We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Show Prices
#44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,949: English reviews
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I spent three nights at this location on a business trip. As many have observed, it is a great location at The Rocks, but location is overrated since sydney has a terrific transportation system. The room felt like an upgraded Motel 6, the bathroom was dated, small and shabby. The room was spartan in its furnishings, limited in size and... More 

Helpful?
Thank G S s
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear G S s, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words about our staff. We apologise for the external noise outside of the hotel which disturbed your sleep. We have been working closely with the local council to address any issues which are raised. The hotel is currently undergoing some upgrade works... More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent location but not at all what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. Frankly, I didn't know they put their name to hotels in this poor condition. The hotel itself was quirky. Very nice modern bright reception area, with lots of nooks and crannies as you go to the rooms which are dated and in poor condition. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Matthew L, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise that you did not find our hotel to be of a suitable condition. We wish to apologise for this. Our hotel is heritage listed and is currently about to undergo several enhancements. I am pleased to let you know that the hotel and our owners... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a great location if you're seeking to focus on the Rocks, you're not expecting luxury and like a room with a small balcony for "fresh" air. Sydney CBD and surrounds is costly so don't expect any bargains anywhere! Its a bit far from the CBD for business but its relatively affordable if you can't pay for a view or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oneiota
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Oneiota, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your constructive feedback. Our hotel is painted in a yellow colour in some areas due to its Heritage Listing and is similar to buildings in the local area. However last week we updated our restaurant and have been able to paint our walls in a fresh... More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Location... Location ... Location ... If you are all for the location and don't care much about the inside of the room then this is a perfect place to stay. I "upgraded" my room to get the view of the Sydney Opera house for $50, my standard room was $350 so... what did I get for $400 worth: small room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NatM9
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear NatM9, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise that you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us. Your review was certainly very clear expressing this and we appreciate your constructive feedback. Our hotel is currently undergoing upgrade works which started several weeks ago. These works include new carpet and furniture in our restaurant... More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Hotel is situated in The Rocks and is an ideal base for exploring The Rocks and is close to many restaurants, pubs and Cicrcular Quay for access to the ferries. We have stayed many times and if you are lucky to get Room 610 then you have a great room which is value for money. This is the only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David716
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear David716, Thanks you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in room #610. This room certainly has one of the best aspects in the hotel and is a great size. We were also pleased that you enjoyed the area. The cruise season is starting to slow down a... More 

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is ideally located for seeing the sights in Sydney. It is located in The Rocks (the old part of Sydney) and, with its brick frontage, manages to fit in remarkably well with the surrounding buildings becoming part of the fabric, rather than imposed on it. Sydney Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Botanic Gardens are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Savik
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Savik, Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed our heritage listed building and the surrounding area. As we are carrying our heavy maintenance program, the hotel is replacing much of the glazing to our windows on the front side of the hotel. This should assist with... More 

Roseville, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all. First, it is located in The Rocks, a great historical district. Second, you walk in to a beautiful grand lobby with all of the amenities you need. The room was so comfortable with a great few of the harbor out the window and a view of the great lobby out the door. The rooftop pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosalind C
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rosalind C, As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Watching the cruise ships depart from the harbour certainly is an incredible sight in the evening, I am glad that you got a chance to experience this. We also wish to thank you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

If you work in the public sector you will understand when I say this hotel would never pass an infection control or environmental audit. Dirty bathrooms and bedroom with worn down furniture with gouges. Windows and blinds also dirty. Have repeatedly read about forthcoming refurbishment but still charging over £200 per night for unfurbished accomodation. Managers response to me was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ST10ICS
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear ST10ICS, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review was certainly very clear and to the point. I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I believe that you have spoken with the Manager on Duty when you checked out in regards to your feedback. I apologise if you found his response... More 

Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the Rocks area and easy walking distance from the cruise terminal and train station at Circular Quay. Service was excellent and friendly. The rooms are nothing much, especially given the high price tag, but are certainly acceptable. There are undoubtedly better hotel deals in Sydney, but it would be hard to beat this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank therman1936
HMHIOldSydney, Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear therman1936, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you found our location and staff to be highlights of your stay with us. We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
228 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked this with a free night certificate for one-night, so I will not comment on price or value. We also traveled exclusively using public transportation, so I will not comment on ease of use with your own car. GOOD - The rooftop pool, hot tub, and tables!!! I knew they had a "nice" rooftop going into this, but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank usflyer
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear usflyer, Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate the photos which you have shared with others online. Your positive comments about our staff members are also much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the rooftop... More 

902 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (830)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (177)
Viewed
View from Room (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (245)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,173 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 11,079 - ₹ 35,363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street view was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles ABB980, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room overlooking harbour and on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Avril84, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If they want to upgrade you, please check the room first, sometimes standard room is bigger than an upgraded room.”
 of 5 bubbles kim20111111, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with city view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the best view ask for a room at the front on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieF50, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay