipul C
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Vipul I appreciate you review and glad you had a great stay, particularly enjoying the clean rooms and the hotel's convenient location. I have also taken on board your constructive comments regarding car parking the breakfast menu in which we will review accordingly. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nothing was a problem when we checked in. The staff were absolutely fantastic and made our stay very comfortable. The bed, wow, I didn't want to get out of it! Probably one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in! Very handy to a lot that this part of Sydney has to offer - Great food in easy walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeamDownUnder
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear TeamDownUnder Thank you for your positive review of your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am most pleased you had a comfortable stay with us, enjoying the great service provided by our staff, the hotel's ideal location, the comfy bed and our Eve's Bar on the ground floor. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard...

Perth
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for our anniversary which was over the Mardi Gras weekend. We had 4 wonderful nights in a balcony room. Check in was super easy and the staff were so helpful and lovely. A special thank you to Jennifer at Reception for making us feel so welcome and special. Our room on the top floor had amazing views over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa0000Perth
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lisa Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. What a pleasure to read! I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and I am proud to share your comments with the team. I have also personally thanked Jennifer, Ajith and Riley for their excellent service. Happy anniversary, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Jakarta
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay 5-nights, and I need to juggling creating multiple reservations to trick the promo rate. The booking engine is quite weird. The promo rate on the first 2-days is available, however if I book for 5-nights in single reservation, the booking engine give me full-rate for 5-nights. So I end up with multiple reservations. Explaining the situation via email to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bud14rto
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Bud14rto Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am pleased to note your overall stay was most satisfactory, enjoying in particularly the hotel's ideal location and our check in and check our service. I do however sincerely apologise for the lapse in our cleaning standards on this occasion. Please rest assured that I...

1,102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (526)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Balcony Room (51)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Privilege Room King (62)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (64)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Superior City View Room (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 179 in Sydney
1,212 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,185 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
4,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 8,828 - ₹ 16,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Sydney staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Western Australia

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors enjoy a nice view onto city.”
 of 5 bubbles 915vipulc, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms with a view towards the city are great!”
 of 5 bubbles TeamDownUnder, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor. Room facing to the north for unobstructed view. Avoid room facing to the west.”
  • Two single bed in lowest room category.
 of 5 bubbles Bud14rto, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The city view rooms on the higher levels provide great views.”
 of 5 bubbles GaV6869, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Join the ACCOR program, been upgraded to executive floor last two times, 13 floors, quiet and bigger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles johnpaulm564, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5