We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Sydney Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Sydney Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,166: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Sydney Central
 Click to rate
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights as it was close to the university I was visiting. My room was cozy and had no issues. Room service menu selection was not the best, but I made it work. I loved the breakfast buffet both mornings. Close walk to UTS and Good restaurants in Chinatown. Special thanks to the woman who was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimthailand
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Kimthailand, Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel while you where visiting your Uni. Its great to hear that found the hotel perfect for all of your needs. I have passed on your comments to Bridget who was the staff member that helped with your bags. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you come...

sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed here a few times now. It's pricing can be sharper than the other Novotel at Darling Harbour. The rooms are not huge but they are meticulously clean and the breakfast selection is excellent. Very convenient to Chinatown, Paddys Market and the convention centre. Would gladly go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozrick33Sydney
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Ozrick33Sydney, Its great to hear that you find our hotel perfect for your needs. Our executive housekeeper is extremely proud of her team and it is great to know that you found your room to be cleaned perfectly. I will be sure to pass on your comments to her. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first stay at the Novotel in Haymarket in Sydney. I stayed for one night on a business trip. I have stayed at a few Novotel properties in Australia and Europe and this one lived up to the standards. Not five star but comfortable, clean and with all of the services you expect from a Business Hotel. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdsamsara
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

jdsamsara, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that we were able to provide you with everything you were looking for during your short stay in Sydney. We are immensely proud of the service that we offer and are glad that it met your expectations. Next time you are hear I hope you will have...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice central hotel, good location for China town and Markets. Room was very nice, bath very small but all in all nice place. Breakfast excellent. I would recommend this Hotel, however price was a little steep when I spoke to others comparing hotels like for like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen20012014
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, Its great to hear that you found the hotel suitable for all of your needs. I have shared your comments with our team regarding the breakfast. We find that our breakfast provides an excellent variety and a great start to the day. Thank you for your recommendation for the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Stanhope Gardens
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Novotel Sydney Central is clean, comfortable, quiet and perfect for a business visit to Sydney. A few simple strides to Central Train Station and the light rail. Close to restaurants and the CBD. Staff are very friendly. The room service menu is well thought out and the food has been consistently good. The bathroom in 1022 is luxurious in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David & Juliann... S
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi David & Juliann... S, Its great to hear that you have found our hotel suitable for your stay with us. Our Chef is always working on improving his menus and was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room service so much. I'm glad the hotel provided you the perfect location to conduct your business from. I trust you...

Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed overnight at this hotel, and found it to be pretty good. The location is very convenient to Central Station (especially as it's next to the Goods Line which connects with the Devonshire Street Tunnel), but as the hotel is on a back street it's not affected by street noise. My room was large and well equipped, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Case_11
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Case_11, Thank you so much for your glowing review of the hotel. I completely agree with you the hotel is situated in an awesome location, not only is it close to Central station but due to it being located on a quiet street there is no noise from the street. I have made note of your suggestions and will...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 639abbie
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently attended a conference and the rooms were arctic. While there was temperature cintril, the only way we were able to control conditions was to turn it off. We had wifi problems, staff attended promptly but couldn't address the issue - indicating it was the user machines in error - not great in customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa31w
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Lisa31w, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent conference experience. I would like to apologise for the issues you had regarding the air conditioning. We will be working with the team to iron out any issues with the system and ensure it is operating correctly for all conference guests. Technology can always...

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Hotel, Great friendly Staff, quality check-in service, well appointed rooms, although views not great, wonderful lobby bar, again attentive staff even though very busy at times, wonderful lobby restaurant elegantly separated from the Main reception Lobby and Bar by what appears to be a chainmail dividing curtain. Dinner was superb, tasty quality food, steaks, oysters, seafood all very tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Stephen O, Thank you for your awesome review of the hotel. We love getting in depth reviews like yours. I have shared your review with everyone in the hotel. It is positive feedback like this that makes all the difference for the team. Helps reinforces that all of the work the team put into providing great service is paying off....

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted an early check-in (which i'd already emailed about) but no rooms available unless we paid for an upgrade. It was a nice room with a small balcony so no complaints. Used the restaurant for an evening meal and one breakfast but pricy. Overall very good, very friendly, some issues with housekeeping but they were dealt with as you'd expect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluecardholder
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi bluecardholder, Thank you very much for your review. While we do our best to check in all guests when they arrive we don't always have the ability to do so. When this happens we contact our housekeeping team to arrange a room for you as soon as possible. I really enjoy reading reviews where the team has solved guest...

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (42)
Viewed
King Executive Suite (38)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (40)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#56 of 179 in Sydney
4,655 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#96 of 179 in Sydney
58 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#71 of 179 in Sydney
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 9,620 - ₹ 18,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Sydney Central staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Sydney Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Centrally located, trains and buses close, .Walk to scenic locations and free city bus on George Street.”
 of 5 bubbles 516stepheno, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High up to get a view over the city.”
 of 5 bubbles bluecardholder, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“close to darling harbour and central station”
  • the room 2
  • the room 3
  • view from my room
  • the room
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The 17th and 18th floors are the executive levels and the view are good.”
 of 5 bubbles 383noelc, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms faces buildings with no views”
 of 5 bubbles agkoshy85, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5