We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Square Hotel

  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capitol Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 429: English reviews
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Average hotel and worth for money to stay here. The room is not too big and not really clean. The breakfast is good but limited choice of foods. I stayed here for 3 nights for business trip in Sydney. It is near to attractive sightseeing area such as China Town, Sydney Town Hall, Sydney Tower Eye and etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaynePGMY
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

We value your opinion and feedback in regards to your stay at the hotel, and I am pleased to learn that you have found value in staying with us. The hotel is currently undergoing some maintenance and soft refurbishment, and believe that your next stay with us will be more pleasant.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2013

the staff were friendly , my room was clean and comfortable , loved the room i had and if and when i go back i reckon i will ask for that one again, plenty of room for me the shower lovely and hot , Breakfast was awesome as . yes can hear some noise from the street but it's double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenelle M
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel looks ok from the outside but the rooms very old. Not really maintained well. We requested for queen bed but was given 2 single beds that were joined together! Anyway we paid for this room at promo rate which was $93 a night - would not have paid full price for the room. On the plus side, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swim_jess
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to learned that you have found convenience in our location. The hotel is currently getting a soft refurbishment and trust that it will be to your liking for your next stay. We certainly would like you back to stay with us, and please do not hesitate to contact me for your next booking.

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location, average room. For the price, the room was kind of average, and tiny. The carpet looked very old and the room had a musty smell to it (even after having the window open all night). It's not a luxury hotel, but seemed very ordinary nevertheless. The room had air conditioning (even though I only used it once) which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evanrm
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of the hotel. We are pleased that you have found our location convenient. Some of the rooms will be undergoing a soft refurbishment, including the carpets. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and trust that your stay with us next time around will be a more pleasant one.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I don't want to be repeating other reviews - the location is the main if not the only advantage of this hotel. Maybe also the price comparing to other pricey options and little availability around. The room was gloomy and desperately needed refreshing. The internet option (AUD 20 per day) is, in my opinion, absurd. Even the reception - first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz K
David C, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel whilst visiting Sydney. I do agree with you that the hotel does offer a competitive price for a property with such a convenient location when compared to other options in the Sydney CBD. The hotel values all constructive feedback and if...

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My room smelt like piss. It was extremely overpriced for what it was. I think a hostel would've been a better choice. Would be a waste of money to stay here. Wouldn't recommend it. And there was no free wifi. What a backwards country. Don't know what we paid for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Khdangnz
Como, Italy
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is well located, less than 10 minute walk from Central Railway Station and 20 minute walk to the CBD. There's also a free bus (nr 555) that links Haymarket to Central Quay during the day. Our double room was clean and spacious and a good and international breakfast was included in the price. The only problem was the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lelo84
David C, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the cleanliness of our hotel rooms. It was also pleasing to find that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast provided in the restaurant. Our guests often enjoy our breakfast due to the fact that they can get a good variety of hot food,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Very basic on so many levels. The walls are so thin I could hear the people next door. The desk staff appeared disinterested. I never felt safe staying in this hotel. While the breakfast was nice, and the location good, I won't be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan_61_10
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I spent three nights at the Capitol whilst in Sydney for a conference for 4 days last week. There was a sliding glass door that opened on to an enclosed balcony overlooking a plaza. It was perfect for what I needed. I spent all day everyday at work so only just came in to sleep. Sleep was a little interrupted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marie P
David C, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was nice to hear that the hotel was able to meet your requirements whilst you were visiting Sydney. I will ensure to pass on your positive feedback about the cleanliness of the rooms onto our housekeeping staff. I'm sorry to hear that you’re that you had some interrupted sleep, whilst we are situated conveniently...

Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel had rude staff on the front desk who wouldnt bother to really look for a second key for us. The rooms were dirty, the bathroom wasnt very nice we paid for a room with a bath and there was no bath. The walls were paper thin I could hear the elevator and the people in the next room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsAnna2525

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Queen Room with Balcony (46)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#83 of 179 in Sydney
1,500 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#88 of 179 in Sydney
913 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 6,968 - ₹ 14,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
2 months ago
Brampton
6 months ago
somerset west
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Capitol Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Level 2, corners are roomy”
 of 5 bubbles MrsSpider2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and were given a back room and it was very quiet - apart from the aircon!”
 of 5 bubbles Casual_holidays, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a 2nd floor room”
  • 3 twin beds in the family room
 of 5 bubbles ang3ldu5t, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles nik0lajsz, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only second floor has free wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles aileenchan1121, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5